Geeks logo

Total Bellas

Guilty pleasure, more like a lifestyle

By MercedesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Brie Bella and Nikki Bella

When I think of shows that I watch consistently, there is usually shame associated with watching a reality television show, like it isn’t good television. This is an appreciation post for Total Bellas, a show about Nikki and Brie Bella and their careers, relationships, and family lives. I have been watching Total Bellas since it premiered on E! Network on October 6, 2016. Season 6 just ended, and I hope that there will be a season 7 because watching these women handle life is inspiring. This show was a spinoff of Total Divas, and the Bella twins were just so great to see on that show that when their new show was created, I became invested, and I wanted to see more. They just have really fun personalities and for being identical twins, it's fun to see how different the two sisters are.

The show does not entirely fall into the territory of crazy reality tv because of how sincere and genuine the show feels. Nikki and Brie talk in their memoir, ‘Incomparable,’ about some of their experiences filming the show and how involved in the final product they are. They could choose to remove the ugly, hard, and realistic moments, but instead they show the audience those deeper moments. For me it’s been inspiring to see these two women talking about their experiences being children of divorce, work-life balance, and post-partum depression. The show talks about therapy in a way that is approachable and helps to remove the shame that is sometimes associated with going to therapy. Brie Bella’s husband Bryan Danielson has also talked on the show about other holistic ways he has used to tackle his depression and anxiety and seeing that vulnerability makes me feel like no matter what, there is something out there that can help you.

Something that you could tell from the beginning of Total Bellas was that Nikki, really wanted to be a mom, and in season 6, you get to see that happen. The last few episodes of the season were really raw and vulnerable and not going to lie, they made me cry, mostly happy tears. Some people find watching reality tv to be weird because you’re basically just watching someone else, who usually has more money than you, live their life. The Bella Twins don’t just have and audience, they have a whole army, and I feel as though I am a part of it. I cheer for their successes and I cry when they have heartache, because I know that they are real people, and they seem like women who would be supportive friends. I hate when you see people writing extremely rude comments about the twins, because it is almost like they believe that their words don’t have consequences. When you see the twins interacting with their brother and mother, and other extended families, you almost feel like family too.

While I have been inspired by their extremely great fashion moments on the show, I am even more inspired by their many businesses that they have started. Watching them bring their clothing line, Birdiebee, to life, to having a runway show for their line, that included some of their friends and family. Not only do they have a clothing line, but they also have a hair and skincare line. Now I have not purchased any of the hair care products because I don’t know if they’ll work for my hair type, but Nikki and Brie always do tutorial videos on their products. Two businesses down and I have not even mentioned the two wine labels they created, Belle Radici and Bonita Bonita, and their weekly podcast where they answer questions and kill rumors. Disclaimer, when they release their next wine, I'm going to move fast, because it ALWAYS, sells out before I can purchase it. They are entrepreneurs and watching their dreams and visions come to life, is inspirational. They have worked hard in their careers to get to this moment, and it reiterates the message, that if you work hard, you can accomplish the things you want to. Those accomplishments may take time, but they can happen. Season 6 just ended, and I wonder want new chapters they will start with their lives, and if there are going to be more business adventures.

Since I do not have any new episodes to watch, a bummer for sure, I look forward to listening to the Bellas podcast where I can listen to some good conversations, have some laughs, and just feel happy. If you read their book you'll uncover more about Nikki and Brie in their new memoir, if you binge all their episodes and want more content. Reality tv isn’t for everyone, but I think you’ll find that Total Bellas can be.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Mercedes

Writing has always been something that I enjoy and I hope by joining this community, I can grow some more. I'm currently working on writing my first novel, and trying to do as many creative writing opportunities as I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.