Geeks logo

Wired Differently chapter 12: The Prize Section(A My Hero Academia tododeku slow burn)

This is part of the Wired Differently series. It is a tododeku slowburn that deals with Midoriya's anxiety and Todoroki's trauma. The chapters must be read in order, the links are in story body. In this chapter, Todoroki lets Midoriya pick out something from the prize section.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
A translucent brain scan over a translucent heart in the center of a black background. Midoriya's head is fading in looking pensive at the top left and Todoroki also looking pensive on the bottom right.

previus chapters:

Chapter 10: Todoroki’s Screens

Chapter 11: To the Arcade(again)

For chapters 1-9

Todoroki POV

I was so excited that I was bearly able to focus on the afternoon classes. Eventually, classes ended. As usual, I waited until my classmates left the room. Everyone except Midoriya that is. He waited for me.

“You said that he wanted to go to the arcade?” he asked, with a large smile on his face. I just nodded.

Midoriya POV

Like last time Todoroki walked behind me, I keep looking back over my shoulder to make sure that he was still there, which he always was, slightly behind me he had that slight smile on his face, I didn’t know what he was smiling about but I was just glad it was there. He doesn't smile that often. Even though I still find him walking behind me a bit unnerving, I guess that it was just one of his mannerisms that I’d have to get used to, maybe it will change over time or maybe it won’t, but this is Todoroki so I’m just happy to be with him.

“I can’t wait to go to the arcade again,” I started trying to start a conversation, I didn't get a response from that, I know that he’s not the best at that. “Why did you choose the arcade?” I asked this time prompting a response, I found that sometimes Todoroki needs a bit of a prompt to start talking!

“I have a surprise for you,” he responded, I waited for him to say more, but he didn’t.

When we reached the arcade started going to the card counter when the heterochromatic boy put a hand on my shoulder. “We’re going to the prize section. I have enough tickets for you to get just about anything,” he informed me.

“Wha- how- why!” I stammered.

“Since you told me that you wanted to get something from the prize section, I have been coming here after school. I wanted to win you enough tickets so you can get just about anything. So I did. I did it to thank you for being my friend.”

I couldn't believe that Todoroki would go through all this trouble for me just because I’m his friend! It was flattering but kinda awkward and a little bit uncomfortable to be honest...

“Yo-yu didn’t have to do all this because I’m your friend, Todoroki, I want to be your friend, and I think that everyone should be nice to everyone! Haven’t people just been nice to you?”

He looked down “No, since my mom left the only people who were nice to me were my siblings and only when my father wasn't around.” he once again reminded me of his terrible childhood he looked so sad I just wanted to hug him and tell him that everything is ok now but it’s not he still has to deal with his father reminding him of his abusive past. Tears swelled in my eyes.

He prompted me back to the here and now by asking me what Item I wanted.

“No save your tickets, get something for yourself! You were the one who got the tickets!” I nervously flailed my hands in front of me.

“I won them for you.” he stood there watching me, with that small smile which was actually kind of comforting, his smile always makes me smile, so I agreed and looked at the prizes that I never dreamed I’d be able to get, I was never able to get more than a piece of candy or other small cheap trinkets but now I was able to look at the big-ticket stuff the scared teen followed close behind me. I light up when I saw a possible silver age All Might figurine that I didn’t already have, then I looked at the price, it was over two thousand tickets.

“You want that but you're worried about the price aren't you?” he asked.

I didn’t know how he knew I didn’t think that my expression changed that much, maybe it has to do with the screens that he sees. “Yea,” I managed to respond. He took the figurine and went to the employee and gave him that and a card, he swiped the card and gave the prize back to him. I went over and he gave it to me and I started crying a little I just stared at him not knowing what to say but Todoroki actually did!

“I had enough tickets,” he stated like this was completely normal.

“Bu- Todoroki-Thank you, you really didn’t have to do this.”

“But, Midoriya, I wanted to,” with that he reached out and wiped away my tears his hand was so warm! I stared into his mismatched eyes, and I smiled, and he gave me that slight smile. Then my face turned bright red as I realized where we were and that we weren't dating in real life like we were in my head.

“I- uh- have... to go now! I-I’ll see you in school tomorrow!” with that, I ran off feeling terrible about leaving him after him being so nice to me I’d definitely be beating myself up over this for a few weeks!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story, fear not! There are more chapters on the way! Subscribe so you don't miss them! I also have several other works that you can look at while you wait. For more information on the other stories click the following link C LICK HERE

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.