Geeks logo

Why Snake Eyes GI Joe Origins Left Me Wanting A Bayonetta Film More Than Anything Else..

Why The Cast of Snake Eyes GI Joe Origins Makes Way For The Perfect Bayonetta Live Action Film.

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ok I went into Snake Eyes Gi Joe origins not knowing what to expect. On one hand the trailer looked awesome, a throw back to over the top kung fu action flicks, but something of this level could easily fall off the rails. Lucky for me it delivered and I left the theatre pumped and intrigued . The strange thing was that while I really enjoyed the film and anticipate a sequel could be just as entertaining, I became even more excited and pumped about another possibility.

The moment the Baroness played by Spanish actress Úrsula Corderò came on-screen I thought to myself OMG that’s Bayonetta. She had it all, a near identical look and the attitude to boot. There is no doubt in my mind that she would be able to kill it as the Witch turned angel Hunter. Now I don’t know how a director would go about handling the over the top action and effects in Bayonetta but I’m sure it could be done.

The more I watched Snake Eyes and started visualizing my dream casting for a Bayonetta film I realized that there is another perfect 1:1 cast member in Snake Eyes as well. If your a true fan of the PlatinumGames classic than you might already know where I’m going with this, but Peter Mensah who played The Blind Master would also make a perfect sunglass wielding Rodin. Sub the eyes for glasses and you had him and Bayonetta side by side and it would be amazing. Heck why stop there Samara Weaving could even probably pull off Jeanne the witches rival, although for some reason I’m can see Lady Gaga reaching back into her dark American horror days and totally nailing this role also.

Now that’s just three you say and to that I say yes the three main characters, but why stop there Enzo and Redgrave would be easy enough to fill. I mean I think I’d give Burt Young who plays Paulie Pennino in the Rocky and Creed movies a shot at Enzo, he has the size and quirky demeanor. If not yes Danny Devito could work, or perhaps Joe Pesci, but it might be hard to look past some of his past his previously vicious mobster roles, I mean who can get past “You think I’m funny, funny how like a clown.” So for Enzo Burt might be the safe way to go.

That just leaves Redgrave who is the hardest role for me to fill. After just watching the Jungle Cruise I wonder if the actor behind Edgar Ramirez could pull it off. Still better yet I might have to agree with fans on this who say Tom Hardy is the way to go.

Either way the rest of the cast will be trivial. After seeing Corderò and Mensah together on screen I’m completely sold that they could easily pull off a Bayonetta film. There wasn’t a moment that I was watching the Baroness and not thinking to myself wow it’s Bayonetta in the flesh, and after her strong showing as the Baroness I can only wonder what she would do with the character. So there you have it movie Gods or some producer out there and heed my call. I know it would be challenging, and I know there was already the animated film in 2013 but that’s not the same. We need a live action movie even if they have to tone down and rework some or platinumgames over the top antics and put together something a little more dark and serious. Something akin to what was done with Constantine. Speaking of Constantine I wonder what Keanu could do as Redgrave that would be something but I’m going to far down the rabbit hole now, and it’s endless. For now I just need Hollywood or maybe Netflix to heed my call and produce a live action Bayonetta movie staring Úrsula Corderò ASAP.

gaming
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.