Geeks logo

Your Name Is Written

So Long Ago

By Roger NavarroPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
The kindness you give today, is the blessing someone else will get tomorrow. This is love.

"How do you know my name?" said Gerald. He was skeptical of the man's claims. He kept his gaze locked onto the stranger. Kind stranger, is the term the man used when he introduced himself.

"Well Gerald because of this." Said the man. As he pulled a little black book out of his coat pocket. The book looked even more black against the man's white gloves. "Your name is written in it Gerald"

There he went again. Claiming that Gerald's name was in there and that's why he came. Gerald's only recollection of writing his name in any book, was the old school books they gave out in school. He wrote his name in math, English, science, and history books. Never a black book that looked like it belonged in an accountant's office.

"You look like you've seen a ghost Gerald. I guess you could say I'm a friendly spirit." Chuckled the man. For some odd reason this made Gerald feel slightly more comfortable. It felt familiar almost. Like when he was younger and he would go to his Auntie T's house. Gerald didn't want to trust him though.

"So you have a book and this book has my name written in it?" The man nodded. " Well how did it get there? Did you write it in there? How did you know I would be here?" Gerald was going to get the information from the man now.

The man took a deep breath. "Would you believe me if I told you that the book told me?" The man chuckled lightly. "I'm kidding. When I got to this timezone it took me a while to track you down. I did though. Now I'm able to fulfill my family's promise."

"You helped my grandfather once. He often spoke about how cool you were. Funny too. He called you a kind stranger. The kindest in his opinion. I always wanted to meet you Gerald. Believe me, a lot of people do." The man said.

That last part echoed in Gerald's brain. A Lot of people wanted to meet him? The man living in his parents' guest house. The man who couldn't get a girlfriend cause he came off too strong, as his sister put it. The man who was too afraid to open up. Gerald could sense the ground rushing up to meet him. Not this time he thought.

"So why did you need to talk to me then?" Gerald asked. "You should have saved the plane ticket and stayed home. I'm not a bad guy but I should be doing better." He said.

The man put the book back in his pocket. He pulled the briefcase up now. Gerald noticed it at first but figured it went with the man's fancy outfit. Now his mind started wondering if there was anything he should be worried about.

Like what if this man was like one of those old timey gangsters and inside the briefcase there was a Tommy gun. That's why it took the man some time to track Gerald down. He was a hit man sent to take Gerald out as they say.

That's when the man started moving forward. Moving the briefcase up slowly with every stride he took. Almost as if he was offering it to Gerald. The man actually was handing it to him.

"Here you go," the man said. "Now I wouldn't suggest opening it up, until you get home safe."

"What's in here?" Gerald inquired. "What if I don't want it?"

"Open it up Gerald. I believe you'll be pleased with what you find inside" the man said with a grin.

He was hesitant but he did want to know. Gerald opened it and in the briefcase he found money. Alot of money. "How much is in here?" Gerald asked.

"Only $20,000 Gerald. If you need more. Just keep being you." His mouth dropped. "My grandfather wrote your name down because without you he never would have had his family." The man said with a smile on his face. "Your kindness that day. Restored faith in my grandfather. It made him feel visible. You made him laugh and smile when he thought he couldn't. Then he met my grandmother. The rest is history. "

Gerald closed up the briefcase. He didn't want to give the man any reason to change his mind. "Well thank you and I hope you have a safe flight home. Thank you so much. I never would have guessed this was going to happen today. " he said. "If you're ever in town, I'll take another one" he chuckled.

The man started laughing. "I didn't fly here Gerald. You are funny. You'll see what I mean just step back over to that tree. " Gerald moved over. Curious as to what the man meant. The man composed himself. "I'm from a magical place. It all started because of small acts like yours. Thank you."

