Horror logo

A bit odd

and shadow people?

By the nomadic trioPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
#kindaold

A couple nights ago, a friend and I went to a 169 year old cemetery that has been somewhat forgotten. Not forgotten enough to not be mowed by some random mowing company. But enough so that the headstones have been knocked over and not fixed. Let alone any kind of flowers left behind for the dearly departed loved ones. As I was walking around though, my friend said he noticed what appeared to be a shadow figure pacing back and forth between a couple headstones 20-25 feet away from me. Only to disappear whenever I started walking back to the car.

who was it?

I'm not one to dispute what someone else saw. Especially when it comes to shadow figures and ghosts. Only because I have my own personal experiences growing up. It would explain the feeling of being watched. I would have loved to been able to see what he saw. It reminds of the time living in New Harmony, IN and my mom telling me that I used to talk to a girl close to my age (around 15 or 16) from the same era and I became "fast friends" with her. Yet, I somehow don't remember her at all! It just gives me another reason to go out and try to MAYBE catch some proper, unedited, picture evidence of it. It was also there at that same house that I saw a shadow figure weaving back and forth, watching me from a distance as I walked around town 13 years after moving away. Like it knew it was me but wanting a better look without getting closer. Although, actually seeing that one standing within 10 feet of me had me frozen in place. I couldn't think of doing anything beyond just staring at it. Trying to rationalize what I was seeing. "It's just the owner of my old house, trying to figure out who this weird adult is just staring at the house. Remembering the time that I lived there." When it turned around and disappeared into thin air, I practically ran away, almost in tears. What did it want besides get a closer look? If it wanted to hurt me, it would have done so already, right?! RIGHT?

really folks? can we not fix it?

The figure I saw in front of my old house might have been just a curious lad and left, but what about the one my friend saw. What did that lad want? Was it pacing back and forth, watching me to make sure I wasn't actually there to create havoc and ruin more headstones? And why wasn't I lucky enough to catch a glimpse of him? Or did he wanna be seen by someone who wasn't close enough to help if he truly was evil? Either way, my friend became a believer when he saw it. Close enough to be seen but far enough away to not help if I was seen as a threat rather than an overly curious gal taking photos. Not cool figure man, NOT cool at all! I wanted to see you too. Maybe even find out what your life was actually like. Not just be watched like some science project molding in the fridge.

What about you? Are you a die hard ghost believer that's like me and is just curious as to why they haven't moved on yet? Or are you like me and wonder why there's this thing about cemeteries and ghosts? Maybe its because that's where all of the bodies are buried and the world has changed so much they can't find their way home anymore. So it would make sense.

halloween
2

About the Creator

the nomadic trio

Just a nomad with two cats who refuses to live with most of societies rules. And who doesn’t like to occasionally change up their views with rent free living?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.