Geeks logo

Werewolf

Ch-29

By Katie HammerbeckPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Faelan took a deep breath and slowly exhaled, trying to gather the nerve to knock on the door to Carina’s guest room. The princess had finally calmed down enough to allow him to help her, thanks to Klara. Though she was willing to trust him, she still refused to leave the spare room in his house, making it even more difficult for the young wolf not to think about her.

Clutching the ceramic jar he tried not to remember what he saw. He had to control himself. He’d always heard that the princess was beautiful, but never thought he would meet her let alone see a lot more of her than most had.

“Pull yourself together!” He growled to himself. Without hesitation he pounded on the door harder than he’d meant to and waited anxiously for her to answer.

“Faelan, is that you?” Carina called.

“Y-yes…. Your highness.” He grimaced at the stutter in his voice. She giggled slightly and it made blood rush to his face.

“Are you going to come in?” Faelan opened the door and the breath was stolen from his lungs. Carina sat looking out the window, the faint sunlight making her golden hair glow and her pale skin almost shine.

“I…I have a way to heal you…that should make you more comfortable.” He held out the jar and Carina looked at it with confusion.

“A jar?”

“No…It… There’s a cream and i-it has my saliva in it.” He groaned and pinched the bridge of his nose. “Klara thought this would be easier for you, than how I usually heal others.”

“That’s very sweet, thank you.” She whispered. When he didn’t move she added, “You may proceed, Faelan.” Sitting down, he opened the jar and dipped his fingers into the bright orange cream, then gently spread it over the wounds on her arm. Carina sighed with relief but remained silent otherwise, trying not to make him uncomfortable.

“You used marigolds, didn’t you?” she asked softly, extending her other arm. Faelan nodded. “Are they from your home land?”

“I had some seeds, yes. Klara used her magic to make them bloom.” He tried hard not to lose focus, but just touching her soft skin was making everything in him come alive. “Is there anywhere you want me to heal first?” Carina drew back quickly, hugging her knees in terror.

“I won’t touch you where you don’t want me to.” Faelan assured. Carina hesitated, her hand going to her right hip. After a moment she bit her lip then lifted her skirt and the sight made Faelan’s heart break. There were claw marks with large ugly bruises all along her hips and thighs, a sure sign that Gerrick had forced himself on her.

“Did... did Gerrick..?” he tried to ask but stopped when she nodded sadly, tears flooding down her round cheeks.

“I’m so sorry.” He choked. Her large emerald eyes were so full of fear and agony, he didn’t know what to do. “I’m, afraid the cream only works if I apply it…but…” Carina took his hand and whispered.

“It’s alright, I trust you.” The young wolf looked her in the eyes, seeing she meant her word. Nodding, Faelan gingerly started applying the lotion to her wounds, asking each time if she was alright. Carina would nod and the wolf would be as quick as he could with each application. As he applied the lotion, Faelan felt his spirits brighten when the princess started to brighten and relax. Then she turned slightly and pulled her hair away, revealing her slender neck and upper back. Faelan swallowed heavily, hoping she didn’t hear his heart pound against his chest like a battering ram. The lotion wasn’t quite strong enough to heal the wings completely, but it was better than nothing.

“It’s not as strong this way.” He muttered. “I’m sorry.”

“It’s not your fault.” Carina replied earnestly. “I appreciate that you’re trying to help me this way.” He seemed genuinely surprised by this and she asked, “Is everything alright?”

“I…yes!” Faelan shuffled slightly. “I just…normally you’re a bit more…well…”

“Unapproachable?” Carina offered with a wince. He rubbed the back of his neck. “I’m sorry I’ve been harsh, especially with you.” She rubbed her arm sheepishly. “You’ve been nothing but kind to me and I’m grateful.”

“Of course, princess.” Faelan gulped.

“Carina,” Looking up he met bright green eyes that were lit with happiness that wasn’t there before. He felt his heart skip when she touched his arm. “Call me Carina, please.” His grip on the jar loosened and it slipped to the floor, spilling everywhere.

“Damn it!” Faelan groaned. Grabbing the jar and the little saliva that was left. “Sorry, Princess, I mean Carina.”

“It’s alright, Faelan.” Carina laughed. “You healed the worst wounds already.” He grumbled under his breath, irritated that he’d wasted such hard earned medicine. “Can you make more?”

“Yes but I…” He stopped and looked away.

“What, is it difficult?” Carina asked. Faelan didn’t look at her. “Tell me, how did you make it?”

“I’d rather not say.”

“Please?” She took his hand and he was hypnotized by those green eyes again.

“I have to…” he groaned in humiliation. “I have to bite on a sponge then squeeze it into the jar. It takes a good while…” Carina covered her mouth as she tried not to laugh. Imagining this gentle wolf holding a sponge between his teeth for hours was too funny. Laughter burst out of her and Faelan stood up.

“No, no don’t go!” she laughed, grabbing his hand. “I-I’m sorry…I…” she kept laughing. “I’m not laughing at you…!”

“Seems like you are,” Faelan growled dejectedly. Carina wiped her eyes and slowly calmed down.

“No, what you did was very sweet and thoughtful. I was only laughing when I imagined you chewing on a sponge like a puppy.” Faelan snorted and shook his head.

“Now you know why I didn’t want to tell you.”

“I’m sorry, please forgive me.” She begged. “I can’t imagine why you would put yourself through that for me, especially after how rude I’d been towards you.”

Faelan sat down. “After I was bitten, I reacted much like you did. I didn’t want any of the pack coming near me. But our Alpha was patient and gentle, he helped me through the pain as he assured me that I wouldn’t die. He explained what was happening, that I was going to turn into a werewolf and was welcome in their pack.” He rubbed his calf slowly.

“Do you remember…being bitten?” she asked softly. Faelan shook his head.

“Just the pain, then waking up in the village.” He paused for a moment. “I wanted to help you as our Alpha helped me.” Reaching up, he brushed away a stray tear. Her cheeks flushed but she welcomed his touch, pressing into his hand.

“Thank you.” Carina whispered.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.