Geeks logo

What Happened to Anakin's Hand?

I Need Answers

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
What Happened to Anakin's Hand?
Photo by TOMMY VAN KESSEL on Unsplash

Star Wars fandom forgive me in advance if I am not as well versed in the lore, and someone else has covered this subject. I read many of the extended universe books that came out in the 90s and early 2000s, but since entering the workforce, they have slipped out of my library.

What happened to Anakin's hand? I have been trying to find this out for the last week while ignoring that I should be writing my story for The Fantasy Prologue. I have scoured the internet. Watched way too many Star Wars breakdowns, and extended universe videos to no avail. And I am still left with the same question. What happened to Anakin's hand after Count Dooku cut it off on Geonosis?

I’m pretty sure I am not the only one that has wondered about this. After all, it would only seem logical that George Lucas would have some plan for what happened to Anakin’s arm after the duel. Perhaps, we have lost this detail as episodes seven through nine have warped Lucas's original vision. We may never know.

However, I do have some speculative storylines that would have made or would make a great story around this surely coveted item.

The first storyline that would have made for an interesting direction for the Star Wars universe to go in would be if someone collected Anakin’s hand, and turned it into the Kaminoans. From there we have one of two possibilities.

The first would be to have a storyline that saw the Kaminoans clone Anakin from his severed arm. It would be interesting to see if the clone had the same midi-chlorian count as the original. If he did, it would call into question if the original Anakin was truly the Chosen One. Or if there is a possibility for the chosen one to be a personality trait, rather than based on one’s force sensitivity.

It would also be interesting to watch how an Anakin would be raised without the influence of the Jedi or Sith. Whether the Kaminoans would raise him back on Tatooine after deciding it was best to send him to his homeworld, raised by the Kaminoans on Kamino, or somewhere else in the Galactic Empire. All would be fascinating stories to see unfold in the Star Wars universe.

The second storyline I could see developing would be if his hand became a religious relic. I could very well see this happening with a sect of self-trained Sith. I could see this happening, as we have such objects in the real world.

Yes, I realize that self-trained Sith is the premise of Kylo Ren and the Knights of Ren, but I imagine this being more in line with the Guardians of the Whills. This would be a fascinating story as Anakin’s severed arm would be his last remaining connection to the physical world through his body. But also, as real-world religious objects often do, it would become an object of which a new Sith empire could rally around, rather than them rallying around the crazed grandson of Anakin Skywalker.

Additionally, I could see Force-sensitive beings using this as a way for them to realize they are Force-sensitive. Whether it was a placebo effect or a catalyst for them to believe in themselves. With believing in oneself as being the central tenet of the Sith, I could very well see this being a large galaxy-wide religious movement, as this would be a low barrier of entry. Furthermore, this is more in line with the Sith Empire, as it would negate the rule of two set by Darth Bane.

Well, thank you for listening to my nonsense theories and speculation of what happened to Anakin's hand. Let me know if you know what happened to it. Or what you think should have happened to it.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Twitter @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

movie
6

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jason Ray Morton 2 years ago

    I thought Dooku cut it off in attack of the clones.

  • We do get easily distracted, but this is an excellent and entertaining piece .

  • Madoka Mori2 years ago

    Cooked and eaten by Ewoks. In my headcanon Ewoks are a depraved culture of spacefaring cannibal-gourmands.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.