Geeks logo

Why Anime Is Important

Anime Saved Me From Me

By NitraBPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

I've had this on my mind lately because I am so tired of people underestimating anime. Yeah Teen titans or The Boondocks are an animation but anime is apart of storytelling. Behind every anime there is a story. Not only that but there are people who are getting into anime just to ship characters, yeah the characters are cute but do you really know the story behind the anime. Do you really know it for what it is. If you really want to get into anime I highly recommend starting off with Soul Eater, Fairy Tail, or Naruto. Those are the animes I started off with that got me into watching anime.

Now I think that is enough small talk, lets get into why anime is important Believe it!

IMAGINATION

Not a lot of people realize this but let us use Pokemon for an example. Do you know how crazy your imagination has to be to come up with an anime about little animals that you trap in a ball, and on top of that to give it such amazingly cool names? I honestly did not know I had such an imagination until I started watching anime. I honestly did not know how big my imagination was until then.

AMAZING ART

Anime is like a form of art. How many times have you seen a cartoon and the animation is just subtle or kind of bland? Anime is different, the animation is just so beautiful and not only that but when you compare a lot of its scenes to Japan it looks exactly alike. it is soooo pretty.

STORYTELLING

Now here is where I go deep.

One of my favorite animes of all time would have to be Naruto, and I say this because that's the biggest story of all. When you look at Naruto it is about a boy who village hates him because of a demon that got sealed inside of him that destroyed the village and killed some of its people. No one believes in him and everyone just wants him gone.

When you take deep look into it's really about a boy who wants to be accepted by everyone, he wants to be able to prove people wrong. who wants people to understand that hey I am not monster I am just a human being, I did not ask for this, I'm not the one that destroyed the village. It's really about finding your own destiny, believing in yourself, and sticking up for what is right.

Remember the scene when Naruto, Kakashi, Sakura, Might Guy and his team went out to go save Gaara who was kidnapped by the akatsuki? Remember when Naruto finally got to Gaara, Gaara was basically gone, he was dead. Prepare yourself this was his words

"But why? Why is it always Gaara? If all you sand shinobi hadn't put a monster inside of Gaara then none of this would have ever happened to him. Did you even consider how Gaara felt? Did you ever even ask? Calling us jinchūriki, What gives you the right to label us? Who are you to decide someone else's fate".

As you can see I highlighted the words who are you to decide someone else's fate and the reason why is because I feel like that is how it is today. FOr example lets say college. You have parents out here forcing people to go to college to major in whatever it the parents want you to major in not even giving the child the chance to choose for themselves. I feel like I had to learn that myself. You cannot decide ones fate and if you do and it works out so be it but deep down inside what does the child really want?

THE BONDS

You would be surprised to how easily it is to bond with people who watch anime just like you. Imagine meeting a complete stranger and you both just end up talking for hours about the animes you loved or recently watched. For example I went on a cruise back in march and as the cruise ended and we were going through security. I was at the security desk and the security there saw my Tokyo Ghoul shirt and he was like Kakashi is my favorite. I kid you not we were there for like 5 minutes talking about anime.

Character Development

Lets us be real the character development is amazing. you'd actually think these characters were real that's how crazy it is. When you see these characters backstory it hits you in the feels especially if its a sad backstory. it makes you really understand the character. For example again with naruto at first I thought he was snotty nose lil brat but then I saw his backstory and im like ok he just wants to be accepted and then I see Itachi uchiha and Im thinking ok he's a backstabber who betrayed his village not knowing later on in the show he never betrayed the village all along he has been undercover working in the shadows labeled as a criminal and no one ever knew but the hokage.

ESCAPING

You honestly feel like you are in a different world when you watch anime, that is how absorbed you be. DO not get me wrong I am all for living in the moment and what is around you but sometimes you need to escape from reality give your mind a mental break and anime does just that.

THE CULTURE OF JAPAN

Anime gives you an insight of Japanese culture. When you see these places in anime they are based off some of the places in japan and that is why some people who watch anime want to visit Japan and eat the foods and learn the language and experience the culture.

ANIME SAVED ME FROM ME!

I get a lot of questions as to how anime helped me. To be perfectly honest I was very depressed and I had just got through being sick so I was at my lowest point in life and anime helped me figure things out with my life. For starters it helped me find comfort when I did not have that around me.

Anime also helped me figure out who I am as a person. What I mean by that is it helped me become who I am today. Before I was just living life according to other peoples wishes and beliefs instead living according to myself.

Anime helped me to understand what real friendship is and what it means to be there for people. It helped me to become much more confident in myself and to not be scared of things that I do not know.

It helped me to understand that it is ok to be who I truly am. Some may sit there and say you're going way too deep into anime and that is perfectly find at least I know the messages behind every anime and the things they are trying to teaching us.

Look around everyone is starting to get on the anime train because at the moment its a fad and you know what hey do you but to me it is more than just that its everything to me and without it there is no creativity.

entertainment
1

About the Creator

NitraB

I’m just a Girl with a vision with stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.