Geeks logo

“We” not "Me": Shenanigans

By Sheila L. Chingwa

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3

I am one who doesn’t like to fail. I know hurting my foot was not failure, accidents do happen, but I was forced to admit defeat. However, it is still a goal unmet and it is not setting well with me. I have had many pouting moments this past month since my injury. Yet, there was nothing I could do to meet that goal so I have to make peace with that and move the trip.

Shortly after wiping out, my girlfriend came down with Covid. It was obvious that we wouldn't be 14 days clear to travels so that was a second reason to cancel. After deliberations between Phil and I, I called off the trip because Becky couldn't be left behind. Her health was way more important. Not to mention, I wouldn’t be happy navigating New York on crutches.

In my group, I am called the Diva. Just my denial of the title only proves that the name fits. I feel bad that Phil had to endure many Divazilla moments. They are more like pouting and stomping foot moments. What’s worse, I finally see that the title fits. I guess I like it better than my childhood nickname. Although, that name fits as well too, but now I have to own the Diva title.

Even though my plans have been botched big time, I made sure that my friends would still receive their gifts. Phil, bless his soul, drove up to us from Chicago. He was my owl delivering the travel package we put together for our friends to our lovely ladies. This needed to happen for the boxes were over-running my room and they taunted me every time I looked at them. So, Phil and I decided that they would get their treasure at this time.

Yes, this too caused a Diva moment. I had to wrap those packages all fancy and all. Seriously, why not spoil them from beginning to end? Phil insisted his didn’t need to be wrapped because he thought he knew everything that was going to be in the package. I mean really, he did not know everything I was placing in the case. A Diva never reveals all her secrets. I had a few articles he didn't know about. So, I insisted that those packages would have to be beautiful.

One must know, by this time, Phil was getting tired of my attitude. Me and my bratty attitude caused Phil to have to drop off the tumblers at my home so I could pack them into the package and wrap the treasure.

For Thanksgiving, I traveled to visit friends. I needed to do something to counterbalance the disappointment. Actually, I had friends in southern Michigan who invited us all for Thanksgiving dinner. Seeing that we were not going to be with the family, I made sure they would still get their feast. This trip down for dinner, put me on a deadline and I was closing in on the time I needed to get everything done. I had to do a 5 hour drive, buy wrapping paper, and get home and get those boxes ready for the owl post.

I was on schedule and completed my shopping, pulled into the driveway on time. In a flurry, I unboxed everything, sorted it and house color wrapping paper flew over the boxed treasure. Chores takes time and I found that the owl was perched and screeching at the bottom of the steps driving me to move faster. My plea of an extremely needed five minutes was granted and I finished up my chore. Minutes passed and owl became more annoyed at my lateness.

Katie arrived before I was done and distracted my Philip by giving him a treasure made by her. When I came down the stairs, the niphler in her saw the shining present and her beautiful eyes glistened with anticipation. That made the diva in me happy. Kate, in turn, gave me a gift made. She made me a dot art Harry Potter's Deathly Hollow's themed. Definitely will be a treasured memory of her love.

After a brief visit, we found out the third reason why the trip needed to be canceled. Kate had a family emergency. We would have been on the midway point to New York if the trip went smoothly. We would have turned around to get her back to her family. With tears in her eyes, Kate rushed off with her gift and we all waited for updates. She had to be here and not running off.

The evening plans included holiday festivities in the community. I am the biggest ding-bat at times. I swear, the holiday parade was that very night. So, off Phil and I went to meet another friend to watch the parade. After a reality check, I was wrong. I was a day early. Ya gotta make the best every situation so, pizza and beer was in order. It was still a win!

Friday morning, we all checked into a Zoom meeting were they all got to open the boxes. I recorded the meeting and thought I would share the video with you all. I couldn't figure out how to edit the video but I am just thankful I got it loaded up.

Just incase you don't want to watch the video, they all received trunks from the Wizarding World store in London, Phil had tumblers made with house colors and our names, matching pajamas, and appropriate house shirt to travel in. I also announced I was relinquishing my Diva status and invited them to participate in the next planning stage.

Off tape, we decided on 4 days in New York. Seeing that Kate took on her fear of flying, we can now fly to New York and have more time for a greater experience together. Now, well after my foot heals, I will be working for airfare and hotel. They will have to save up for spending money now. They can make more suggestions on other activities.

Oh, I am sure I will display Diva moments from time to time while planning this trip but I can be more methodical and less stressed. It will be a better experience in the long run so, I guess I can only look forward. However, this is a "we" project now and not a "me" project.

travel
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.