Geeks logo

Wired Differently (My Hero Academia tododeku slowburn), Chapter 11: To the Arcade(again)

This is part of the Wired Differently series. It is a tododeku slowburn that deals with Midoriya's anxiety and Todoroki's trauma. The chapters must be read in order, the links are in story body. In this chapter, Todoroki asks Midoriya to go back to the arcade.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A translucent brain scan over a translucent heart in the center of a black background. Midoriya's head is fading in looking pensive at the top left and Todoroki also looking pensive on the bottom right.

Chapter 9: The Arcade

Chapter 10: Todoroki’s Screens

to get to chapters 1-8 you can navigate this google doc

Todoroki POV

The next day at school I couldn't stop thinking about Midoriya, and how nice he is to me. He didn't bring up my... ability... preventing any awkwardness. I felt that I needed to make it up to him somehow. I was not worthy of all that kindness. I needed to prove that I'm worthy of being friends with that wonderful boy. For the next week and a half, after school, I went back to the arcade to try to win enough tickets. Enough tickets that he could get any prize he wanted. That whole time at school he continued to make sure that I felt included. Even though Awozata-sensei gave us a lot of work I kept going back to the arcade. Midoriya kept trying to include me was enough motivation for me to continue going back to the arcade. I played every game at the arcade and found that I earned the most tickets at the reaction speed game.

Eventually, I earned over a thousand tickets, which was enough to get most of the prizes. It took me another two days after earning enough tickets before I was able to ask him to go back to the arcade. It wasn't that I didn't have the opportunity. I was afraid of asking because I was afraid that he'd say no. That he would stop liking me. I know that there was no logic behind those thoughts, but I couldn't help but find those preventing me to ask him.

It was time for lunch as usual Mideoriya, waited for everyone else to leave so he could walk with me. I did not deserve to have him in my life. "Midoriya?" I asked with a shaky voice, I felt like a child when I asked if he wanted to go to the arcade again, I didn't l look at him I was afraid of my irrational child-like feelings.

Midoriya POV

Todoroki called my name in the cutest voice I ever heard, he looked so cute, when he's nervous. "Would you like to go to the arcade with me again?" his voice was practically a whisper while he was looking at the floor, I just wanted to hold him and tell him that there was nothing to be nervous about even though I was really nervous when I asked him the same thing! But I couldn't hold him because of social norms saying that boys can't really even hug each other! Let alone me holding him even though I really wanted to! Instead, I had to respond with just my words."I'd love to!" I responded enthusiastically. In response, I got his small heart-melting smile. I love him so much! And I really wanted to hang out with him again but he seemed to be distracted, and I didn't want to bother him, I know that was my anxiety taking control again, or at least that's what Tanaka-san said, but I'm so glad that he wanted to hang out again. I couldn't wait for the day to be over so I can have alone time with Todoroki-kun!

AN

Yes, I know that the midterms happen around this time, I'll get to them in chapter 15.

If you like this story but are caught up? I have and several different series that I am working on that you can take a look at, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, comment, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.