Geeks logo

Top 10: Superhero Movies (2022 update)

It's changed a lot in the past few years

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Alright it's January 2022 and we have many a film to discuss.

Before we get into it let me clarify these are not my personal choices but the combined choices of IMDb, Letterboxd and Metacritic overall.

I am not going to be avoiding SPOILERS so if you see the name of a film you haven't seen just scroll on passed it and we'll all make it out alive.

Here we go!

10. 'Thor: Ragnarok'

IMDb: 7.9/10

Letterboxd: 3.9/5

Metacritic: 74/100

Overall: 7.7/10

This is pretty solid start right? Taika Waititi's reimagining of Thor really brought some life back into the pretty crappy Thor films. Cate Blanchett is always incredible and sells you on Hela in an instant. Tom Hiddleston and Chris Hemsworth return on top form for a fun time and for the first time Hulk really gets some development.

The new additions of Valkyrie (Tessa Thompson), Grandmaster (Jeff Goldblum) and Korg (Taika Waititi) are all wonderful. It's fun, it's punchy, it's visually delightful and the soundtrack slaps beyond belief. Definitely deserves it place in the Top 10.

9. 'Avengers: Infinity War' / 'Guardians of the Galaxy'/ 'Iron Man' / 'Spider-Man 2'

'Avengers: Infinity War'

IMDb: 8.4/10

Letterboxd: 4/5

Metacritic: 68/100

Overall: 7.73/10

'Guardians of the Galaxy'

IMDb: 8/10

Letterboxd: 3.8/5

Metacritic: 76/100

Overall: 7.73/10

'Iron Man'

IMDb: 7.9/10

Letterboxd: 3.7/5

Metacritic: 79/100

Overall: 7.73/10

'Spider-Man 2'

IMDb: 7.3/10

Letterboxd: 3.8/5

Metacritic: 83/100

Overall: 7.73/10

Yes it's absolute madness to have a 4 way tie for 9th place but what do you want from the numbers didn't lie.

If you find yourself a little angry about 'Infinity War' being only in 9th place you'll have to take it up with film critics. 68/100 seems pretty low doesn't it.

As this has added 3 extra films to the Top 10 I won't linger too long on each but I will say the following:

I would have to rewatch 'Iron Man' and 'Guardians' to see if I feel they belong here but from my several years old memory of 'Iron Man' and for it beginning the MCU I'll allow it. As for 'Guardians' it's basically more raunchy 'Thor: Ragnarok' and it predates it by several years as well as bringing the MCU into a slightly more adult light. So again, I can see why it's made the list.

'Spider-Man 2' has some of the most iconic super hero moments, not only in the Spider-Man' movies but in all super hero movies. Pretty much great to incredible on all fronts, happy to see it make the list.

'Avengers: Infinity War' has legitimately been done in by critics. If it had managed to get a Metacritic rating to match the other films in 9th place it would have easily been in the Top 5. But alas, it did not. Oh well.

8. 'Black Panther'

IMDb: 7.3/10

Letterboxd: 88/100

Metacritic: 3.7/5

Overall: 7.83/10

Right, now, hold on a second. I have only watched this film once in the cinema so I should definitely give it another watch. But for me personally, I dunno something just didn't hit the spot. However, there is plenty to praise about this film and for the similarly iconic and important reasons as 'Iron Man' starting the MCU, I totally get why it's on this list. Ryan Coogler and the team who made this film crafted an incredible country depicting black people as powerful economically, spiritually, mentally and physically. Along with providing discussion about Wakanda's choice to leave other black people to the corrupt and racist nature of the U.S.A's government and culture. Killmonger is without a doubt one of the best villains in superhero movie history. Chadwick Boseman is obviously exceptional. The music is simply a 10/10. I'll definitely give it a rewatch and while I wouldn't say it wasn't a good film I just don't see it as a Top 10.

7. 'The Dark Knight Rises'

IMDb: 8.4/10

Letterboxd: 3.7/5

Metacritic: 78/100

Overall: 7.87/10

Yeah, no. If I just blame this on the over the top Nolan and Batman fans will you all accept that?

It's alright.

Ok cool, next!

