Horror logo

A literally parallel universe...

The story that I am going to tell you is neither an invention, nor a fiction, nor an hallucination, but it is very real.

By Raphael LopesPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
A literally parallel universe...
Photo by Ehud Neuhaus on Unsplash

My name is Valentin, I was 17 at the time and I live in the north of France.

It all starts on a Saturday night, very late. It was at least 3 a.m. and I was coming back from a slightly alcoholic evening. My parents had gone on vacation, I was alone at home. After a hot shower and in the quest to chase the fatigue from my body, I rush into my bed. I fall asleep with a feeling of unease, I felt fixed.

During my sleep, I had a distressing dream, I was in a completely dark world, the ground was covered with water and a light at the top seemed to slightly illuminate the place. I observe the place, frightened, I turn around and I see my mother banging her fingers on a table, she was different from usual, she was staring into space and humming a song for children. I decide to approach but all of a sudden, the world began to overturn.

I suddenly wake up, I was at home, it was morning, it was just a bad dream, but something had changed, my room had changed. Indeed the door which was normally to the left of my bed was this time on the right, the same for my plant, everything had changed places, everything had been reversed, the same for the whole house, for the outside. I made the decision to call my parents, I explained the situation to them and then they spoke, but their words were reversed (for example, “I am in the house” became “house there in am I”). I hung up in fear, I no longer understood what was going on. I look out the window, the world was so strange.

Someone had knocked at my door, I hurried to go, I open and I see something that traumatized me. She was a friend of mine, her name was Élise, everything was normal with her, except her face, it had turned upside down, her eyes instead of her mouth and vice versa. I slam the door suddenly, I was bathed in incomprehension, what is happening to me? Was it caused by my dream? How to fix all this? I then decide to lock all the doors coming from the outside. The day passes and the night arrives.

I go back to sleep with a lot of difficulties and questions in mind. Then I plunge back into the same dream. I saw my mother again, still patting the table in front of her. I run in his direction and the world begins to turn upside down again.

I woke up again with a start, the floor was the ceiling and the ceiling had become the floor. Calvary had been renewed. Nevertheless, my room was not as usual, indeed, some objects were missing. I then walk around the room, still on the ceiling, in order to look for the objects that had disappeared. I find them one by one and go back to the room. The objects had kept the normal gravity, on the other hand, I was still on the ceiling. I put everything back in its place and look out the window. A humanoid-shaped creature was staring at me in the distance, it was all gray, faceless, how long had it been there? What did she expect from me?

Then with a snap of my finger, I find myself back in his dream. This time the place was different, it was my kitchen, a sheet of paper stood on the worktop on which was written in red ink "This is just the beginning, be ready to start over, don't never lose sight of him. I put the sheet down and suddenly wake up in my room, everything was back to normal. Everything is blurry in my head, I did not understand what had happened to me.

It was then that I understood that the tranquility was over, that this story was going to haunt him all his life because even today, 15 years later, the sequel has not yet had place, I'll tell you the rest of the story when mine has continued.

supernaturalslasherpsychologicalCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Raphael Lopes

I just write, that's all :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.