Geeks logo

Up 'Schitt's Creek'

Without a Paddle

By Casey. OneHighMomPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I've recently indulged in a series being shown on Netflix, starring Eugene Levy and Catherine O'Hara.

With classics such as Best in Show and American Pie, Levy is an actor with a particular form of comedy that I happen to love. He's the reason I decided to try this series out. I can't help but assume his natural demeanor is incredibly similar to his on screen performances.

As for O'Hara, (the stoner in me just noticed her name is almost ohana) you have to love Home Alone. Personally, Lost in New York is better than the first. A lot of her acting in this show is reminiscent of her Kate McAllister character. Spazzy and flustered. Same goes for her crazy part in Lemony Snicket's "Series of Unfortunate Events." She should smoke a joint.

I don't know very many moms that arent the same way I suppose. Myself being one of them.

This show starts out the series showing the Rose family, having been duped by their business manager. (Who also happens to be a relative.) He's taken off with everything, and avoided paying the company taxes. This stunt leaves the Rose's world turned upside down by the feds.

The man in question is missing. Along with all the money he embezzled. The only asset the court is allowing them to keep, is a podunk town they purchased as a joke for their son. Schitt's Creek. Now the joke's on them.

They are your typical high end family, that's unfamiliar with the everyday struggles most of us face. As far as they're concerned, anything outside of the luxuries they're used to is abominable. I think the opening scenes, featuring the mother freaking out, because she cant have all of her wigs is hilarious.

Once arriving in the town, they realize how grim their fate really is. The mayor of the town has a strong resemblance to Hanson. The "lemme use my stronghand" character played by Chris Elliot in Scary Movie 2.

Probably because it's the same actor. Unfortunately for him, I dont think that's a part he'll ever shed. He's always going to be THAT guy. His creepiness is unwavering in any movie I've seen him in. Including this.

I would say the portrayal of the son and daughter have just the right amount of ridiculous snobbery. I find it's easy to overdo the presentation of rich folk. Luckily this doesn't go full White Chicks. Just a sad reminder of what wealth looks like in the United States.

Side note, the actor who plays the son David, is Eugene Levy's real life son. Which completely explains the identical eyebrows.

If you're looking for a new series to try, I highly suggest this. There's something about a fall from grace that keeps the interest. Watching people discover how to be humble is a lesson for all of us. Especially nowadays.

It has me pondering. I have some well off friends that occasionally exude some of these snobbish tendencies. My dad being the worst of them. I just can't wrap my head around the entitlement that comes along with money.

I'm a little behind the game, since this came out in 2016 and is already going into its fourth season, but I'll catch up in no time. Sometimes, there's nothing like curling up with a joint and a new Netflix series. In my opinion, fantastic way to kill a day.

What series are you currently obsessed with? Comedy, horror, drama, documentary? I'm going to run out of episodes eventually, and I love suggestions.

I post my nightly flick on facebook.com/onehighmom If you want to see some other reviews I've done for films and TV shows, check it out. Give us a like.

review
1

About the Creator

Casey. OneHighMom

Blogger. Wild imagination runner. Cannabis connisuer. I'm probably writing about the same things as you, just from a (high)er perspective. Avid crocheter.

onehighmom.wordpress.com

facebook.com/onehighmom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.