Geeks logo

'Wonder Woman 1984' Is Finally Coming, And It's Apparently Amazing!

The Bad News For Canadians: HBO Max Isn't Available In Canada.

By Christina St-JeanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://media.vanityfair.com/photos/5f5bb7d4023715cc7630cbbb/master/pass/rev-1-WW84-TRL-00060r_High_Res_JPEG.jpeg

When the original Wonder Woman bowed in May 2017, I had no idea what to expect, but I was somewhat wary, as the original #WonderWoman series was not at all relatable to me. I didn't get the whole "spin in a few circles and your clothes will turn into your superhero costume," among other things in that #LyndaCarter series. In retrospect, I think it's because I felt at the time there was nothing in that Wonder Woman that I could at all relate to.

With Wonder Woman as portrayed by #GalGadot, that changed. Certainly, I couldn't connect with the idea of stunning beauty, but Gadot brought an innocence and a compassion to her role as the Amazonian warrior that I felt was lacking in the TV version, if I'm honest. Gadot's #DianaPrince is fierce, kind, innocent yet wise, and just everything many modern superheroes just don't really seem to have nowadays, excepting perhaps #CaptainAmerica. I fell in love with 2017's Wonder Woman and immediately became excited for #WonderWoman1984. Of course, I held my breath, as it's too often that the sequel to movies is worse than the original, but remained cautiously optimistic when I learned that Gadot was once again teaming with the director of the first Wonder Woman, #PattyJenkins.

It would seem my worries might have been unfounded, as the preliminary reviews are in and they are wonderful. Too often, in fact, a film will come along and just be so incredible that the sequel just does not measure up. This is not always the case, of course, but it certainly has happened frequently enough that we can certainly look at sequels with something of a suspicious eye.

There are also those films where subsequent films just seem to make the series better, such as the original Star Wars series or even the line of Avengers films. That being said, I far preferred Avengers: Infinity War to Avengers: Endgame, but I digress.

The reviews for #WW84 even go so far as to suggest that this sequel actually is reminiscent of the superhero movies that Richard Donner would put out in the 1980s. As the reviewers seem to say, there's a ton of excitement, compassion, and heroics to even turn the coldest of hearts warm. Certainly, these are all things for which the original Wonder Woman was known, but it's nice to hear that there is nothing lost in the sequel.

What is somewhat disappointing to me is that HBOMax is not available in Canada, so because I am an individual who is not yet comfortable going to a theatre in the midst of this global pandemic, it may be some time before I can enjoy Wonder Woman 1984. I'm told by my oldest daughter, who stays abreast of such details, that it is coming to Canada via Crave, but that might be some time and reportedly after the theatrical release of WW84.

So I have little choice but to wait. As of Monday, Dec. 14 in my region in Ontario, Canada, we are going to further restrictions which will see movie theatres shut down once again, which also means viewing the #WonderWoman sequel will be further delayed. I could say "Thanks COVID," and blame the global pandemic for why I'm not going to the theatre, but that would be far too easy. I mean, yes, the pandemic is a part of the reason why I'm not going to be attending a theatre any time soon, but if the movie was available on some sort of streaming platform in Canada at the same time it is in the United States, the production company behind Wonder Woman 1984 would be making some serious coin in addition to what it could make from our neighbors to the south.

I suppose how I feel is not really different than how so many of us are feeling in the midst of COVID-19: impatient and longing for our old behaviors to resume. While I would sooner be safe, I would also appreciate a trip to the high-octane world of Wonder Woman 1984 sooner rather than later.

featurehumanitymoviecelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Christina St-Jean

I'm a high school English and French teacher who trains in the martial arts and works towards continuous self-improvement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.