Horror logo

A Pleasant Surprise

Sometimes Spirits Show They Truly Care.

By Brenden RollsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Image I took when I saw Her, Hel, Norse Goddess of The Underworld

When we think of having a paranormal experience, we normally think of something traumatic happening to the one who tells the story. As for me, I am one the opposite side of the spectrum. In February of 2017, I almost took my life, but before I could end myself, Hel, the Norse Goddess of the Underworld, exploded from nowhere and stopped me from a vain death. To this day, She still is a huge driving force in my life and I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for Her choice to stop my suicide.

The night of when I took this image, it was a night in March of 2018. At the time, I was living with my mother and my stepfather in a content and comfortable home. My mother and my stepfather were out going towards California that night, and I was home alone. It was a typical lonesome night. I was sitting in a comfy leather recliner chair and reading more material on Occult and the magical arts it has. Near me was a bowl of cereal with a bite or two left floating in the milk. With only two paragraphs left to read, I took a bite of the cereal after the last word before the period for both endings of the paragraph. I stoop up, in a comical way since I had to bend myself through to get off the chair; I was perfectly snug underneath my great grandfather’s desk with how the recliner was positioned. I walked towards my door, then for some reason it began raining and thundering outside. Unplanned and unforcasted, which was somewhat typical where I live but still it was rather odd having that happen the way it did. I opened my room’s door, walked to the left, around the bend facing the front door, and I looked up, and I continued walking to the kitchen. Then, I halted like if my feet got 100lb weights on them and I stopped in my steps. I stood paralyzed and was blank, and I remained that way for 5 or so minutes. I walked backwards slowly and gingerly back to seeing the front door completely. It was then, I saw what the image has shown. It was Hel and She was staring at me and our eyes locked. Neither one of us moved, but I was the one who broke that quiet and seemingly eternal perfect state of stillness. Being inspired by an emotional explosion within myself, I threw myself towards Her, as if I was going for an emotional and lively hug. I was stopped by a few feet from the door, landed onto my knees and began sobbing in gratitude for Her for stopping my attempted suiced a year prior. I looked up and She looked down at me with the same exprssion, and She still stared as before. I slowly stood onto my feet, eyes locked on Hers. She moved Her head down, and that was when She faded away towards the front door behind Her. I unlocked the door to attempt to pursue Her, but once I opened the door, She was already standing at the dip of the dead street I lived on. She looked back at me and eyes met exact again. Her left side, which is living, smiled. She turned facing the dip and started taking a few steps and disappeared. I went back inside and smiled faintly, and after some time taking in all that had happened, I took a deep breathe and went back to my occult studies as normal. I still wonder what caused Her to come visit how She did, but I appreciated every second seeing Her.

1

About the Creator

Brenden Rolls

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.