Geeks logo

Woody Strode on to American Movie Screens in 1941

BLACK COWBOYS

By PAT CHANEYPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sargent Rutledge

Woodrow Wilson Woolwine Strode was one of the first Black TV Cowboys who grabbed my attention as a kid, firstly because he resembled my Uncle Ford, who was the only Black Cowboy I knew and secondly because he was one of the few on TV and in movies in the Sixties.

He was an Imposing Bronze Muscular Athlete who stood 6’4 and 210 pounds… his large Expressive Eyes commanded one’s attention. On his father’s side he had Cree and Blackfoot Native American Blood. On his mother’s side Cherokee, which gave him a different look and worked in his favor.

He was was one of the first four Black Men to break the Color Barrier and play College Football and then go pro and play for The Los Angeles Rams after they moved from Cleveland to Los Angeles.

Woody Strode’s first movie was entitled Sundown [1941] where he portrayed a Tribal Policeman and Dorothy Dandridge co-starred. Woody was different than most Black Actors of the day and this did not escape Director John Ford’s keen eye. He went on to make eighty-seven movies in his career. Woody always approached the characters he played with Dignity and Respect.

Woody was the First Black Man to be cast as a Hero in a Western and the Second to play the Lead in his own film. That film was Sargent Rutledge, which was historic for 1960 because it addresses Race when a Black Man is accused of sexually attacking a White Woman.

“I had the Greatest Glory Hallelujah ride across the Pecos River that any Black Man ever had on screen and I did it myself. I carried the whole Black Race across that river!” Woody in regard to movie Sargent Rutledge.

Bet you didn’t know Sheriff Woody from Toy Story Movies was originated with Woody Strode in mind… peep the Hat. Although actor Tom Hanks is the voice for Sheriff Woody the character was inspired by Woody Strode. Woody Strode never got to see the movie as he passed due to Cancer before the movie came out. I believe he would get a big kick out of that... I did.

“The Ninth Calvary is my Home, my Self-Respect and my Real Freedom, and the way I was deserting it, I weren’t nothing but a Swamp Running Nigger! And I ain’t that… I’m a Man!”—Dialogue from Sargent Rutledge

Circa 1960

PeeCee

feature
Like

About the Creator

PAT CHANEY

I am a child of the Sixties; 50% Hippie and 50% Militant with a Bohemian flair. My career as a Healthcare Claims Configuration Consultant allowed me to travel all over the U.S.....saw many places and things that inspire my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.