Horror logo

A Getaway To Die For

When Mary wins 20,000 dollars and a 2 months getaway trip she was ecstatic but her excitement is short-lived for when she found an old black notebook that seemed to write itself her fate takes a turn for the worst.

By Aaliyah CooperPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I had just gotten news that I won the 20,000 dollar prize and a trip to a remote mountain getaway. I Was beyond overjoyed when I got the news and had immediately started packing for the trip. I made sure I packed everything so that when I got there I would not have to go and get something new like a toothbrush or my reading glasses. But here I am now on my way to my new temporary home for the next two months. I look down at my watch to see when I would get there to see I only had around 2 hours left. By now my radio stopped working because of all of the trees and lack of reception up in the mountains but I didn’t care, I was far too happy to care about anything. But as time went on it felt like it was going on slower and it started to feel like those 2 hours were so far away. I started wishing that the radio worked so that I could listen to music rather than static every time I try to turn it on hoping to fill the dead silence but slowly the time went by and I had made it to the house. It was fairly big and had a nice front yard. Although it was winter and I was not a fan of the cold, the snow looks beautiful here the sun hitting it in such a way that it looks just like diamonds. I shake my head and scold myself for forgetting that I had to unpack. Grabbing my things I start to make my way up to the house. Once up I take a moment to catch my breath but the cold did not help the cold winter air almost making it worse it felt as though my lungs were burning almost causing me to cry from the pain but I push it down and unlock the door to be welcomed by the warm and welcoming house only for it to be cold and unwelcoming. I let out a sigh and start to look for the heater or a fireplace to warm up next to. My search doesn’t last long as I find a huge fireplace in the living room that looked more like a ballroom than a living room with the only thing telling me it wasn’t was the couch and tv in the middle of the room but my thoughts are disrupted when I hear a faint growl. I quickly turn around looking in every direction to try and find what made that noise but I find nothing. Now a bit scared, I try to push it off as nothing and go to start a fire when I see that there is no wood left. I let out an annoyed sigh and start to look around for some wood but after what seemed to be hours of searching I give up and just decide to take a short break and just accept that I would just have to find the heater instead. But as I make my way back to the living room I spot a black book on one of the hallway tables. My curiosity getting the better of me I go to pick it up but as I reach for it I start to feel like someone is watching me but I push it off as me not being used to the house yet but as soon as I pick up the book the feeling stops and my heart drops my breathing quickens and my vision becomes blurry the book it was writing itself and it was writing about me about how I would die. I drop the book on the ground and start to run away from the house but it seems as though I am getting nowhere like I’m running in place the once low growl now back and so loud I could start to feel my ears bleed. I start to see shadows morph into beings as they make their way towards me. I fall to my knees in fright and start to cry and beg for them to leave me alone. But they only get closer I try to stand up and run but by the time I’m up I can feel my leg being ripped open and I let out a scream. I fall to the floor and clutch onto my leg to try and stop the bleeding but to no avail and as I clutch onto my leg crying and begging for them to let me go I can start to hear them laugh. My eyes getting heavy I try and stay awake knowing that if I fall asleep I most likely won’t wake up but as my body gets colder and colder and my eyes just get heavier I start to feel more clam and I take my last breath as I close my eyes for all eternity.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Aaliyah Cooper

i write short horror stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.