Horror logo

A Mother's Promise

What depths would you go to keep your word?

By Josh RippergerPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
Like
A Mother's Promise
Photo by Silas Baisch on Unsplash

The ocean has been singing to me since I was a child. To help me sleep, the sweet alto tones of that voice would join the seagulls and the waves to form a chorus that could ease any mind. I always asked mom if she could hear the song, but she only shook her head and brought the covers up to my chin. She would then kiss my forehead and say, “I love you, Oliver.”

I loved my mom more than anything. I guess that wouldn’t be too unreasonable considering she was the only other person in my life, but all of that changed one summer morning when mom and I took a stroll around the beach. The ocean stretched for miles. Sometimes I would wave back at the tide kissing our feet as we walked, but not today. On this particular day, the tide was high, and the water was waiting at our doorstep. Not seeing the island made my little heart freeze. I grabbed mom’s dress and tried pulling her back inside. She laughed, took my hand, and said,

“Come on Ollie, I have some friends I want you to meet.”

My frozen heart melted and excitement took over, I bounced and splashed in the water as mom and I made our way to her surprise. After a while, the wait became unbearable and I started to complain. The further we walked, the deeper the water got and the more I started to complain. When it was up to my neck, I clung to mom’s hip, praying this would all be over soon so we could go back to the house. Mom felt me climbing her and pulled me up into arms with a huff.

“You are getting a bit old for this, don’t you think, Ollie?”

“I’m scared.”

Mom gave me a hug and slung me onto her back, “Now don’t let go or my friends may try something funny.”

“Will they put me on their boat!?” Mom chuckled, and the musical giggle made my cheeks burn. “What’s so funny?”

“My friends don’t use boats. They glide through the ocean like fish.”

I scanned the dark water hoping to catch a glimpse of Mom’s friends, but I couldn’t see anything past her hips. “How can they see down there?” Mom’s giggle returned, and I had an awful urge to pull her hair.

“Their eyes are stronger than ours, now before you meet them, I need you to close your eyes.”

“Aww, but why Mommy?”

“Because Mommy wants to make sure they behave.”

I was too young to question most things that happened to me back then, but as I held my eyelids close, I couldn’t help but think that was an odd thing for her to ask of me. Mom only made sure I behaved. Were these friends her kids too?

I didn’t get to think about it for long because mom cut in saying, “Alright, Dear, you can look now.”

When I opened my eyes, three of the most beautiful people I had ever seen swam in front of me. Their skin glistened under the sun, and their hair fluttered in the wind. Seeing such beauty made me feel strange. To try and get rid of the feeling, I buried my head into my mom’s neck. I could feel her hand patting my back when she said,

“Now, now, Oliver, these nice people swam all this way to see you. The least you can do is make a conversation.”

I shook my head and pulled my mom’s hair around my head to create a barrier. I probably would have kept them there too if the strangers hadn’t started to sing. The high-pitched voices matched the ones I fell asleep to. Tearing myself away from my mom, I leapt off of her back and began to doggy paddle my way towards the three stunning specimens. There was nothing I wanted more in this world than to hold them. They giggled as I approached and held their arms out, but Mom pulled me back.

“You can’t go with them, Oliver.”

“Why not? You’re too young. My friends like adults.”

I puffed my chest and said, “But I’m a big boy.” More giggles followed my squeaky voice and my cheeks once again burned. I stared at the beautiful people as they swam in circles. The three friends looked sad, and their sullen faces caused me to splash a handful of water at my protector. To make matters worse, I started whining. Mom apologized to the guests, scooped me up into her arms, and carried me back to the house. Once we were inside, the pretty voices were dulled, and mom swung a hand across my butt.

“Big boys don’t throw fits, you hear? You listen to your mom. Plenty of young things will take you away from me when you are old, but not now. No. Now the only thing a young boy like you needs is me.”

With tears streaming down my face, I asked, “Why can’t I be with them and you? I don’t want to lose you.”

My mother wrapped her arms around me. She brushed the hair from my eyes and wiped the drying snot on my lip. “Ollie. You say that now, but things change when you get older.”

“NO! Promise me you won’t ever leave. I don’t want to lose you like dad!”

My mother choked, and between coughing, she said, “That’s… different. But I promise, as long as I live, I will never leave you.”

