Horror logo

A Killer Halloween Party

Or it could go that way.

By Christina DeFeoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
3

How fitting I would walk into the party on this song. Who plays this at a Halloween party? I wasn’t even supposed to be here...we were not supposed to be here. We had other plans, but he suddenly had a stomach virus after he ate something when we were going out to eat. This was a pre planned, pre purchased, non refundable, murder mystery dinner thing. But here I am with my heart pounding out my chest, either because I find him here and there may be a live action murder mystery at a party or if it’s this Michael Myers theme song with flashing strobe lights and smoke around me. Thank goodness the song is changing.

🎼“It's what you do

It's what you see

I know if I'm haunting you, you must be haunting me” 🎼

I am feeling a dash of deja vu. Like I have done this before...that's weird. I shake it off while pushing past The Powerpuff Girls with Mojo Jojo, Men in Black, a group of devils and zombie brides until I find the keg. Part of me was hoping I saw him here, but this spot was too obvious.

Chug! Chug! Chug! Chug! Chug! Chug!

Ahhhhhhh!!! Wipes beer from mouth, chin, neck, then licks my fingers. I needed that. How do I know he’s here, you asked? Because women know these things and social media. I also found his second secret phone about two weeks ago and haven’t told him. This is a friend’s party. A very good friend and usually we would have attended, but this year we happened to buy tickets for the murder mystery dinner on the same day. It was something we both wanted to do so we agreed to skip the party, or at least I thought we did. I found it suspicious he would have eaten before our dinner plans so one thing led to another and here I am. I grab a chicken wing from the kitchen island, reach for the joint in my purse and head out to the back.

There’s another DJ out here? I should say another homemade playlist hooked up to some Bluetooth speakers out here. I am feeling it this year. I light my joint and I begin to sway with my exhale of smoke.

🎼“Step on the glass, staple your tongue (Ahh)

Bury a friend, try to wake up (Ahh-ha)

Cannibal class, killin' the son (Ahh)

Bury a friend, I wanna end me”🎼

I’m feeling that keg swig too. I am enjoying this solo cyph, dancing to Billie Eilish when I do a twirl and knock into Freddy, Jason, and Michael Myers.

“My bad.”

“Smells good what you got there, Juliet.”

Juliet? Oh. My costume. Yes I still came dressed, this is still a Halloween party. He was/is Romeo. We were going to dinner dressed up.

“Want some?” I’m feeling nice.

🎼“I'll meet you in the park

I'll be calm and collected

But we knew right from the start

That you'd fall apart 'cause I'm too expensive”🎼

“Sure.” I pass Freddy the joint and do a two step with a spin when I notice the stairs inside. I feel the heat in my face and ears when all these thoughts come flooding in. My friend rented an Airbnb for this party so I have never seen this house before...this two story house and now that I size it up, possibly three.

Stairs in a house means the bedrooms are up there. Bedrooms at a party equal one thing. Jason passes me back the joint as Michael declines, I take my puff, puff, puff, hand it to Freddy, and slowly walk back inside. I am going up those stairs.

“Thanks for the smoke, Juliet!”

🎼“I've tasted blood and it is sweet

I've had the rug pulled beneath my feet…

Stared in the mirror and punched it to shatters

Collected the pieces and picked out a dagger…”🎼

I walk through the dancing crowd in the red lighted room and stand at the foot of the stairs. I would be enjoying this party, if it weren’t for these perfidious circumstances. I will take a shot when this is all over. I take the first step.

At the top of the stairs there is a long hallway and multiple doors on each side. This is a big house. Nice too. I open the first door to the left so quickly as if expecting to end it all right then and it’s a bathroom. Too early to break the seal. I close the door. I open the door on the right,

🎼“So you wanna play with magic

Boy, you should know whatcha falling for

Baby do you dare to do this

'Cause I'm coming atcha like a dark horse”🎼

There’s a smoke sess going on.

“Want some?”

“Nah, I’m good.” I close the door. Next,

🎼 “I'm gonna love you, until you hate me

And I'm gonna show you, what's really crazy”🎼

This door is locked. I knock and no answer. I got time, I’ll come back to all the locked doors after. I’m standing in front of the next door and this room is loud. I can hear the music through the door with the attempt to cover up the squeaking mattress.

🎼“Your mind's in disturbia

It's like the darkness is the light

Disturbia

Am I scaring you tonight?

Your mind is in disturbia”🎼

My heart is pounding to the Rihanna beat. Bum-bum-be-dum-bum-bum-be-dum-bum (why do I feel like this?) I jiggle the knob and it’s open. I creep it open just enough to stick my head in. I see the two bodies going at it completely unaware of my presence. I open the door more to allow my whole body to come in to get a better look. Then I see it. Romeo and Juliet. The same exact Juliet as myself except this one had red hair and it was loose, mine was braided. As I stood there untying my braid looking for an object to throw, I knew I would not cause a further scene. I would let it be known I’m here and leave. Deep down I missed being single anyway.

🎼“…You could be the king but watch the Queen conquer

Okay, first things first I'll eat your brains

Then I'ma start rockin' gold teeth and fangs…”🎼

I see the bottle of 1800 on the dresser so I grab it and take a swig. I start flicking the lights on and off, you know, for the Halloween effect while I pour the rest out. I know he bought this bottle himself so I gladly waste it. Juliet the copy has hopped off the bed and is scrambling. I can’t hear anything over the music but I see mouths moving. I throw the empty bottle as hard as I could right at him. I hope it hits him! I don’t wait nor care to see if it does, but if I could have set the room on fire I probably would have. I leave the room and head back down the hall with the intention to find my friends and party.

🎼“Got everything I need, and I'd rather be chasing

Chasing love, with a monster”🎼

I get down the stairs and head to the kitchen where I hear a familiar voice shout “SHOT!” We lock eyes and she screams for me to hustle my Shakespearian arse up. As the shots are being poured and everyone around me is having fun being carefree, I decide so will I.

“A TOAST!” Someone shouts and before anyone can say anything else, I shout back,

“Yea! To the DJ!” I direct myself towards a speaker, “DJ! Please don’t stop the music!”

🎼“Let's escape into the music, DJ, let it play

I just can't refuse it

Like the way you do this

Keep on rockin' to it

Please don't stop the, please don't stop the music”🎼

Clicl -> It Can Go This Way <- for an alternate ending

halloween
3

About the Creator

Christina DeFeo

A mom looking to express and lose herself in some imagination.

Facebook: @TinaChrisTheBookkeeper

Instagram @TinaChris_thewriter

Want to join Vocal+? Use this link to get started https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=christina-defeo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.