Geeks logo

'V.I. Warshawski'–If Only All PI's Could Be Her

Second Chances #23

By Adam WallacePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello, and welcome back to Second Chances where I dig out the magnifying glass, and take a closer look at something maligned or forgotten.

As I write this, next weekend is Mother's Day. To celebrate it, I'm looking at one of my mother's favorite forgotten films. It's the 1991 detective mystery V.I. Warshawski. This movie, based on the character created by author Sara Paretsky, didn't do well with the critics, and only made half of its budget back in theaters. Seriously, I think more people are familiar with its box art showing the very sexy Kathleen Turner in front of a giant red W than what the movie is about. However, this is a fun mystery with appealing characters and a great sense of humor. It's worth another shot, and I'll tell you why.

This is another comedic genre film directed by Jeff Kanew. Seriously, is this guy stalking me? This is the third time I'm bringing him up. He directed the forgotten comedy spy movie Gotcha! (which made #31 on my favorite movies list), and the comedy masterpiece Revenge of the Nerds (which is my #7). Considering his knack for sarcastic comedy, it's a shame his career hadn't been more successful.

The plot is VERY loosely based on Paretsky's book Deadlock. Kathleen Turner plays the title character, a Chicago private investigator. She's had a fair amount of success in a field dominated by patronizing men, including her father's old friend Det. Lt. Bobby Mallory (Charles Durning). A chance meeting at a bar with ex-hockey player "Boom-Boom" Grafalk (Stephen Meadows) leads to his foul-mouthed daughter Kat (Angela Goethals) hiring Vic to investigate when her father is murdered. The plot goes all over the place, and, while it does lack a lot of surprises, it is very engaging. The enjoyment comes from watching Turner work every trick you can think of. She is tough enough to kick gangsters' asses and not above using obvious sex appeal to wring information out of men who clearly do most of their thinking with another part of their anatomy. When Kat joins in the investigation herself, she and Vic put their great chemistry and comedic chops on full display, even having fun at the expense of her oversexed neighbor, and regular source of info, reporter Murray Ryerson (Jay O. Sanders).

I'm gonna cut to the chase; Kathleen Turner straight-up owns every scene she's in. The voice that made Jessica Rabbit a sex symbol was perfect for the cutting sarcasm that serves as Warshawski's weapon of choice against Murray, Bobby, and even the local mob boss Earl Smeissen (Wayne Knight). Her delivery is just perfect, and her quips get me laughing even now, especially when she whips out her big grin afterward. Even Angela Goethals, who otherwise is only known as the sister who called Kevin les incompétents in the first Home Alone movie, got me cracking up with her wisecracks. The comedy still works even today.

Of course, any detective mystery worth its salt would need some action. Even though the action scenes are few and far between, they work quite well here. Turner shows off some impressive aikido when she gets ambushed by two of Smeissen's hired goons, and the boat chase in the middle of the film was tense and exciting. Of course, Kanew proved he could handle chases in Gotcha!, and V.I. Warshawski showed he hadn't lost his touch in the years since. The investigative scenes were also handled well with tight camera work, and just the right lighting to fit the scene.

I cannot for the life of me understand why V.I. Warshawski bombed with critics or the box office. It is just a fun detective movie. It's tense at the right times, exciting when it needs to be, and funny all the way through. Kathleen Turner owned the leading role so effectively here that it's a shame that health problems crippled her career not long afterward. I found a copy of this movie on Blu-Ray in a Wal-Mart bargain bin not too long ago. Grab it, and see how much fun sleuthing can be.

What do you think? Any other movies that deserve a second chance? Let me know, and take care!

review
Like

About the Creator

Adam Wallace

I put up pieces here when I can, mainly about games and movies. I'm also writing movies, writing a children's book & hosting the gaming channel "Cool Media" on YouTube! Enjoy & find me on Twitter!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.