Horror logo

4 Am

4 AM- Where is the elevator?

By PraviPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

It was 4 a.m.,

I could feel sweat dripping down my spine, my hands trembling with fear,

All I could see was thick darkness all around me, even with my eyes wide open.

And the only question on my mind is, "Where is that filthy elevator?"

...

"Then let's ask them," Neel said, as he waited for everyone to agree. It was our summer vacation, and the seven of us had chosen to go on a solo expedition when Sophie asked if our parents will agree to the idea. "Yes, I believe we should speak with them first," Greyn said. Nissa and Erwin agreed with a nod. Ronan and I paused for a moment, knowing that our parents would be furious if they found out about the plan, but we later decided to speak with them before drawing any judgments.

"Finally!" exclaimed Nissa as we reached our parents' laboratory. For the past ten years, our parents have worked as researchers in a private laboratory, and as a result, seven of us have become close friends. We were never allowed to use the stairway or enter the second floor since there was always something strange about the three-story building. The third floor was where our parents worked. We met them and talked about the journey. Surprisingly, they all agreed!

...

It was a fantastic journey. We got home and immediately went to our parents' laboratory. We couldn't wait to tell them about our experience, but as we spoke with them, we learned they were busier than normal that day, so we planned to go back home and wait for them. On our way back downstairs, two strangers joined us. The elevator's capacity had been reached. N eel said, "I'll take the stairs." "But we're not allowed to use the stairs," I protested, as the strangers stared at us as if we were wasting their time. "I'll be alright," Neel replied as he dashed down the stairwell.

We all went downstairs, but Neel was nowhere to be found. We dashed back to the third floor and informed our parents. We were given a stern reprimand and marched over to the cc cameras. Surprisingly, the two strangers who accompanied us were not captured on video. Our parents mistook it for a tale we cooked up to hide Neels' escapade down the stairwell. The second-floor cc cameras captured the entire floor covered in blood and Neel being taken into a room, following which the door rooms were closed. My parents screamed at us, "this is why we asked you not to go to the second level."

Neel's mother sobbed uncontrollably, but his father remained silent. We were terrified and had no idea what was going on. We questioned our parents about who attacked Neel and why they were doing nothing about it. All we got in response was a solemn expression that made us all fall silent. We cried for Neel for a week while Erwin and Sophie tried to figure out what happened to him.

Sophie confronted us after a week, claiming to have discovered a vent connecting the building's third and second floors. Erwin went over everything with us in great detail. He saw it as a means of reuniting with Neel. The notion of going to the second floor worried Ronan and Greyn...I and Nissa agreed with Erwin completely and trespassed in our parents' laboratory. The vent was square in shape and appeared to have been abandoned for several years...it was dusty and dark. Sophie dared to take a camera inside the vent.  As she got to the vent's opening, all she saw was a dark, dirty room with approximately 2-3 benches and no one in it... she felt a presence pull her out of the vent.

We were chastised once more after the occurrence... Sophie's parents couldn't stand seeing the three of us... We were depressed as a result of the deaths of two of our friends... we never dared to return to the lab...Or to learn what happened to our long-lost friends. Sophie and Neel were never seen again...

...

Three weeks later, Before I departed for college, I had to go to the laboratory to give my parents our house keys...I didn't have the bravery to walk up, but I had no choice because my parents were too preoccupied to come down and get the keys... I went over and handed them the keys...

The lights flickered as I entered the elevator... I desperately needed to get down, but the elevator was stuck on the second storey... The doors did not open...but once the elevator halted in the second storey, the number "2" abnormally blinked thrice...immediately after the light finished blinking, there was a power outage. I suddenly felt a person stand alongside me, but when I turned around, there was no one... it was only dark, thick dark. Despite the power outage, the elevator doors began to open...

I gasped and sat up in my bed, realizing it had all been a dream... It's 4 a.m. once more! Fear made me tremble, and sweat was trickling down my brow...

I've had this repeating dream for the past 6 months, and every day at 4 a.m., I wake up at the same point in the plot...

If you have anything to say about it, please do so in the comments!

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Pravi

Hi, I'm Pravi, a passionate freelance writer with a talent for storytelling. Crafting engaging content that informs and entertains is my strength. My writing captures the essence of every subject. I bring ideas to life with my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.