Geeks logo

Unpopular film opinions

I'm definitely going to make a lot of people unhappy to say the least

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
stock photos really are the best, aren't they?

Dark Knight Rises was a letdown

If you can't tell by my multiple articles about the DC universe I am a huge fan of DC. I actually did love Batman Begins and Dark Knight, however Dark Knight Rises was a huge let down. First off, the sheer amount of time Batman spends mopping about Rachel and now Talia is unbearable. I genuinely skip those parts of the film. All the crying over his failed relationships reinforces the Bruce Wayne is a crybaby stereotype. And even though this was the last film of the trilogy, I always hate when Hollywood tries to have drastic time jumps in their character's arcs. I also know Bruce had taken a step back after the Dent death and his time crime fighting has taken its toll but come on. I just, I don't like it. It feels to clean cut 3 arc story of beginning, middle, end. Lastly, Joseph Gordon Leavitt's "Robin". I have no problems with JGL's performance. But the immense disservice to Robin, wow. What an amazing way to end your trilogy, by not giving the fans what they want.

Avatar is incredibly overrated

There's no denying this film is a visual masterpiece. To say otherwise is complete ignorance, however the story itself has been told multiple times with just small tweaks here and there. While not adding too much to "corporations bad, nature good". And sure the quote "Good artists copy, great artists steal" exists for a reason. Fine I can accept that, however it's still an incredibly overrated film. The directing is okay, acting is good but nothing too great, and I a great amount of the film was super predictable. Had James Cameron taken more risks I may have liked it more. Finally the last battle, trust me I absolutely love big dumb action scenes. Starship troopers is one of my all time favorite films, because of the big dumb action scenes. And yes I'm aware it's a satire, but that's why I love that film so much. The final fight was okay, there was a lot of emotional weight which is great. However, other there were times the final fight dragged on and didn't real do anything too creative. Hopefully Avatar 2 will be better and worth the wait.

Frozen is unwatchable

Let me start off by stating there's nothing wrong with animated films, if you've been reading my content so far you know I'm a huge nerd and I love animation. I also don't mind the singing, I was born in the late 90's so best believe my parents had all the VHS tapes of Mulan, Hercules, Aladdin, The Lion King, etc. And I wouldn't mind more animated films with some more memorable songs but "Let it Go" is so annoying. Finally, incredibly lazy writing. The fact that after nearly what, 15/20 years can't control powers and then in a matter of minutes is on par with Iceman with her thermokinesis? Come on, that's just lazy writing. Last but not least, Olaf is the worst. I can't stand Josh Gad. There's literally nothing enjoyable about his character. Again I'm not just saying this because I'm old and grumpy, he's just the worst.

Cloverfield is overrated

I don't know when and why "less is more" applied to monsters the size of the Statue of Liberty?? Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love films like Invisible Man where the entire time you have this feeling of pure dreed since you can't let your guard down. The terror and danger can come at any time but until then you're constantly on age. But why is that applied to a monster film?? This film literally doesn't even try to pass itself off as nothing more than a monster film, but it's a monster film that never features the monster! That is such a stupid philosophy, thanks Jaws. At least with 10 Cloverfield Lane, we nearly never see the monster; but that's okay because that wasn't the point of that film. It was more focused on the human monster that was John Goodman. And sure 10 Cloverfield Lane has its problems which I'll probably include on a list of their own later but that's okay. Lastly I'm going to talk about the "human aspect" of the film. Literally all I remember about the characters is a guy trying to find his girlfriend during this world ending event but everything in between until they die, spoiler alert, was completely forgettable. I can't even remember who was in that film outside of T.J Miller before he was as famous as he is nowadays.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to read my article. I'm probably going to make a part 2 to this article if not many more. If you enjoy what you've read please feel free to check out any one of my many articles on various different topics. I would immensely appreciate if you enjoy my work to leave a heart so I know which articles are doing well and which are not. Lastly if you feel so inclined any and all tips are appreciated but by no means required.

movie
4

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.