Horror logo

A Corpse's Limp

Part 1

By Elizabeth DavidsonPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1
As the moon stares upon this frightful night on Earth...

"Nani, I'm going to stop by the library on my way home. Want me to grab you any books?"

Nani looked up from her laptop. "Yeah, actually. Could you get Fahrenheit 451? It's written by Ray Bradbury. I need it for homework in Ms. Toll's class."

"Sure. Will I see you at the new coffee shop tomorrow? It's called The Two Tips."

Nani distractedly continued the tippity tapping of her laptop keyboard. "Yeah, I'll see you there. Brunch at eleven?"

"Yep. See you then."

"Bye, Elizabeth"

"Bye, Nani," I left her apartment and got in my Honda Civic and started down the road.

~~~

I opened the grand library doors and smiled at the librarian, Mrs. Hewins.

"We're gonna close soon, sweetie. Library hours ended a few minutes ago," Mrs. Hewins murmured in her ancient voice. "But if you promise to be real quick, I'll let you stay for a few minutes more."

I smiled at her. "Thanks, Mrs. Hewins. I actually have a book on hold under the name 'Davidson'."

Mrs. Hewins flipped through a file container of papers and pulled one out. "Ah, here it is. A Stephen King novel?

I nodded. "Yes, that's it. Also, do you know where Fahrenheit 451 is? I'd like to pick it up for a friend."

"Sure, honey. By Ray Bradbury, right? It should be over there, under the windowsill."

"Thanks, Mrs. Hewins." I crossed the old library, dragging my fingertips along the spines of all the old books lining Mrs. Hewins's library shelves. This was a beautiful place, where Nani and I spent many evenings studying or talking across the dusty booth behind a shelf of sci-fi novels. I continued to the huge window near the newer hardcovers, taking my time. Mrs. Hewins was a generous old woman who didn't seem to mind having customers after hours.

After a few minutes of browsing through the titles, I found my book. Grabbing the novel by its spine, I leaned against an oak shelf. The night outside had a mysterious beauty to it. The cool, dark roads and pale blue moonlight made for a perfect movie set.

For a split second, I thought a dark shadow appeared along the sidewalk. However, the figure disappeared so suddenly that it must've been a trick of the moonlight.

"Elizabeth? Are you still there?" A voice called from the front desk.

I jogged over to Mrs. Hewins. "Sorry, I was distracted by the view. Is the moonlight always so pretty?"

The old librarian smiled at me, "Oh, I wish. On a few nights here and there, the moonlight reflects perfectly off of Mr. Olvera's Plant Nursery and shines through the window. It truly is gorgeous."

"Yes, it is. You're so lucky to work in this place."

"Thank you, Elizabeth. That means a lot. You take care now, okay?"

I smiled sweetly, "Sure, Mrs. Hewins. Have a nice night."

"You too."

I packed the books in my bag and glided down the library's brick steps, basking in the moon's shimmery glow. Left foot, right foot. Left foot, right foot... one after another, I grew closer to home.

From the corner of my eye, the same shadowy figure I saw from before darted between buildings.

Suddenly, a blood-curdling scream echoed down the road.

End of Part One

fiction
1

About the Creator

Elizabeth Davidson

Hello! I am a high school student who is just looking for a place to practice writing. I love creating stories, but I'm better at hand-writing them. I will be posting stories I wrote just as practice. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.