Geeks logo

What Fulfills Me

Most passionate about no one subject

By Rick RiffelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Born to brush

This is a good question. The answer is something. I'm not quite sure, but it is not any one single subject. I have a whole bunch of interests. One of them is writing.

I would like to write the kinds of stuff people might like to read and follow. Stories, essays, poems. I want to write, and I want to share what I write.

I also want to get the hang of this system on Vocal. I haven't gotten to 600 words yet, this is not ready to submit. Let's see what I can do with 5 hours left. This is a spur of the moment.

Fiction. Science fiction. Fantasy. Adventure. Novels. Novellas. Short stories. Flash fiction. Fan fiction. This newfangled thing called "LitRPG". I could call it "Game Fiction". Scripts for plays. Scripts for movies. Scripts for television series and streaming series. Comic books. Graphic novels.

Non-fiction. Writings on the subjects of science fiction, fantasy, fan fiction and game fiction. Writings on movies, TV series, and plays. I am interested in reviewing and analyzing various works in various media.

I have a couple of non-fiction titles in mind. "The Science and Magic of Star Trek the Original Series", my own take on the pop-culture phenomenon, and a look at a scientific angle no one else had considered. And "Chanson Macabre", sort of my own follow-up to Stephen King's Danse Macabre, which would be a survey of the horror genre in multiple media since 1980. I would not mind having support with the writing of these two future books.

Non-fiction on our real world as well. Solutions to problems, instead of excuses and blaming. A good start is for people to reach out to people, communicate and share their ideas. The next thing is to come up with better ideas to share. New ideas. The old ideas don't seem to work so well anymore, by the looks of what shape America is in now. As the saying goes, to do the same thing over and over in hope of a different and better result, is the definition of insanity.

I don't want to preach. I want to create. To create works that may but not always have a message. Works to be enjoyed regardless of the message. I often enjoy the works of many other creators. I read books, watch movies, listen to music, and play different kinds of games. I learn things from them. I get inspired by them. I want to create works like the other artists create. I do not want to copy anyone or anything.

Less than half an hour to go, and I'm not yet at the 600-word mark. I'm usually good at posting in comment threads on various discussion boards. This was a nasty, time-wasting habit of mine, and I just broke myself of it. But my tendency is to be very wordy and long-winded. I managed to enter a story in another Vocal challenge. I was surprised to find how quickly I could write a short story, and surprised to find out how short I could make the story, and how easy for me it was. Not quite as easy this time. Fill the quota, and try to do so while not rambling about too widely.

I am taking a wild guess at this, but my one greatest passion or fulfillment would be a fiction novel of my own, one that could be adapted into a graphic novel, a movie, and maybe a video game and a tabletop role-playing game. Something like A Game of Thrones comes to mind, but our world already has one, and one of those is enough. I'd rather have something a little more pleasant to wade through than the "grimdark" style. Something more fresh and new.

We could use a word-counter on this website. I counted 50 lines, that's got to add up to the minimum word-count for this challenge. I just might be good at finishing ahead of a deadline.

Nine minutes to go. I'm done.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.