I remember feeling so safe at that moment. I didn’t ever want to grow old, but life never takes what you want into consideration. Years passed and I never did see or hear the sweet voice of my mom’s friends. However, on my eighteenth birthday, they finally came back. On that morning, I could smell eggs and bacon. I jumped out of bed, put on my favorite plaid shirt and khaki shorts, and ran downstairs. Mom was toiling away on the stove, and after I jumped down the last three steps Mom said, “Happy Birthday, Ollie!? How does it feel to be an adult?”

I laughed and said, “The same as yesterday.”

Mom chuckled too and poured some eggs next to the bacon she had just emptied on my plate. The toaster behind her dinged, and two slightly browned slices of bread sprang out. She then grabbed a slice, bounced the steaming piece of food between her hands, and placed it upon my plate.

“Thanks!”

“You’re welcome, my love. I want to make sure you get plenty to eat for your big day.”

I rolled my eyes and said, “It’s not like it’s any different from any other old day. I’m just going to do maintenance on the lighthouse, check the nets, and stare at the ships passing by.”

My mother placed a small, green box with a silver bow next to my plate and said, “Well, today, you will have this.”

“Mom, you didn’t have to.”

“Hush! Open your present. You said it yourself, you have a busy day today, and I don’t want you wasting any time arguing with me.”

As I unraveled the bow, I could feel my body shiver. Wetting my lips, I lifted the small lid and pulled the tissue out. Underneath it was a picture. The picture showed a younger version of my mom holding me as a baby and a man with his arms around her.

“Mom! It’s…. It’s wonderful, but how long have you had this? I thought you said you didn’t have any pictures of dad.” When Mom didn’t answer, I looked up and saw that her eyes were puffy and she was biting her lip. I rushed over to her and wrapped my arms around her, “What’s wrong?”

Mother puller herself away from me and wiped her eyes. She said, “Oh, nothing is wrong, dear. You’re just a man now, and thinking about your father always gets me emotional.”

My jaw tightened, “Why are you thinking about him?”

“Now, now, Ollie, don’t be getting a tone.”

I lifted the picture and tore the part of my father off. “I appreciate the gift mom but I don’t need him.” I tossed the torn half with the picture of my father into the garbage and once again embraced my mother. “We don’t need to remember the dick who abandoned us.”

“Oliver! That is no way to speak of the dead.”

I froze. “Dad died?”

My mom pushed herself away and brought a hand to her mouth. She began gnawing on her nails, “I mean, he has to be right? Why… why else would he not come back?”

I scowled, “Why are you defending him? It’s not like he ever did anything for us? He was a fucking coward who left when things got hard. We don’t need him, and he sure as hell doesn’t need our tears. I hope the fucker is dead. It would make the idea of him disappearing more honorable than abandoning his wife with a newborn.”

“Oliver. He may have abandoned us, but he will always be the man that gave me you. I love you. I’m sorry my gift brought so much hate into your heart.”

I folded the remaining half of my photo and tucked it into my shirt pocket, “No, Mom. It’s okay. Thank you for the picture of you and me and for making such a delicious breakfast. I love you.”

“I love you too.” She straightened herself, wiped away the remaining tears and added, “have a good day, and remember, don’t come home without checking the nets by the peninsula.”

“Don’t I always check them? Why are you reminding me today? Do you have another surprise in store for me?”

“Maybe, just make sure to leave that one for last.” She then came over, placed her lips on my forehead, and added, “Happy Birthday, Ollie.”

“Thanks, Mom. I’ll see you tonight.”

Mother nodded and started to scrape the dishes.

Once outside, I could see dark clouds racing through the sky. The wind made my shirt flap, and each step I took felt like weights were being thrown at me. To avoid the storm, I did the chores inside the lighthouse first. When that was finished, the storm had passed and there was a gentle breeze. I started collecting the nets on the east side of the island to see if we caught anything. On most days, each net would be brimming with fish but not today. No. Today, each trap was empty, and as I made my way to the peninsula to check the last one, I heard the soothing sound of my childhood lullaby.

Why was it playing now? We still had a couple hours until nightfall, and the song never sounded so seductive before. The sound made me feel uneasy but I felt compelled to see where it was coming from. When I reached the peninsula, I could see the net writhing underneath the water. Taking hold of the rope, I pulled the net to shore, and screamed.

