Horror logo

A Little Cold

That Medicine Really Did the Trick--Or Did It?

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10
A Little Cold
Photo by elizabeth lies on Unsplash

A preview of sorts--this little tale is featured in my book, Scribbles.

I was feeling miserable last night. I’ve had a cold for a few days now, and I was exhausted from coughing and sneezing. My nose was all stuffy and red from constant blowing.

I hate catching cold. Even a little cold can be a real pain in the neck. My eyes were burning and blurry with hot tears, and if that wasn’t enough to let me know I was feverish, the alternating chills and hot flashes cleared up any doubts.

Hours before bedtime, I excused myself, and went downstairs to my little lair. No one else in the house needed to be exposed to illness and misery. In the bathroom, I changed into warm pajamas and took a dose of nighttime cold medicine. I read the dosing directions, debated, and took an extra half-dose.

All I wanted was a decent night’s sleep.

I added a couple of blankets to my bed. I was freezing; shivering and dizzy, I snuggled under the quilts and blankets, scissoring my arms and legs in an effort to warm up.

Although I tried to discourage her, my little dog Snuffles joined me on the bed. She’s my best friend, a black-and-white mixed breed with a smooth coat and a flat nose and an improbably fluffy tail. She might weigh as much as ten pounds, but certainly no more than that. Her vet has no idea what kind of dog she might be, but she’s friendly, loving and cute as hell.

I turned on the television. Snuffles did her best merry-go-round impression before finally settling down in the crook of my left arm and falling asleep.

I closed my eyes and listened to the droning of the television, and fell into a deep sleep.

This morning I woke up feeling fine. Fantastic, even. No coughing, sneezing or stuffy nose. No aches or pains, either.

Wow, I thought. That nighttime cold medicine is fantastic! Even my arthritis feels better! I’m going to have to buy some more of that stuff.

I threw off my blankets and swung my legs over the side of the bed—effortlessly and painlessly—and I marveled at the lightness of my body.

I went into the bathroom, but felt no immediate urge to pee, so I washed my face and brushed my teeth, expecting to be joined by Snuffles at any minute.

She didn’t come.

I pulled on my robe, and then sat on the edge of the bathtub and easily pulled on some warm socks. Again, I marveled at the fluidity of my movements. I felt thirty years younger.

I’m absolutely getting more of that medicine, I thought.

Snuffles still hadn’t joined me, which was a little weird.

Well, like me, the little dog is not a morning person, so I decided to let her sleep.

I started up the stairs to check on the rest of the household.

When I reached the top of the stairs, I heard Snuffles coming up behind me. She was growling, the sound low in her throat. Just as I went through the door, she started to bark.

What on earth was that all about? I turned to go back down the stairs, and discovered the door was closed. Snuffles, on the other side, continued to bark.

“Quiet, girl,” I said. “You’ll wake everyone up!”

I didn’t remember closing the door when I got up the stairs, and I didn’t remember opening it to go back, but was I went down the stairs, Snuffles stared up at me, made and exaggerated leap backwards while emitting a comical “Eeep!” and fell down the stairs.

I pounded down the stairs after her, crying, “Snuffles! Are you okay, sweetie?”

Snuffles yipped again and raced into the bedroom. When I entered behind her, she had jumped up on the bed and was lying across the covers.

Wow, I thought. I didn’t do a very good job when I pulled the covers back up.

There was a big lump under the blankets. Snuffles was pressed up against and partially on top of it. She was growling at me.

“Snuffles? What the hell is wrong with you, baby?”

I moved closer to the bed, and as I did, I caught a glimpse of silver curls. Snuffles barked, a “yipe, yipe” sound that almost seemed to be a scream. Her eyes were bulging and her teeth were bared.

Quicker now, I moved to the side of the bed and looked down at a sleeping/not sleeping face.

Snuffles howled and shrank back from me.

Huh!?

Well…I didn’t see that coming.

It was just a little cold.

fiction
10

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.