Geeks logo

Why #NengiVsErica Is Currently The Number One Trend in Nigeria

What's going on.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Even though the Big Brother Naija Season 5 season ended last year, the contestants that came out of that show are still constantly in the media, the news, the forums, social media, and today, two of the most beloved and most popular housemates from that season are now trending together.

I was minding my business scrolling through Twitter when I noticed that the number 1 trend on the trends table was “NengiVsErica2morrow”.

Immediately, the first thing that my mind thought was that it was finally happening – Erica and Nengi were getting into a WWE ring and wrestling it out. But then of course, my mind calmed down. There is no way that is happening and that wouldn’t be a bigger deal.

So, I decided to go in search of why exactly this random hashtag is all of a sudden the number 1 trending topic in all of Nigeria. I’m happy to report that I’ve found the reason and here’s why!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Contrary to what I thought, there would be no punches getting exchanged tomorrow. The reason that the hashtag #NengiVsErica2morrow is trending is because on Saturday, the 23rd of April, 2021, the Gage Awards will be happening.

Why is this relevant to this story you ask?

Well, according to the description on their website:

The GAGE Awards is a comprehensive celebration of individuals and brands who have leveraged the power of the internet to make life easier and simpler. The GAGE Awards has been created to facilitate growth, drive innovation and attract new talent to the digital space.”

Basically, it is an award ceremony that awards digital stuff. There are categories including Podcast of the Year, Best Digital Financial Platform, Banking App of The Year, Breakout App of The Year, and why it’s relevant for today’s story is that there is a category for:

Online Influencer of the Year.

The nominees this year for the Gage Awards 2021 Online Influencer of the Year are: Pamilerin, Nengi Hampson, Aisha Yusuf, Erica Nlewedim, and Tomike Adeoye.

Because Nengi and Erica are both nominated for the same category, that’s why the hashtag is trending.

As you can imagine, Nigerians feel a lot of different ways about it. Some people have already picked their camps – Camp Erica or Camp Nengi. While some others simply do not care.

One Twitter user said:

This Is a very big disrespect to Erica. Wtf is #NengiVsErica2morrow you don’t put Erica in the same bag as Nengi. Erica is way ahead. You can’t compare. Jenny’s glow to Kuda Bank. Stupid award imo

I really can not wait for #NengiVsErica2morrow at the Gage Awards it’s going to be so competitive

While another user said:

With so much endorsement for both of them who will stand out #NengiVsErica2morrow during the gage award omo na battle of endorsements ooo

Well, I guess we’ll watch and see who ultimately takes home the award. Both women are doing phenomenally and I don’t really think either of them will be really hurt if they lost. But in the spirit of healthy competition and tatafo, I guess we’ll watch and see who takes home Online Influencer of the Year. Watch it be Aisha Yesufu 😂

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.