Geeks logo

Wheel of Time Review

Season 1 Spoiler Review.

By Chad RhoadsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Now that season one has completed, I feel like it’s time to share my thoughts on Wheel of Time. Before I begin, I would like to point out that I have not read the books. Although, I don’t tend to worry about the differences even if I do read the book because I know there’s a lot that doesn’t translate well to film, or things in the book that don’t feel complete or fleshed out. Authors are human after all, and they do make mistakes. I also accept that film makers are artists themselves and want to make their adaptions their own. So, for these reasons, I don’t worry about changes.

Jurassic Park is one such movie that was a masterpiece, even though the movie is quite different from the book. I loved the book, but the movie is my favorite movie of all time.

I only have a couple complaints about the series. Overall, I really enjoyed it, but these issues do bother me.

The first issue I had with it is that it moves too quickly. There is no time to explore the different cultures, characters, or the world itself. The only group I felt were explored somewhat are the Warders. The episode with the funeral explored the relationship the Warder has with their Aes Sedai, and that was amazing. I wanted to see more of this. Instead, we get six episodes where things are jumping from one plot to the next and no time to really breathe. The pacing was too fast. Maybe it is because there were only six episodes, so they felt they had to move the story along to get to a point where they could have some kind of completion in case a second season wasn’t approved. However, I would rather view what the world has to offer than to have some sort of completion.

My second issue kind of ties in with the first and is a huge problem in film where there are powerful characters. Their powers don’t feel earned. They weren’t taught how to utilize their powers or how to control them. Egwene showed very little skill in being able to channel and wasn’t able to channel when she was captured by the Children of the Light. I do get that when she was able to showcase her power, it was under high emotions. That reasoning doesn’t work with Rand though, who went from not even understanding what being the Dragon meant to being in control. The powers felt too convenient to me. Again, that may be because there were only six episodes, but, with fantasy, you have to spend the time.

Fantasy worlds are unique, and you have to spend time to explore them. The Lord of the Rings movies did this by showing them and spending time in these places. The Elves were alien in comparison to the Hobbits and the humans. The Dwarven mines of Moria were vast, and you could tell the Dwarves lived there for a very long time. Each location was unique, so they didn’t have to spend time exploring cultures. This is where I feel like many fantasy movies and series fail. One location is nearly identical to the previous.

That being said, I did enjoy the series though. The production quality was top notch, and the characters were fleshed out very well. I know Perrin was changed from the book, but I feel it added a depth to his character. Moiraine was complex although was an ass most of the time, you understood her concern was for the world and she was focused. Rand was probably my least favorite, though I understand. He was bouncing around emotionally, not sure what to do.

I am honestly looking forward to season two and hope that now that the first battle has happened, that they slow

review
Like

About the Creator

Chad Rhoads

My primary genres are fantasy and sci-fi. I love coming up with new worlds and new things within that make it interesting. My stories tend to be more character driven as I find how the brain works fascinating.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.