Horror logo

13 Of The Spookiest Lines From Classic Horror Movies:

Here are 13 creepy quotes that will either keep you awake tonight or bring on the nostalgia if you're a weirdo like me.

By Lauren MacDonaldPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

There's nothing like settling in on the couch with a bowl of popcorn in the dark to purposely scare yourself into sleeping with the lights on.

In honor of this being the week of Halloween and all, I've compiled a list of some of the creepiest lines of all time, where screenwriters really drove home the factor of fear.

Famous for its shower scene and more recently recreated as the TV series Bates Motel, Norman hits us with some pretty psycho words of wisdom:

"A boys best friend is his mother." - Norman Bates (Anthony Perkins,) in Psycho (1960.)

"We all go a little mad sometimes." - Norman Bates (Anthony Perkins,) in Psycho (1960.)

The first one's a bit weird, Norman, but you were probably onto something in the second quote.

It's the film with one of the craziest twists at the end, and one of the most iconic whispers:

"I see dead people." - Cole Sear (Haley Joel Osment,) in The Sixth Sense (1999.)

I slept with the covers over my head for weeks after watching this one when I was younger.

"I wanna play a game." - Jigsaw (Tobin Bell,) in Saw (2004.)

If you're picturing the same nightmare-inducing, squeaky bicycle-riding face as I am right now, you also have chills.

Jigsaw's "game" wasn't exactly the sane person's idea of fun.

If "The power of Christ compels you," in reference to expelling a demon, doesn't really do it for you, what about some hidden sarcasm in this 1973 classic?

"What an excellent day for an exorcism!" - Demon (Pazuzu) (Mercedes McCambridge/ Ron Farber,) in The Exorcist, (1973.)

Check out the dry sense of humor on this evil demon, am I right?

So, who you gonna call?

Sometimes, scary movies are better with some positivity thrown into the mix, or perhaps Ghostbusters is just more your speed.

Either way, we could all use a little ghostbusting inspo:

"We came, we saw, we kicked its a**!" - Dr. Peter Venkman (Bill Murray,) in Ghostbusters, (1984.)

You go, Dr. Venkman!

Scary but true:

"Sid, don't blame the movies. The movies don't create psychos, movies make psychos more creative." -Billy Loomis (Skeet Ulrich,) in Scream, (1996.)

That's actually a pretty deep thought, Billy. You'd be disappointed to know that we still obsess over horror films...

I'd like to say that most of us aren't psychos though, but I can't be certain.

Most movie lovers truly enjoy some quality foreshadowing and irony. This line has a little bit of both:

"You know, it's Halloween...everyone's entitled to one good scare, eh?" - Sheriff Leigh Brackett (Charles Cyphers,) in Halloween, (1978.)

If only the Sheriff had known the sort of good scare that Michael had in mind, eh?

I'm not sure if you've ever had a bad dream about an ex, but this is much, much worse than that:

"I'm your boyfriend now, Nancy!" -Freddy Krueger (Robert Englund,) in A Nightmare on Elm Street, (1984.)

Some guys will just never be boyfriend material. That's going to be a thank you, next...sorry, Freddy.

I think maybe he was trying to tell us something:

"When there's no more room in hell, the dead will walk the Earth." Peter Jackson (Ken Foree,) in Dawn of the Dead, (1978.)

Do you think that Peter was able to see the future...?

We can always count on Stephen King for a little bit of added morbidity:

"Sometimes, dead is better." - Jud Crandall (Fred Gwynne,) in Pet Sematary, (1989.)

We'd probably say the same if we were dealing with a cat back from the dead, too...

People have been fans of horror since before the beginning of film making. This one takes us all the way back to 1932:

"Do you have to open graves to find girls to fall in love with?" - Frank (David Manners,) in The Mummy (1932.)

I'm not sure how the dating scene looked back then, but it sounds like someone might have had trouble getting a date.

Conjuring one from beyond the grave sounds like a novel idea, you know, because they didn't have Tinder and all.

"Be afraid...be very afraid." - Veronica Quaife (Geena Davis,) in The Fly, (1986.)

Buzz, buzz. He's sort of cute, no?

If we can't agree on that, I think we can all agree that this famous line can pertain to a lot more than an insect these days...

While Jack's impression of Johnny Carson was pretty good as he yells, "Heeere's Johnny!" There were other lines in The Shining that might take the cake for the creepiest:

"I'm not going to hurt ya. You didn't let me finish my sentence. I said, I'm not gonna hurt ya, I'm just going to bash your brains in." -Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) in The Shining (1980.)

Or my personal favorite: "Good, I want you to like it here. I wish we could stay here forever...and ever...and ever." -Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) in The Shining (1980.)

That's really lovely Jack, just lovely. I think I'd "be very afraid" of this unraveled maniac.

Embrace the Halloween spirit and pick a couple of these gems for movie night. Just don't forget to lock the doors and plug in the night light before bed, if you're able to get any sleep at all...

Source used for quotes: https://hellhorror.com/best-horror-movie-quotes.html

Happy Halloween, y'all!

halloween
2

About the Creator

Lauren MacDonald

I have a new start up blog, www.onebluedahlia.com where the focus is mental health awareness, mindful wellbeing and positivity. I am currently a student at Lesley University in pursuit of my BA in Psychology. Mental health is my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.