Geeks logo

Your Touch (The Owl House raeda fic)

After Eda's encounter with Raine and the BATs, the short time they touched during the planning session, their feelings for each other, the ones that never really left, come back to the front of their minds. That night, on different sides of the Isle, they sing the same song: "Every Time We Touch" by Cascada (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4G6QDNC4jPs&ab_channel=SteveAATW)

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1
A black screen with Raine and Eda holding hands with the title in white below

It was nearing midnight and Eda couldn’t sleep, It was the night after Eda helped the BATs out. It was the first time in almost thirty years since she had last seen Raine. She sat on the roof and looked at the stars, but the stars weren’t what she wanted to be looking at. Little did she know she wasn’t the only one sitting outside with a heart full of memories. At Belos’s castle, Raine sat on one of the turrets, savoring the interaction they had with Eda that day.

That interaction strengthened the longing for each other that never went away. The other’s voices were fresh in their minds as they haven’t been in decades.

“I still hear your voice when you sleep next to me”

Eda whispered the first line to a song Raine had once sung to her when they were dating. It was when they got back together after Raine was out of town on vacation with their family for a month. That had been the longest that they had been separated since they met. She had no way of knowing that they were singing the same song.

I still feel your touch in my dreams

Raine held their hand, where she had laid her callused hand on top of theirs, while they were strategizing. Eda also remembered the feel of their hand under hers. Both of them could still feel its wonderful residue. Longing for the days when a brief hand touch was nothing,

Forgive me my weakness, but I don't know why

Without you, it's hard to survive

Tears were now running down Eda's face, she found them again and doesn’t want to lose them again. At least she knew that she’ll be seeing her Rainestorm tomorrow at the BATs strategy meeting.

'Cause every time we touch

I get this feeling

And every time we kiss

I swear I could fly

Can't you feel my heart beat fast

I want this to last

Need you by my side

Across the Isles, Raine was singing the same song as they reminisced over their relationship, how perfect it was, until it wasn’t. They were glad to be fighting against Belos, but now they had Eda by their side, something that they were more than grateful for. They- the BATs need her expertise at escaping coven guards.

'Cause every time we touch

I feel this static

And every time we kiss

I reach for the sky

Can't you hear my heart beat so

I can't let you go

Want you in my life

Those past decades had been hard, she had been living off their memory with apple blood and discreetly playing her lute. Now she couldn’t do either. She just looked back on those magical moments she shared with Raine, every touch, every kiss… how much she missed them. Not just their body, which she did, she missed her lips on theirs as she held them, gentle hands but also how kind they are and their endless knowledge of songs both from the boiling Isles and Earth. She hoped they would be able to go back to where they were. She got them back, platonically, for now, she wanted them in her life forever.

Your arms are my castle

Your heart is my sky

They wipe away tears that I cry

The good and the bad times

We've been through them all

You make me rise when I fall

They always felt at home in the other’s arms, be it just because one of them needed the support. They always had each other’s backs, Raine saddened remembering when Eda stopped leaning on them. She never forgave herself for not telling them about the curse, pushing them out of her life. They were young then, but now things could be different.

'Cause every time we touch

I get this feeling

And every time we kiss

I swear I can fly

Can't you feel my heart beat fast

I want this to last

Need you by my side

'Cause every time we touch

I feel this static

And every time we kiss

I reach for the sky

Can't you hear my heart beat so

I can't let you go

Want you in my life

'Cause every time we touch

I get this feeling

And every time we kiss

I swear I could fly

Can't you feel my heart beat fast

I want this to last

Need you by my side

They were both crying as they finished the song pining for the other.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AN

If you like this story, fear not! There are plenty of other installments of Owl house oneshots already up. There are more on the way! Subscribe so you don’t miss out! Read them all? I also have several other works that you can look at while you wait. For more information on the other stories, and when the next chapter will be up, click THIS LINK

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Excellent!!! Left a heart!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.