Geeks logo

'Why do they have to be gay?'

LGBT+ in Literature and Media

By Jaz NievesPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
2017 NYC Pride Parade

Every day, I work tirelessly on my writing, whether that means jotting down ideas that sprung upon me during class, talking to myself loudly and animatedly about characters and major plot points in public and in private, staring into empty space as my mind plays over scenes to be created, or actually sitting down in front of my laptop and “writing like I’m running out of time,” to quote a beautiful piece of theater.

Something I spend most of my time on is the characters. When I watch movies, TV shows, or read books, it’s the characters that draw me in; not the plot or the action or the clever writing. It’s the people I’m reading about, empathizing with, cheering for, crying over, and relating to. I laugh with the characters and love them like dear friends. So in my writing, I take extra care with the characters I create, putting a piece of myself, my loved ones, and even my enemies into them, molding them to the image of human beings that love and walk and live like they do in the real world.

And in the real world, there exists gays. Shocker, I know.

Lesbians. Bisexuals. Pansexuals, Asexuals, Demisexuals, all the colors and hues of every conceivable sexual orientation and identity that are out there in the world.

So why is it so surprising that I’d write my characters to be these different, amazing, beautiful hues that differ from the all too prominent shade “heterosexual?”

“Why do they have to be gay?”

I’ve heard this complaint made too many times. Whether I’m watching TV with someone and one of the side characters is revealed to be interested in someone of the same gender, whether I’m explaining one of my own characters and stories to someone, I hear this same complaint, to which I reply, “Why not?”

But it does pose an interesting question. Why DO I write gay characters? I myself identify as bisexual, and as I explained before, I enjoy putting myself into my characters. So am I only making my characters interested in the same gender because I also am interested in the same gender? Am I just creating a mirror for myself to watch as I explore all these different adventures in my worlds, enjoying my eternal bisexuality within the pages of my stories?

No, it can’t be that simple, that selfish. There’s got to be more to it.

In media—TV shows, movies, literature—there’s a serious lack of representation that has become increasingly apparent to the LGBT+ community. I only know of one TV show, How to Get Away With Murder, where the main character is confirmed on screen to be attracted and romantically involved with both a man and woman at some point—it’s also an added bonus that this character is a female person of color! But that’s one instance that I know of in a sea of content. The only other times I see representation is in the side or background characters, or around the cliché tropes where the person’s sexual orientation is the focal point of the plot and of their character, rather than just a flavor to the whole of their being.

Isn’t that what sexuality is; just a piece of the whole puzzle? I’m not just a bisexual. I’m a woman, an American, a Puerto Rican, a writer, a student, a daughter, a sister, a fangirl; I’m shy, I’m loud, I’m self-conscious, I’m selfish, I’m short. All these are pieces, along with my preference in romantic partners. Why then, if I am real and here, is there a lack of characters with as much depth and complexity represented in the media, showing that someone as complex and interesting as me or you can be the main character, while also being bisexual? Why can’t I look at a character that hasn’t been confirmed either straight or gay in the canon and believe they are in love with someone of the same gender? What’s so wrong with wanting gay characters in the stories I love to watch and live to create?

But it isn't just about having that representation. It's about having the focal character of these books, or movies, or tv shows be gay or transgender, or bisexual, while also not having to justify why this character is this way. There doesn't need to be a thematic reason for the female lead to have a crush on another girl. There shouldn't have to be a plot point, or even a big stunning reveal where the real twist of the movie was that the hero was gay all along. In order for real representation to exist, we need characters that are strong, gay, brave, flawed and sympathetic-- we need humans that show being gay isn't the only interesting thing about them. If there's no big reveal that Thor is straight, then there shouldn't be such a fanfare if we find out a character is gay. Normalization is key.

This is why I write—to create characters people like me can love and look up to; can laugh and cry with; can relate to and learn from. There’s too many children and adults, males and females and anything in between, bisexuals, pansexuals and all flavors and hues, aching for more characters to be like them. More strong females, more sensitive males, more people of color with meaningful stories, more bisexuals falling in love. We need more identity. We need more representation. And why should I patiently twiddle my thumbs waiting for that perfect story or movie to come along with my perfect character? Why can’t I just create them myself; why can’t I paint characters of the most beautiful hues and shades, with the deepest complexity and variation, with heart and flaws and dreams and struggles and desires just like mine. Just like yours.

I write to explain the world around me. I write to express myself, who I am, who my family is, who my friends are. I will write all the gay characters I want, because gay characters are just as important and just as beautiful, and need to finally start taking the spotlight.

(Previously published in Bi Woman Quarterly Magazine)

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Jaz Nieves

A lover of words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.