Geeks logo

Why I Was Blacklisted From Nollywood - Adunni Ade

Adunni speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

This blacklisting of a thing is really becoming like 5 and 6 in this Nollywood industry. Even though a lot of the stories we're hearing about now happened a while ago, some of them like the one we'll be hearing from Nigerian actress Adunni Ade today, actually happened quite recently.

The beloved actress in a new interview with TVC opened up about being blacklisted by English Nollywood. Here's what Adunni said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adunni Ade on TVC

During her time on TVC, Adunni was asked "You talked about this on your Instagram page about the English-speaking Nollywood industry blacklisting you, what's that all about?"

To which Adunni responded:

I just felt like I wasn't getting called for whatever reason. This industry is so big, it's so large. At a point where my career should have taken a different direction going upwards after receiving this huge recognition as 'Best Supporting Actress' in Africa, everything just went down the hill. I heard stories here and there supposedly what it is that I had done. You have to understand I try not to focus on negativity too much. In every aspect of our workspace, our work life, whatever career you want to choose to be in, you always have issues. We all encounter so many issues if it's tribalism, racism, whatever the case may be. Maye your colleague doesn't like you, he goes and tells the boss lies. So it was so much of that and that affected me because people didn't even give me a chance to get to know me one on one. You're judging based on what you've heard and that's not cool. So rather than keep waiting, before I get old and grey, I said I'll put all my money, all my savings, into something magical and I promise Soole is that.

Soole by the way is the new movie produced by Adunni Ade which stars Sola Sobowale, Femi Jacobs and a host of other actors and actresses. The movie opens in Nigerian cinemas on Friday and I'm not gonna lie, the trailer looks kinda bomb so I'm going to be checking it out in cinema.

Back to the topic of blacklisting, this isn't the first time Adunni Ade is talking about her getting blacklisted. Earlier this year, during an interview with Chude, Adunni said about it:

I feel, I might be wrong, that I was outcasted out of the English [industry] I won't say 100 percent but I have had jobs taken away from me, colleagues who have now become big names yank my name off or make lies to producers and EPs on reasons why they should not give me a job.

Deals, endorsements have been yanked off my feet because they don't know me or they don't like me or I am not their person because they would rather put someone that they are cool with who would give them a cut than me who truly deserves it

All this kin blacklisting wahala, nawa o! Well, hopefully Adunni's story is the last one we'll hear in a while about this. Hopefully peace continues to reign in that industry and these filmmakers just continue to do the work we all pay them to do which is entertain and bring joy to the nation. I'll definitely be checking out Soole when it comes out, let me know if you will be too by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.