The man pulled out a handheld device. Round on top with an empty center and the man was holding it by a handle. He pulled the device to his lips, whispered something, and kissed it. Suddenly there was a heavy feeling pulling him in but Gerald stayed where he was. Then the silence. Then the device started to shine really bright. So bright that the man disappeared. Gerald turned away. When he turned back, the man was gone.

Gerald grabbed the suitcase filled with money and started walking home. He was excited to surprise his folks with a moving out announcement. Now he could finish up paying his hospital bills. One thing kept lingering in Gerald's head. The man had said he found Gerald in this timezone. Gerald wondered. What timezone did the man come from if he didn't fly?

A decade before Gerald spoke to the man with the suit, black book, and briefcase. Gerald was walking home now. After spending the whole day at the park playing ball with his friends. It was time for a shower. He kept thinking how he should have brought his car to save him the time but better than it smelling like a zoo. He had a date tonight and he was picking her up. Besides he would get some extra exercise in and cool down.

Gerald decided to go visit his Auntie T. He realized where he was and wanted to drop by and say hi for a bit. She always smiled when he came over. Sweaty or not. He cut through the parking lot of a small little market to save time. Once he rounded the back alley he saw her house.

He walked past those familiar bushes and knocked on the door. He was hoping she was home. Not busy with one of her projects.

The door opened and there was his aunt. With a big grin on her face.

"Gerald! To what do I owe the pleasure my boy? So big and handsome." She said with a smile on her face.

His Auntie T always made him feel so good about himself. "I just wanted to come say hi. See how you are Auntie." He replied.

"Well Gerald. I was just about to go on a walk. Care to join me? It is a beautiful day." She asked.

"I'd be honored," he replied.

"Well my prince, to the beaten trail we go" she responded.

That's when Gerald noticed she was all dressed up to go for a walk. She had her keys and water bottle. Once she locked her door they took off.

They walked for a bit. His aunt so full of energy. So full of life. Gerald was always so grateful to her and her smile.

"Spare some change?" A voice said.

They were so caught up in each other's company that they didn't immediately see the man. The man and his sign. Gerald knew he had to help.

"Ho traveler! What brings you to our outpost?" Gerald said. "We're trapped here depending on who you ask. Here to answer your every question and respond to your every call." He spun around with his arms up to sell it.

The man laughed. "Who are you?"

"I am a kind stranger. I guess you could say I'm a friendly spirit." Gerald replied.

"And I'm a time traveler. Well actually I want to invent it. I need some funds to get into a house. Spare some change?" The man said.

Gerald responded "A dream like that requires all the help possible." He started dancing silly while reaching for his wallet. He pulled out a $20 and gave it to the man. The man was laughing and that was a win for Gerald.

"I wish you the best. We have to get going sir. May your endeavors be supported by the divine." Gerald said. He and his aunt began to walk away.

"Wait, what's your name?" The man asked.

"My name is Gerald and this is my Auntie T. Just some kind spirits passing through. Making sure you remember that the world loves you." He sang that last part for his audience of two.

"Thank you" the man said as he wrote something in a little black book. "I will repay you Gerald. Don't ever stop being kind."

"Will do," Gerald said as they took off.

Once they got far enough away. "You're such a sweetheart darling. You made us both smile and laugh. I got it all on camera. So when you get a girlfriend I know what to show her." Auntie T teased.

"You always taught me to be kind auntie. He needed it more than I did. I'm working so it will definitely come around. Hopefully the date tonight goes well." He said.

They walked for a bit more. He knew mentioning the date was a risk. Now his aunt was firing off all these questions. "She seems like a catch. Keep her laughing." She instructed.

"I will auntie. Do you really think that man is going to invent time travel?" He asked.

"He probably will. Then he will travel back in time to thank you " she laughed. "I love it when you visit me. Now let's get you home so you can get ready for your date. I'll give you a ride."

Gerald had lost track of time. He had enough time to make it home, get ready, and pick up his date. "Yes please auntie" he said.

"Let's get going then" she said. "Time waits for no one. Except maybe our time traveling friend we met today."

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.