Geeks logo

Two Secrets

Is there more to Roman than what Logan assumes?

By Monique StarPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Logan was busy working on his studies for his classes. Instead of being far behind, he was actually far ahead, yet still not completely satisfied. He heard his phone buzz a few times and, against his better judgement, checked to see what was going on. He saw some Facebook notifications and, though he didn't recognize the faces, he recognized the surname: Dyesin, like the surname of a certain man in his Astronomy class who never hesitated to promote the college's next play no matter if he was in it or not.

Roman Dyesin was also his neighbor that stayed a few dorm rooms down the hall from him and was big on contacting his family and updating his social media. Though, when it came to his social media, he has made some outlandish claims about his whereabouts every so often, but Logan decided it wouldn't be worth investigating.

When Logan clicked on the notifications, he saw some posts that said "Congratz to @Roman Dyesin and @Logan Tesla! 😍," "@Roman Dyesin and @Logan Tesla? Never thought I'd see the day," and "Guess @Roman Dyesin has found his Prince after all." Logan had no idea what was going on or what exactly was claimed about the two. Then again, Logan figured that college wasn't as big on gossip as high school and that he only got some notifications on Facebook, so he decided to let nature take its course before confronting Roman.

Within a few hours, Logan received tons more notifications from Facebook of people tagging himself and Roman. It was annoying Logan to the point where he put his phone completely on mute, but the knowledge that it was still happening bugged him. He wished there would be something going on that could keep people from tagging the two. Hell, he'd even take news of the Great Spacosi doing an art stream on Twitch while preventing a bank robbery (He doesn't usually follow the news on the town's artistic vigilante unless forced to) if it meant he no longer had to deal with the ideas everyone clearly had about himself and Roman.

Logan didn't care whether or not Roman was in his dorm, he needed to confront the thespian once and for all. The nerd marched out of his dorm and slammed on Roman's door. He was greeted by the man he often associated with thinking his good looks would get him far in school.

"Um... greetings, Specs," Roman answered awkwardly.

"What did you say about us on Facebook?!" Logan cut to the chase.

Roman's eyes widened as if he realized what Logan was referring to. He pulled Logan through the threshold and closed the door behind him. Nervousness grew on Roman's face as Logan's gaze struck with anger and annoyance.

"I've got two secrets. Promise to not spill the beans on one of them?" Roman practically begged.

Logan gave a heavy sigh and nodded wordlessly. As long as he got his explanation, Logan wouldn't object.

"First, a little background: I, um... don't always make posts about my whereabouts that make sense. It has reached the point where I had to make posts without tagging friends because they'd call me out. Even if I didn't tag anyone, I'd still get called out. I claim I'll be going to events and, somehow, my own brother manages to call me out."

Logan did everything in his power to not roll his eyes by reminding himself that Roman's going somewhere with his statements.

"Recently, my family called me on Skype as a way of seeing where I'm running off to while demanding answers. I felt cornered and I couldn't tell them where I had to run off to immediately. Fortunately for me, they never said which truth I was forced to reveal, so I... told them I fell for you... hard."

Logan was surprised when he heard the explanation. He was looking for any sign that Roman might've been joking. Even when he couldn't find any, he couldn't believe that Roman was interested in him.

"Let me get this gay: you're..." Logan pulled out some flashcards from his pockets and shuffled through them, "... digging on me?"

"Of course. I'm sorry you had to find out this way, but I would've said it sooner if you weren't annoyed by me. What exactly do I have to change? Do I have to stay silent unless spoken to? Do I have to promote an endangered theatre program by other means? Do I have to make it less obvious that I'm listening to the audio book copies of our textbooks by hiding my AirPods under my hair?" Roman asked in a voice that Logan almost thought was desperation.

Logan was surprised as he grasped on to every word. Had he really judged Roman too harshly? Was Roman less interested in getting closer to him as a result? The scholar gave a softer sigh.

"I guess I've been guilty of jumping to conclusions, Roman. Maybe there are some pretty boys out there that aren't air-headed after all," Logan admitted to lighten the mood.

"Well, um, maybe we can go hunting for constellations and their stories some time," Roman suggested while blushing.

"If it's as a date, I'm in," Logan answered.

The two reached for each other's hands before Logan stopped.

"Wait, Roman, what's the other secret?" Logan remembered.

As much as Roman hated the romantic moment being cut short, he knew Logan didn't deserve to be left in the dark or to find out via risky investigation. Roman brought Logan with him to the mirror and made a motion with his hand as if he was painting something on the mirror. He moved his arms up and down before he suddenly changed into a completely different outfit. The outfit consisted of a flame-blended one piece, an eye mask that was orange, and red high heels. His ears were also bigger than usual and his hair was subtly changing color. Logan was taken aback by the transformation, but he didn't look like he was hurtling towards one side of the Yerkes–Dodson curve.

"Roman?" Logan questioned.

Roman looked over at his crush and placed his hands on his shoulders.

"Spacosi is in love with you," Roman revealed.

Logan froze for a longer while until he carefully removed the mask from Roman's eyes to confirm constancy. Roman giggled as Logan did so and it prompted the nerd to follow.

"If anyone asks, we'll be keeping activities in our, um, relationship, if you want to call it that, private," Roman explained while creating a portal in his wall.

"Well, I do want to try with you for the sake of getting to know you better. I mean, your looks and charisma are certainly a bonus," Logan responded.

Roman placed the mask back over his eyes and placed a quick kiss on Logan's lips before he took off through the portal. Logan might've been wrong about Roman before but he knew that, thanks to his stubbornness, there were things about the thespian he couldn't bring himself to find out initially. He was certainly ready to get to know him more.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.