Geeks logo

Why the Comedienne Needs to Make Us Laugh Again

Laughter should be the best medicine.

By Karen MagnanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
Now that was funny!!

I have Sirius radio in my vehicle. I do enjoy the variety and the lack of commercials. For me, paying to subscribe is worth it to avoid countless advertising that I would not listen to anyway. I would just change the station, just like I do on TV.

I am a country gal, so I listen to my country music when I want to sing along to the radio. Fortunately, no one can hear me outside of the car! Sometimes I bring out my soul side and listen to various R&B and soul music. I listen to the comedy channels frequently, also. Comedy is great when you are in a bad mood or depressed. I also enjoy starting my day with comedy. I can keep a sillier outlook on life when I look at life through the eyes of a comedienne. I walk around laughing to myself all day. I do think I missed my calling there. I should have been a comedienne. I am sure about that. Of course, those around me think I am a lunatic as I walk through stores and businesses laughing at my secret jokes.

I do have my own beef though about comedy now. There are those comediennes I do find funny. They make us laugh about life, make fun of their families, their parents, their neighbors. All things we can all relate to. There are those comediennes I listen to that make me change the channel. I find vulgar comedy and raunchy comedy, not that funny. I do not want to hear you using the “F” bomb over and over again while you are talking about having raunchy sex in the back seat of your pick up truck. Not funny.

I do not find the jokes about killing President Trump, his family, and supporters funny at all. It is damn offensive to me whether or not I voted for the guy. Half the country did, so get over it already. I think he is doing a pretty damn good job considering all the attacks he has to respond to daily. There was a time when political humor was just that, humorous. There would be funny skits and monologues about politicians in general and how dumb they can be. They could have a field day with all of Biden’s gaffes, but he seems to be untouchable. I have never heard so many have been, loser comediennes promote such violence and viciousness, all while claiming it is supposed to be funny! I do not know many people who find that sort of humor funny, except among Democrats that is. Perhaps in their warped world of Tinseltown where all the fake people live, it is, but not in the rest of America.

Lastly, another area of comedy I find offensive. Racial humor, in general, is offensive, but I will focus on black humor that continually insults their own race and heritage. I am not black, and unlike many in fake Hollywood and the false politicians out there, I am not embarrassed to admit it. I want to hear black comediennes tell me funny jokes about life, just like everyone else. Your lives are funny. It is not all about guns and killing. Yes, I am sure that is a problem for many, but it is not the problem of your entire race. I am not taking away from the harshness that many blacks have endured. I feel making jokes about the violence keeps people thinking that is all there is among the black culture is wrong. Blacks have risen from slavery and poverty, and many have become quite successful in their lives. Tell me humor about how ironic your life has become from the way your grandfather used to live. That could be funny.

How about speaking about your success, and add some twist of fate in there if you must. We want funny stories of success about life in general, instead of stories of death and crime because you think that is what white people want to hear. Most white people are really not prejudiced, although the democrats want you to believe we are. Those who scream the loudest against something are usually hiding their own prejudice. Point your finger at others, and they will not see you are the one actually doing it. Children learn this by the time they are four years old as they point at their brother and say, “He did it.” Brother gets the beating or punished, and the four-year-old now understands the game and grows up to be a politician!. We are all on the same team. Rap music does the same. They put down blacks by rapping about crime and violence.

As I said, I am not black, and I do not have the right to judge you or any other comedienne, entertainer or person for their style, and I certainly do not know what your lives are like. I just want you to know that you do not have to insult your people just to make white people laugh. Most of us do not see your color. You point it out, and then you lower yourself to what you think we expect from you, and a lot of us are not laughing. We just want you to entertain us with stories of your mama, your wife, your kids, your girlfriend, your job. The same things that we also struggle with. There are some great black comediennes who understand this, and that is why they are great. Some of my favorites are Will Smith, Tyler Perry, Jamie Foxx, Kevin Hart, and, of course, Eddie Murphy.

My point with all of this is, when will comedy just be funny. Comedy and music about killing people, violence in general, raunchy talk about your fake sex life, throwing the “F” bomb after every word, your miserable life because you are black, Indian, brown, Asian or gay, are not always funny. Life, in general, is hysterical. Walk around Walmart or the supermarket, and watch people, and you could have a year’s worth of routines.

Sometimes entertainers, including comediennes, by frequently talking about violence, murder, prejudice, and race, tend to keep those things at the forefront of society. We must try to entertain by not speaking about racism, murder, and violence. Let us not glorify these behaviors by making light of them. They really are not a funny topics anyway. I enjoy hearing about a woman, Native American, black person, Asian person, gay person, etc., who are just normal people. Do not hold yourself back, your nationality back, your sex back just to entertain us. Rise up, and laugh about your success and failures, in spite of being a woman, Native American, a black person, Asian or gay. You are not those things. They are labels society gave us. You are an individual human being, like the rest of us.

You are a comedienne on a stage entertaining people, a successful business person, or an actor. You made it. Make the rest of us who are living miserable lives no matter what race, gender, or sexual orientation we are; just laugh so we can forget the horrors of life. Not watch you remind us of how horrible life can be for us all every time you speak into a microphone. We want to laugh and forget our problems, to find a way to laugh at them, even when we are not in that audience. As you make us laugh at your everyday problems, even though you are now successful, it makes us laugh at our horrible problems. We can all have that problem no matter what race, sex, or political party we are in.

You can help us laugh at ourselves. Do not point out the failures of people or the country, but help us laugh at those failures, or of our strengths and weaknesses. Help us laugh at the big stuff so that they become small. Help us laugh at the small stuff, so we see how stupid they are. The role of the entertainer, no matter what form of entertaining you do, is to entertain us, so we forget our problems for a couple of hours. We do not need the world’s failures thrown at us every time you speak into a microphone, so we not only feel like failures as individuals but as a human race. We need to find hope. One way to find hope is through laughing at society's problems and mistakes, and then perhaps we can realize how ludicrous those problems are and fix them. There is a way to laugh at society without making everyone feel like we are all failures. There are a lot of good things in the world, also.

A comedienne who can laugh at their own everyday problems and have the listener then laugh at their own problems, in comparison, has a real gift; the gift of COMEDY.

There is the old saying: Laughter is the Best Medicine. I always believed this wholeheartedly.

If you:

Laugh in the face of danger

Laugh in the face of misery

Laugh in the face of sorrow

Then you can laugh in the face of death because that laughter made life easier and more bearable.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Karen Magnan

I am a published author of five stories for children. I love writing and get an almost euphoric high when I receive a newly published book from my publisher. I currently live in sunny Florida, far from the Northeast where I grew up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.