Geeks logo

Victoria Stevens

Actress, Journalist, Director

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Victoria Stevens (Photo Credit: Anthony Grasso)

Victoria Stevens started her acting career at age 12. She began performing in musicals at Camden County College and then graduated with a Bachelor's in R/T/F Communications from Rowan University.

From there, she booked one of her dream jobs working for Disney. She is an actress, known for Copycat Killers (2019), Fight Valley (2016), and Hell House (2015). Besides acting, Victoria is a sketch artist, hip hop dancer, and is certified in unarmed fighting.

Her passion is to become a series regular on a sitcom and a lead character in a cop drama. Victoria has been focusing her time on becoming a bi-coastal actress with representation on both coasts.

Victoria is also a head writer for the Hollywood Times and a judge for the Hoboken Film Festival along with Katra Film Festival.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Victoria Stevens (Photo Credit: Anthony Grasso)

Tammy Reese:

Describe yourself in 3 words?

Victoria Stevens :

Determined, Passionate, Empathetic .

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the entertainment industry?

Victoria Stevens :

If you asked my younger self what she wanted to be when she grew up, she would have said a social worker.

However, those dreams changed when I found the bright lights of the stage.

Performing in musical theatre led me to pursue an acting career that transitioned to film and TV.

I never dreamed that one day I would become a successful actor working on so many rewarding sets. It has been quite a journey.

Tammy Reese:

You are extremely Multi-talented as a Journalist, Actress and Director.

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Victoria Stevens :

Being an actor, every moment in this industry is memorable. However, if I am going to choose a few of them I would say that the first one that comes to mind is when I was one of the principal actors on a Coach commercial.

I was blessed to have met Spike Lee and Camila Morrone while on set. There were also live owls performing as well which really amazed me.

Another memorable moment that I had was when I got to play a cop on the feature film “21 Bridges”.

In my scene, I was running after Chadwick Boseman in a cop chase. Guns drawn; it was a high intensity scene with a lot of action.

My favorite part was watching the stunt people in action as they drove their cars in wild and crazy patterns. The magic behind the scenes always impresses me.

My last memorable moment was in this past year. I was asked to be a writer for the Hollywood Times. I got to meet so many amazing directors and producers through this opportunity.

I guess you can say that my journalism degree came in handy.

Tammy Reese:

As an Actress who is Sag Eligible what intrigued you about the Meisner Technique?

Victoria Stevens :

Learning different techniques is always fun. I am always interested in being a well-rounded actress with many different toolsets in her belt.

I can relate more towards The Method technique because it uses a lot of your past experiences to cultivate emotions in each of your characters.

Emotional recall is a strong skill set to have, but can be very challenging. It requires the actor to open up and let their emotions come out which is the complete opposite of what people usually do.

We are conditioned to hide our emotions and push through bad experiences where Method is all about going back to those times and actually experiencing them.

The Meisner Technique has to do more with connecting to your scene partner and through repetition come to an emotional connection.

I think the thing that intrigued me about the Meisner Technique is the aspect of getting out of your head and improving.

It's not about the lines that you are saying but about the connection with your scene partner that you are creating.

Victoria Stevens (Photo Credit: Crystal Herring)

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Victoria Stevens :

What I love most about what I do as an actor is having the ability to portray different character types truthfully and honestly.

It is really rewarding when your character moves the audience to tears or makes them laugh out of their seats. It is the goal of every actor to have a relatable character come alive on screen.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Victoria Stevens :

Currently, I have a few projects set to begin shooting in February.

The Dragon Squad is a TV series about a group of criminals who get hired to eliminate the different mob groups that have been terrorizing NYC.

It is an action-packed series that will keep you on the edge of your seats. My character is the reporter who is always on the scene reporting the horrific stories that seem to be increasing each day.

Another series that I am in is called Kila’delphia. This series is another crime drama with a lot of suspense.

I play Sergeant Braggs who is frustrated at her police force which can’t seem to catch a killer.

Tammy Reese:

What valued lessons did you take from 2020 into the new year?

Victoria Stevens :

I have learned so much about myself and the industry in this past year. I have learned that when you are determined enough to get your name out there then nothing can stop you.

I was very busy creating projects for myself and getting involved with online projects that were manifesting everywhere. I also learned that where there is a will, there is a way.

Now that the industry turned to having actors’ self-tape their auditions, I have adapted to the changes and prepared my at-home studio.

I am ready for anything!

Tammy Reese:

When was the last time you had a great laugh? What was the laugh about?

Victoria Stevens :

O my goodness, the last time I had a great laugh was when I was creating a Romeo and Juliette scene with my friend Tash last year.

We changed all the words around in the scene to deal with the aspect of running out of toilet paper.

It was so much fun looking at the script and figuring out what we could change each line into. “O Romeo, O Romeo. Where art thy toilet paper Romeo?”

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Victoria Stevens :

Keep a lookout for my articles on the Hollywood Times. I am always interviewing amazing people with great stories to tell.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to enter the entertainment industry?

Victoria Stevens :

Keep pursuing your dreams and don’t give up. This industry can be really tough and it is all about staying the course and enjoying the journey.

I am always reminding myself to enjoy the small successes that come my way and never to overlook them.

You will one day look back and see why things happened the way they did but until that time you just have to keep looking forward.

Learn more about Victoria Stevens by visiting victoriastevens.org.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.