Flailing inside the net was the most hideous creature I had ever seen. Neon green scales ran up and down its body, pink fins protruded from the creature’s back and arms, a thin tail flicked through the hole, and the face looked like a Moray Eel.

When the creature saw me, it cut out of the net and started swimming towards me. I didn’t think it could get on land, but I figured it was better safe than sorry and took a few steps away from the shore. Once the creature’s webbed feet made contact with the sandy shore, the beast howled. Rows of sharp teeth sprouted from its gummy mouth, and claws sprung from its webbed appendages. When the creature howled, the whole world fell silent.

Then it started to rain. Thunder wailed from above, and balls of ice came crashing down. The small tiny daggers pierced my skin as I fled from the demon.

bounced onto the floor while the other one embedded itself into the couch. When the creature was upon me, I pulled out one last knife and sent it crashing down towards the demon's chest. The creature held up its arm to block the blow, and my blade sunk into its neon flesh. The monster hissed and threw me across the floor. Then it jumped on top of me and sank its sharp teeth into my neck.

I’m not sure how much time passed after that, but when I awoke, all I could hear was the sweet song of my childhood. Floating in front of me were the three beautiful friends my mom had introduced to me as a kid. Swimming beside them was my mom. She looked young. Way younger than even my earliest memory. Her hair was let down, and when she smiled, her rows of tombstone-shaped teeth were now sharp points. I tried to swim away, but I couldn’t move because my feet were shackled to the ground. My mother and her friends swam up to me. They all giggled while my mom unlocked my chains.

“Mom? What is going on?”

“I’m keeping my promise.”

“What promise?”

“I told you that you could be with my friends once you were an adult.”

“This isn’t what I had in mind. How is any of this even possible?”

My mom’s friends started to circle us. Their luscious skin transformed into bright colored scales, their sweet smiles were now jagged, and the kindness in their eyes was replaced with hunger.

“I don’t think I want to be with them anymore.”

Mother finished unclasping the last chain and said, “Nonsense, this is every young man’s dream. Look how sexy they are.”

“Are we looking at the same people?”

My mom looked at her friends and sighed, “Ollie. Dear. You have two choices.”

“I… why are you speaking like this?”

“SHUT UP! Listen to your mother. You can either let my friends consume that little soul within you, and you can spend the rest of your days making love with them and spending free time with me. Or, you keep your silly soul and live the rest of your days in the depths of hell.”

“What the fuck!?”

My mother’s scaly hand flashed across my face. Her neon green scales and pink fins radiated under the moon’s glow. “Don’t you ever speak like that in front of your mother, do you understand me?”

I nodded.

“Now, what is your decision?”

“It’s not really a choice. I either sacrifice my humanity or rot forever at the bottom of the ocean.”

“Enough. Yes or no.” She looked up at the moon, “There is only so much time left.”

“Why can’t I just go back to the island?”

“Because this was how it was always supposed to turn out my love.”

“What are you talking about? You’re my mom! You are supposed to protect me.”

“And I did, quite nicely if you ask me, but you are a man now. I don’t have any power over what happens to you anymore.”

“That doesn’t answer why I can’t just go back to the surface.” Mom’s friends continued to swim around us, but as I talked, I slowly moved towards the piece of wood jutting out of the sand beside us.

“Come on, Ollie, you’re a smart boy. I, like my friends, am a siren. When I seduced your father, I decided to try the forbidden act and made you. Therefore, you are part siren. You can only live on the island as a human but now that you’re a man you must spend your nights in the ocean or you’ll die.”

I had the piece of wood in my hand now, “So wait, does that mean dad, didn’t leave us?”

“No. We ate him.”

Whack!

My mom’s head snapped to the right as I swung the board across her face. She screamed in anger, and her friends swarmed me. I tried to bat them off, but they were too fast. Once they got ahold of me, they dragged me towards a locker resting in the sand a few yards away. Mom flung the barnacle crusted door open, and my captors threw me inside. Once inside, mom slammed the door shut and said,

“See, I told you that you’d want to leave Mommy. But don’t be mad, you made me promise to never leave, and Mommy never breaks her promises.”

The sirens on the other side began to sing. I could feel my eyes growing heavy. My lungs started to burn, and bubbles poured out of my nose and mouth. I could feel the cool liquid fill my chest as the song continued caressing my eardrums. The world grew dark, and my mind went blank.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Josh Ripperger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.