6. 'Logan'

IMDb: 8.1/10

Letterboxd: 3.7/5

Metacritic: 77/100

Overall: 7.93/10

Now this is more like it. Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart put shift after shift into their 17 years as Wolverine and Professor X, respectively. They could not have gone out with better performances in a better movie, though I'm sure we'd all like to see Hugh in the MCU's multiverse at least once.

James Mangold just didn't miss a beat with this send off.

5. 'Avengers: Endgame'

IMDb: 8.4/10

Letterboxd: 3.9/5

Metacritic: 78/100

Overall: 8/10

Do you prefer 'Endgame' or 'Infinity War'? These are the big questions.

Our first 8/10.

It's pretty good isn't it. Given it's 3hr runtime, like 60 characters and a decade of history across 20~ films you might think I'd have a lot to say about this movie. And I do. But we're going to keep it fairly brief and if you want to hear my more in depth thoughts on the film let me know.

I cried twice. The portal scene. Tony's death scene. A blubbering mess. I was very emotional and I genuinely wasn't expecting to be. I didn't even know I cared that much.

Plenty of weird logic. Unearned but appreciated celebration of women. Time travel. Real stakes. Love it.

4. 'Spider-Man: No Way Home'

IMDb: 8.8/10

Letterboxd: 4.2/5

Metacritic: 71/100

Overall: 8.1/10

Was there ever any doubt that this would make an appearance at the top end of this list I mean holy shit what a movie. I know I said up top I was going to spoil movies but I'm not going to with this one as it's still pretty fresh.

The ratings may dip slightly over the next few months but it's very unlikely to drop out of the Top 10 altogether. Honestly it's very unlikely to even drop down at all.

Of course recency bias is a thing and maybe the effect will wear off and I won't like the movie as much in the future but right now this is absolutely deserving of 4th place.

Runners Up

Before we get into the top 3 (place your bets now) we're going to have a quick look over 11th - 13th place. Why only to 13th place you ask? Because 10 movies qualify for 11th- 15th and another 9 movies for 16th-20th.

13th: 'Captain America: Civil War'

Overall: 7.5/10

12th: 'Superman' / 'X-Men: Days of Future Past'

Overall: 7.53/10

11th: 'Batman Begins' / 'Big Hero 6'

Overall: 7.6/10

Alright! Are you ready?

3. 'The Incredibles'

IMDb: 8/10

Letterboxd: 4.1/5

Metacritic: 90/100

Overall: 8.4/10

Yeah you read that right! Thought we were only in the land of comic books did you?

How amazing is this film though? Brad Bird, well done.

A great story. Great characters. Great music. Great action. Great animation. Great pacing. Incredible film. (that's not even a joke, stupid film title making my compliment look like a bad joke)

2. 'Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse'

IMDb: 8.4/10

Letterboxd: 4.4/5

Metacritic: 87/100

Overall: 8.63/10

Animation and Spider-Man showing us all how it's done yet again. Isn't it interesting that combining 3rd and 4th place is 2nd place. Yes, I know 'Spider-Verse' came before 'No Way Home' but you see my point.

Take all the compliments i gave to 'The Incredibles' and turn them up a notch this film is fucking phenomenal.

I might go and watch it right now. As soon as I've finished this list.

I'm sure some people will argue over 1st and 2nd place ands the vibes couldn't be more different. It would've been nice if they'd have drawn.

There's not much I can say about either that hasn't been said so I guess we'll get it over with.

1. 'The Dark Knight'

IMDb: 9/10

Letterboxd: 4.4/5

Metacritic: 84/100

Overall: 8.73/10

Dog shit film.

No I'm just playing it's obviously incredible.

Heath Ledger we love you.

Did you call the top spot?

Are you currently furious with the state of this list?

Or when you think about it, is it just some movies and are you actually more furious with the state of the world?

I don't know but what I do know is that 'Megamind' and 'The Lego Batman Movie' have been done dirty and you should all give both a rewatch.

Thank You For Reading!

Thank you for clicking on this even if you just scrolled quickly through to see the numbers.I appreciate you.

Also, if you'd like to take a look at the previous iteration of this list or how I ranked the MCU in 2018 you can do both below:

Top 10: Superhero Movies

MCU: Ranked

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.