Geeks logo

Why I Insulted a Fan in the Airport - Realwarripikin

"They keep expecting me to be on, and that is not realistic."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Anita Alaire Afoke Asuoha popularly known to many as simply RealWarriPikin is by far one of the biggest, funniest, and most sought after comediennes in the Nigerian entertainment industry. In addition to being a comedienne, RealWarriPikin is also an actress, content creator, and all around entertainer.

While her face is very popular and her energy in her skits and on stage is always high, fun, and bubbly, it doesn't mean that she isn't still a human being with complex ever-changing emotions. One thing about being famous is that people feel they can walk up to you anywhere they see you and request something for you - conversation, a picture, an autograph, etc. While sometimes one is in the mood, other times they are not.

In a new interview with Genevieve Magazine, RealWarriPikin opens up about her run-in with a very rude fan in the airport. While RealWarriPikin has met with a lot of other fans in the airport and had pleasant experiences with them that have been shared publicly online like below...

RealWarriPikin with fan in airport
RealWarriPikin with another fan in airport

...the woman in the interview RealWarriPikin talks about was not like these pleasant fans. Things between RealWarriPikin and this particular fan got so bad that they ended up exchanging insults.

Here's what RealWarriPikin said about the incident.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

When asked by Genevieve Magazine, "Do you have moments where you are overwhelmed by the lack of privacy, and what gets you through those moments?", Real Warri Pikin responded saying:

I will give you an incident. I went to Lagos last week for an event by IK Osakioduwa. I was one of the comedians contacted to perform, mine was to be the last one on Monday. I got to Lagos on Sunday, and on Monday I got backstage and I could not perform, I broke down. I was rushed to a private hospital and I was on admission for three days. What I went to do in Lagos, I could not do it, so when I was at the airport going back home, I was sad, I was regretting making the trip, my husband was worried, my kids wanted to talk to me, I had not rested after my show, my mind was just heavy with thoughts. Dealing with all that in the airport, this girl walks up to me and is being completely insensitive, and emotionally unintelligent and she goes, ‘laugh now’. I told her off. She saw my countenance and though I snapped a picture with her, I told her I would not [laugh]. I would not fake a smile. She insults me and I insult her back.

Even before this incident there was a time I had to cease the phone of a fan. Before I became Real Warri Pikin, I have been a fan of celebrities. There was a time I saw Tiwa Savage at the airport but when I studied her countenance I knew she was not up for engagement so I just waved from where I was. I do understand that these people love me, but people need to understand we are human beings, if you see me out there [being] quiet, just allow me. Another thing is people want me to always have that energy they see in my videos, so they do not appreciate when I just wave or smile, no they want me to jump and laugh and I am not that person. They keep expecting me to be on, and that is not realistic.

Wow, some people really forget that celebrities are real people too. RealWarriPikin is not the only one that has gone through this, if you want to see more of such stories like this, check out this post I made - you'll really enjoy it.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.