Geeks logo

Top Five Movies That Need a Remake

The Cult Classics, Original Rom-Coms, and Just Plain Classics

By Alex DeePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know what they say. You don't mess with the greats. But sometimes you have those movies that you just love so much, that you need to see it brought to life again. There's no way to outdo the originals, but I can't help but wonder what these same movies would look like with the advances we have in film in the last twenty years.

1. 'Titanic'

Credit: Factinate

Obviously this one is a classic, and no one wants to touch the classic. But can you imagine something as powerful as Titanic made with the special effects that we have today? It's not a movie for everyone, but considering it's made $1 billion+ and continues being a cult favorite, it's easily at the top of my list for a remake.

Maybe this time physics can give us a door that Jack and Rose can both fit on.

My dream team? Liam Hemsworth and Madelaine Petsch. With Madelaine's range for acting and Liam's charming smile and dreamy blue eyes, this could be the OTP no one knew they needed.

2. 'Pearl Harbor'

Credit: Youtube

This one might just be a favorite of mine, but Pearl Harbor was always one that tugged at my heart and satisfied the history buff in me. While this one isn't necessarily ancient, can you imagine how special effects would bring this historic battle to life all over again? This was also a movie that touched on the race and gender divide during World War II and gave us some insight into the way both stepped up in a time of need. Women charging towards battle to save lives, and men like Doris Miller who stepped behind an anti-aircraft gun despite not having any formal training (something that wasn't allowed during this time).

One thing I would change? Absolutely nothing. Not even one scene.

Dream cast? Kit Harington, Adelaide Kane, and Robbie Amell. With Adelaide's big brown eyes, and the effortless handsome factor between Kit and Robbie, who wouldn't want to see a love triangle thrown between them?

3. 'Pulp Fiction'

Credit: Indiewire

This one is definitely more of a cult classic and I was far too young to know this movie when it came out, but I'll be damned if it wasn't one of the first movies my parents let me watch when I was old enough. I don't know that anyone could actually do this one justice, but if they could, this could easily make any millennial understand their parentals.

Dream cast? Idris Elba, Tom Hardy, and Eiza Gonzalez. Honestly, there are so many people that could do this movie justice, these are just my personal favorites.

4. 'Gone with the Wind'

Credit: Amazon

This one is an actual classic. Not only is it immortalized in literature, but this was the movie that made me fall in love with Scarlett O'Hara. Seriously, I ran around for weeks after I saw this movie wearing a bonnet and dresses made of sheets. Personally, I would throw in a twist and flip it to modern times, using today's issues as a catalyst.

Dream cast? Michael B. Jordan, Zendaya (my very own Scarlett!!), and John Boyega. Honestly, I would die just to have Zendaya as Scarlett. Anyone else is a blur.

5. 'Pretty Woman'

Credit: Icepop

This one might make me a bit biased, considering it was the first romantic comedy I ever watched, but I was in love with Richard Gere for years after I saw this movie. The acting in this movie was beautiful, so I feel like it might be a little hard to recreate, but given the right actors, and a passionate, dedicated director, I would be the first one in line for this.

Dream cast? Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds. I mean...come on, has no one thought to throw them in another movie together?

Andddd that's it!

Keep in mind, these are just my opinions. There are so many amazing movies out there that would be fantastic with updated graphics and special effects, and these are just my personal favorites. What movie would you love to see remade?

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Alex Dee

Writer extraordinaire. Passionate about movies, music and avoiding useless trilogies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.