Horror logo

A Killer Bargain

A Life for a Life

By Brandon PhiferPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

I actually saw it myself when I hiked up here last year. The cabin isn't far from where we are now, tucked away maybe a quarter mile north of the last trailhead we passed this afternoon. It's well hidden, but I did finally locate it and can assure you it's out there.

The friend I was with at the time was not to keen on joining me in the search for this abandoned cabin, but I still managed to convince him. I reminded him, like he didn't already know, that "abandoned" meant empty and unoccupied. Still, he would have preferred to stay near the trail because he just felt safer.

As I reflect back, I wish I would have listened to him.

When we found it, I was surprised to see the lit candle in the window and that's when my buddy really freaked out.

"Okay, okay, okay. What the stories say are true!" he said with a quivering lower lip. "We gotta get outta here...like NOW!"

He turned and ran.

I looked back at the cabin, not really wanting to leave. I noticed a silhouette come into view in the window and paired with my friend's decision to run, I couldn't help but feel a little uneasy. I opted to chase after my friend despite not really understanding why we were running.

When we made it back to our campsite he finally told me more.

Since y’all have joined me on this hike, I feel it’s important that I share with you what my friend told me a year ago.

Here’s what he said…

"The story goes that he doesn't like to draw attention to his nefarious actions, so he prefers the dim illumination of a small, flickering flame. While it is not uncommon to see various campfires on the mountainside near the trails, a lit candle in these woods means only one thing...a KILLER is near.

"Listen! That cabin is abandoned. You saw it! It's falling apart. It's uninhabitable! Hikers don't carry candles because they don't provide enough light. The killer uses candlelight because he's less likely to be seen as he lurks around in the wilderness.

"This forest is his home. He feels comfortable in isolation and he's highly efficient at stalking hikers without being detected. When he gets in range of any hiker's campsites, he blows out the flame of his candle and leans on the light of a much bigger fire.

"They say he lurks nearby, stalking potential victims as they hike these trails and timing his kills perfectly. He imagines joining in on the conversations; the laughter, fun, and sense of accomplishment when a group reaches the summit. He fantasizes about being part of the crowd. This is just his twisted habitual pattern because as he stalks and observes from a distance, the reality that he could NEVER be like other people causes rage to swell up inside of him. In his twisted mind, killing is the only thing that makes any sense.

"As the anger swells inside his heart (or what's left of it), he chases sinister thoughts of punishing hikers for having such perfect lives and not understanding the pain and rejection he experienced growing up.

"He drifts around hikers who are unaware of his presence waiting for the perfect opportunity to end their lives. You could be his next kill. Or it could be me. He does not have a "type" as you hear about with most serial killers and therefore no one is safe. The threat of attack is always possible, but not a single victim expects it until it's too late."

That is what my friend shared with me. His story captivated my full attention. I listened intently to his story, just as you all are listening to me.

He clearly believed what he was telling me. I see some doubt in your eyes and I can relate. I questioned how a murderous psychopath could get away with picking off hikers one by one, year after year, without getting caught.

He responded to my inquiry by saying, "You clearly do not understand the ruthlessness of his kills. Some say he mangles their bodies with such brutality that law enforcement closes most cases under the assumption of an animal attack. They likely know this is not the case, but unsolved murders don't reflect well on a city or police department. So these deaths have continuously been pushed under the rug as accidents."

I initially laughed the story off, telling my friend it was an urban legend and he had no real proof. I tried to hold this opinion with convincing confidence, but frankly the fear in my friend's eyes was hard to ignore.

That night I crawled in my tent, wrapped tightly in my sleeping bag, and replayed the story.

When I finish the story tonight, you will most definitely do the same thing.

I thought about the figure I saw in the cabin window and how logical it was that using a candle to be a little more discreet in the darkness of night made sense. Eventually I fell asleep, but the next day changed my life forever.

In fact, what I'm about to share next will change YOUR life forever too.

When I awoke the next morning it was eerily quiet. I climbed out of my tent and noticed I was alone. My friend's tent was open, but he wasn't inside. I called for him, but there was no answer. As I began searching the area, panic started to creep in and my heart rate began to climb.

I paced around frantically until something on the ground caught my eye, stopping me in my tracks. I composed myself and walked toward it slowly and cautiously, occasionally looking around in every direction.

My heart knew what it was, but my brain searched for another answer. I leaned down to alter the position of the object and confirm what I was seeing. It was an arm! My friend's tattooed arm! Separated from the body!

What I saw was horrifying! I turned to run, choking on my own vomit, but desperate to get somewhere else...ANYWHERE ELSE! I looked back as I ran and noticed someone in the distance.

He was right. The killer is real!

Running, I tripped over a log and hit my head on a rock. I scrambled to get up as blood dripped from my head. I looked down as I wiped the blood from my temple and noticed the log I tripped on was actually a body. I could only assume it was my friend, but I couldn't be certain because the stories were true. The murders are brutal! This victim was unrecognizable!

To panicked to make any rational decisions that would lead to my escape, something hard knocked me to the ground. I never even saw it coming, but now the killer stood over me.

His presence was ominous and his eyes dark with hatred. They say eyes are windows to the soul and in this moment I felt confident the killer did not have one!

He raised a knife into the air and my vision narrowed on the shiny blade. In my desperation to stop the inevitable and survive, I yelled the only thing I could think of...

"If you let me go, I'll bring more people up her for you to kill."

He lowered his knife, tilted his head, and demanded I give him my drivers license.

"If you do not follow through, I will find you." He whispered sternly.

That is what happened to me a year ago. I made a deal with a devil. So now here we are. Together in the same wilderness, near the abandoned cabin where I saw the candlelight. He attacked me and I bargained with him. I told him if he spared my life, I'd bring up more hikers. New potential victims.

He liked the proposition and let me go.

That’s where you come in. He's probably watching us right now! Watching from a distance, he waits patiently. I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me.

Will he strike tonight while we sleep?

Will you be the next victim?

Is this just a scary campfire story to enjoy while you eat your S'mores?

Did I make all of this up?

I guess we'll know by the morning.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Phifer

Happily married, father of four. Writing has always taken a back seat to life, but I seem to always find my way back to it. I've decided to finally trust my mom's lifelong encouragement and write more consistently & let creativity flow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.