Geeks logo

Why Queer Eye stopped me from feeling lonely during lockdown

(and how they can help you too)

By Jennifer FullerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Fab Five: Jonathan, Karamo, Bobby, Tan and Antoni

Over a long, cold lockdown Christmas last year I made a discovery that would cheer me up and make me laugh countless times. It was an unexpected find as I was scrolling through Netflix one evening, as you do, having no idea what to watch but needing something humorous to ease a long day of home schooling and work.

I came across an image of a man with long brown hair, a handlebar moustache and a beard looking like he was having lots of fun. I flicked it on and so began my love affair with Queer Eye.

The first episode introduced me to Tan, Jonathan, Antoni, Karamo and Bobby; 5 beautiful, outgoing guys sharing a car on their way to give a makeover. There is an easy, funny dynamic between them which instantly relaxed me. They share jokes, wind each other up, and tell the story of the person they're on their way to help.

What is striking is that they each have a place within the group which means they don't compete with each other. Instead, when one of them broke out into a spontaneous song (Jonathan), got elbowed in the middle seat (Antoni) or did a driving seat dance (Karamo) they had nothing but acceptance of each other and brotherly humour.

It stopped me from feeling lonely because I could relate to it. It connected me to the fun times I've had with my friends and reminded me of the life-affirming buzz you get from genuine human connection. We all need it although it has come to be more absent in a world where we've been shut in our homes for months on end.

So much time is spent on a computer, on social media or in virtual meetings. Sometimes this can help to connect with people, but it's not the same as real-life interaction. We all need our own Fab Five to accept and support us and share the ups and downs.

Style and substance

Acceptance of yourself and others is a central theme for Queer Eye. The show supports 'hero's' who are individuals in need of help to become their best self. In one episode, the hero is a gay priest struggling to find his place in the church and community. The Fab Five supported him one step at a time in his style, hair, emotions, living space and cooking skills. They helped him to find what worked and showed him how to bring it out. His makeover changed how he viewed himself as a person and he thrived.

Jonathan Van Ness - a masterclass in owning yourself

In series 4, Jonathan returns to his former high school to makeover his music teacher. He is emotional about returning because he was bullied there for being gay. Despite now being super successful and comfortable in himself, he shows a vulnerable side which is endearing.

There is a touching moment when Antoni says how much he loves Jonathan and would do anything for him. Jonathan is a stand out character within the group with his flamboyance and eccentricity; he is brilliant to watch because he is unashamedly himself.

All five of them embrace who they are and their sexuality which they own and celebrate; helping others to do the same. They break down preconceptions and prejudices held by some of their hero's by being comfortable in their own skin. Their camaraderie and joy together is infectious and it warmed me from my head to my toes. It is genuine friendship, care and kindness for others and is great to watch.

Queer Eye Series 6 is currently being filmed and with Emmy awards up their sleeves, it shows no signs of abating. Fingers crossed they make a trip across the pond one day to film in the UK. In the meantime, I intend to embrace the lifting of restrictions and go out and celebrate with my friends, remembering to accept them more for who they are, and also myself with all my quirks and nuances.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Fuller

I love books and I love finding out about people. So stories about people are my favourite things to read!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.