Horror logo

72 Hours

Did she do it?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
72 Hours
Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

The silence was heavy as an older man in a white coat with a large gray mustache looked at me. The gray sweats itched against my pale skin. My skin felt clammy as my copper eyes darted outside the barred windows. Storm clouds formed releasing an edge in the air.

"Why did you do it?" He inquired deadpanned. "He was your dad. Did he hurt you?" A lump formed in my throat while anger throbbed in my veins.

"I didn't do it!" I screamed annoyed. "It was my mother. She planted it all on me." The papers in his wrinkled hands shuffled loudly. Anxiously I played with my long braid. His blue eyes glared back at me.

"It says here that your DNA was all over the crime scene." He replied calmly. "How can one explain that?" His pen scribbled as my foot tapped impatiently.

"I fucking lived there." I uttered through gritted teeth. "If the cops knew anything it is that I should not have even been considered. I'm done." The tile scraped against my cheap hospital slippers as I stepped out of the office. The phone dial tone rang through my curious ears pausing me in my steps. My eyes widened in horror at the statement he said.

"She has not admitted to it yet. I know that I only have seventy-two hours to hold her here." He admitted with a warm tone. "Soon my love we will be free once it is all pinned on her." My eyes welled as I thudded into a man my age in an expensive black suit. His brown hair was short but fluffy on top in a messy sort of way. His green eyes glittered excitedly as he tilted his black hat with a warm smile. Something was warm and familiar about him.

"You must be Holly Mcwit." He introduced himself to me. "I am Detective Mark Fright. Do you have a moment of time?" Nodding oddly, he sat me down on the stiff leather waiting chairs.

"I didn't do it." I blurted out, covering my mouth. "My mother did and got me stuck here." Sighing, he took my pale shaking hands into his strong hands. Worry melted out of my body in just a flash.

"I know." He explained with a soft smile. "You would never access to what killed your old man." Large tears fell from down my cheeks for someone finally believed me. Happiness filled my bones, but soon coldness froze them when I realized that I would end up alone. All of my other family passed away mysteriously.

"He on the phone with her now." I sobbed with warring emotions. "I will be all alone." Rolling his eyes, he held my hands even tighter. A strange emotion flickered in them, perplexing my brain.

"We have been tapping his line for a while." He comforted me. "We realized we had to move when she shoved you in here to be the scapegoat. Give me a moment." My heart ached for him as his hands slid from mine. Three knocks on the large wooden door and nothing. The door creaked open to reveal an empty office. His body grew rigid with fury as panic washed over me. Cold sweat dripped down my forehead as a cool metal muzzle nudged my back.

"You are coming with me." My mother's icy voice whispered in my ear. "Just be a dear, and don't scream." A funky smell filled my nose as my eyes fluttered close to darkness.

My head pounded, blurring my vision even more. Rough wooden walls greeted me. A noose hung precariously in front of me. Rusty chains cut into my wrist cutting them. Blood dripped onto my forehead.

"How nice your awake? Sad fact it is just in time for you to die." Her voice teased cruelly. "First I want to play. Ready doctor." Barely able to see, the doctor from before approached me with a full needle. A sick grin darkened his face. A quick prick of pain shot through me as the soft pop of the needle breaking into my soaked skin rang through my ears. My muscles froze with the apparent paralyzing agent. Worry raced through my mind as a silver tool sparkled in the weak lamp light.

"No dear. We can't harm her or the police will be on us." She ordered icily. "It must look like suicide."Sighing, he walked away grabbing the noose hanging from the beam. A pen scribbled away on a ratty piece of paper.

"Did you just write her note?" He asked approaching me. Blue and red lights flashed outside the cabin. A loud knock echoed around us.

"This is Detective Mark. Let me in!" He hollered through the rotting door. "Or we will come in." My mother smoothed out her black dress, and cleared her throat.

"Over her dead body." She cooed creepily. "That's right. Your little pet is in here waiting her execution." Hesitation could be held from the other side of the door. I wanted to scream so bad, but physically couldn't. The stuff running through my veins kept my mouth locked. Helpless, I felt helpless. Grinning evilly, the doctor slid a medical knife across my cheek. A small waterfall of blood cascaded down my cheek as the agony intensified. He had dipped it in lemon and salt. Salty tears fell down my cheek.

"I will give you twenty four hours to run, if you let her go." He pleaded urgently. A shrill giggle escaped her twisted smile.

"Do you honestly think that I am that dull?" She questioned while looking over at me with her dark eyes. "I don't even care about her. I kidnapped her after killing her true parents." My heart shattered into a million little pieces at that fact. Relief replaced my thoughts as the drug started to wear off. Soreness throbbed in my muscles as they relaxed. The wood beam above me creaked. With a loud thud it snapped in half knocking me to the ground. The chains slipped off my worn wrists and onto the floor. The building cracked as my feet took me out of a broken window. Glass cut my skin as warm familiar arms wrapped around me. It was Mark. Dust snowed around us revealing a pile of wood and stone. The officers yanked out the doctor and my mother. Her white hair was disarrayed as she was thrown into a cop car. The doctor kicked and screamed until an electric shock paralyzed him. Karma is a bitch.

"You okay?" He blurted out holding me close. "I thought you were a goner." Tears were dripping onto my face as I looked into his wet eyes. My brows furrowed at the sight of him crying.

"Why do I feel like I know you?" I wheezed for my throat was dry. "Where have we met?" A devilish smile danced across his face.

"Do you remember the day that you saved a boy from being hit?" He prodded happily. A crooked grin lit up my face at the mention of that day.

"That was you?" I asked sheepishly. "I was so rude to you that day. I said-" His hand wrapped tightly around mine.

"You had better watch where you are going. How in the hell are you going get through life bumbling around blindly. You owe me." He recited proudly. "I don't think I owe you anymore. I saw your picture and I have a question for you. How about you and me go on a date?" Rolling my eyes, my finger wiped away a tear. My lips pressed against his passionately. Both our faces flushed bright red as I pulled away.

"As long as you don't jump into traffic." I teased with a playful chuckle. He kissed my lips hungrily. My heart beat faster as he pulled away. Time melted away just making it him and me.

"I need to take her to the hospital." A young voice squeaked. "Unless you want to take her." A young blond EMT stood in front of us. He nodded at him. The EMT scurried off.

"Let's go." Mark said cheerfully, lifting me up bridal style. "Before you protest, I just want to carry you." Shrugging, my head rested against his fast beating heart. Sleepiness came over me, taking me to dreamland.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.