Geeks logo

What I Will be Watching Spring 2020

A list of shows that I will be watching this anime season.

By BoblobV2Published 4 years ago 3 min read

The following is a list of anime that I will be watching through the spring season, and brief reasons as to why these particular anime.

TAMAYOMI: The Baseball Girls

Studio A-CAT

Funimation

For the past ten years the quality of the sports anime that has been produced, continued to grow in terms of quality. The likes of Haikyuu! Is at the, in my opinion the pinnacle of the sports anime genre. As such curiosity has drawn me to this particular show. It is on one hand about baseball, I gave Ace of Diamonds a fair shot before growing bored of it, and so I am looking to replace it with another baseball anime. The second draw for me is the fact that this is about a girls team. The main reason I am looking forward to this is because, not the plentiful fanservice I am sure this show would have, but the fact that this is a sports anime with girls front and centre. The only other sports show that I watched with a wholly female roster, that I enjoyed, is Hanebado! The sports anime genre is sorely starved for female protagonists and I hope this would fill that void.

Tower of God

Telecom Animation Film

Crunchyroll

This is a manhwa that I have been seeing all over the internet whenever I go on to have a look at the new manga and anime that are coming out. This is a show that has grabbed my curiosity purely out of the fact that there is a large fanbase out there for the material, combined with the fact that I have no idea what it is about. This is a curiosity entry and I am hoping for a good show.

Listeners

MAPPA

Funimation

I cannot think of a single show or film that MAPPA has released that I have not liked. Their track record of producing good content, is the main reason why this show is on the list. The remainder of which is because from the picture, I gather that it has something to do with music, and I am always up for a good music anime. This is a show that has my attention due to the pedigree behind it.

Wave, Listen to Me!

Sunrise

Funimation

A show with mature characters, revolving around music. How could I say no? The fact that this is also produced by studio Sunrise intrigues me. As I stated earlier, I am always looking forward to a good music based anime.

Fruits Basket 2nd Season

TMS Entertainment

Crunchyroll

I thoroughly enjoyed season one and have been looking forward to season two since.

BNA

Tigger

Netflix

Yet again my series focused frustration with Netflix arises. It was only through sheer luck that I was looking at Netflix for Castlevania did I see Beastars has been released on the platform. A show that I was very much looking forward to, more on this show in a future piece, that I had completely forgotten about because of the illogical way in which Netflix releases their seasonal anime. I have no issue if it is a Netflix original like B the Beginning, but a weekly release? I was incredibly excited to see this new Trigger anime, because its f****** Trigger, thought finding that it is on Netflix has significantly deflated my excitement for the show.

The Millionaire Detective – Balance: UNLIMITED

CloverWorks

Funimation

To follow on from a line of anime that I have put on this list as a result of the studio behind it, the studio behind The Promised Neverland will always get my interest. Combined with a near Sherlock-esque story makes things quite intriguing. Always up for crime anime.

Appare-Ranman!

P.A. Works

Funimation

This show attracted me from its ambitious visual style, the colourful flair, and the fantastical nature of the setting, and finding that it is produced by P.A. Works only furthers my excitement that much more towards the show.

Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma: The Fifth Plate

J.C.Staff

Crunchyroll

This is not a show that I would consider good, by any stretch of the imagination. That being said, this is also a show that never fails to satisfy me. Whether it be from the gratuitous fanservice or from the glorious renderings of the food that is presented within the show.

Kaguya-sama: Love is War 2nd Season

A-1 Pictures

Funimation

The first season of this show was one of the highlights of the season it came out in, making me laugh till I had cramps, while giving us the fantastic one shot dance segment. I am curious as to how the narrative would continue and rom com’s will always gain my attention.

Woodpecker Detective's Office

LIDEN FILMS

Crunchyroll

A curious crime anime that is also a period piece, two aspects that I find near irresistible, and seeing them combined piques my interest all the more.

entertainment

About the Creator

BoblobV2

Writing about anime, and anything else I find interesting.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BoblobV2Written by BoblobV2

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.