Geeks logo

Why We Are Angry at Nigerians - Boma and Tega

"Nigerians are being hypocrites!"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Big Brother Naija housemates Boma and Tega were two of the most talked about housemates this season majorly because they seemed to be linked romantically during the show and Tega is openly a married woman.

After being evicted from the show, the two have faced major backlash from Nigerians and now in an interview with TVC, both Boma and Tega sat down to talk about why they think Nigerians are hypocrites, explain their actions on the show, and reveal if they actually have any regrets about what they did.

This is what Tega and Boma said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Boma and Tega on TVC

Boma and Tega had a lot to say during their appearance on TVC's eSplash. Here are the major highlights of the conversation. If you just want to watch the full thing by yourself, simply scroll down.

Here are the conversation highlights from what Boma and Tega said about their time on the show.

Boma - I go on set and I act with married women. If you want a show, I’ll give you a show. It was a full show. I didn’t go to no one’s house to grab anyone’s girl. I was in a show, I knew the world was seeing me, it was a show – that’s how I thought about it. Until I came out and was like “Oh.” I only apologized for peace sake so I won’t be arguing with the whole country. Not because I did what they say I did. Sometimes you have to choose your battles.

Tega - The show is rated 18 and the show is mainly for entertainers and every other person in every other walk of life. For me, I’m an entertainer, I’m an actor. If I go into a show like that, I’m not even normal to start with. I’ve grown up with controversies around me – the ones I know about and the ones I do not know. So I always know that something like that go get k-leg but then, it’s a show. We’re meant to explore every angle of the show regardless and yes, the show is rated 18. If I’m to be on a reality show that involves being paid 1 million dollars to act like his girlfriend or you’re to be his girlfriend, won’t I do everything? I’m supposed to be everything if I want to be.

Boma - Nigerians have a hypocritical culture. Nigerians are being hypocrites, in capital letters.

Tega - Of course [Nigerians are being hypocrites]. We’re being openly judgmental because we just react to things we see and things we hear. It’s been our life – whether it’s reality show or entertainment or politics, we just react to what we are seeing at the moment.

Boma - How dare you call me out on the things you do on the daily basis? I’m living people’s dreams. People are going to be mad regardless. The only people I do feel some type of way or sorrow about are my fans who believed in me and thought I could have gone a little longer.

Tega - You don’t expect to go on a show like that and be boring. Our country is already too hard, people are looking for something to excite them, to distract them from their problems. You can’t go and be sleeping, you can’t go and be keeping quiet. Coming out of the show and seeing how stuff are, we went too hard. The frequency in that house is not the frequency outside. I won’t really say I regret it, I had fun.

Wow! After reading those excerpts or if you watch the interview, you will be able to tell that these two especially Boma is very angry with Nigerians right now. In fact Boma did a separate interview by himself with TVC where he lambasted Nigerians saying that it's only us and our hypocritical nature that had a problem with his antics on the show. According to Boma, his friends abroad and in other parts of Africa don't understand why he left so early and why Nigerians are so angry. The boy is mad at us o! 😂

Wahala for entertainers wey go show! What do you think about what Tega and Boma are saying? Do you think they went too far? Do you think what they did was okay because they were only trying to put on a show? Leave me a comment on my Facebook post, I'd love to hear what you think.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.