Geeks logo

Top 10 Best Side Characters in the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Smaller roles that add heart to these projects

By AnniePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Top 10 Best Side Characters in the Marvel Cinematic Universe
Photo by Kon Karampelas on Unsplash

The MCU is full of amazing characters for the audience to fall in love with as they watch their stories unfold. Unlike major characters, the audience gets to see less of any side character's backstory or life. However, this doesn't make them any less likable. Here are 10 of my personal favorite minor characters throughout the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

10. Valkyrie

Image from wired.com

Valkyrie, played by Tessa Thompson and debuted in Thor: Ragnarok, will definitely be a bigger character in the future. After her traumatizing first fight with Hela, she eventually found herself in Sakaar drinking away the pain. Then, when Thor comes to Sakaar, she decides to face Hela once again to defeat her. Here are some of her best quotes.

Thor: Ragnarok

"This is Scrapper 142. I need clearance and an audience with the boss. I’ve got something special."

"I've spent years, in a haze, trying to forget my past. Sakaar seemed like the best place to drink, and to forget, and to die. One day."

Avengers: Endgame

"We only see him once a month, when he comes for... supplies."

"You know I'd make a lot of changes around here."

9. Jimmy Woo

Image from menshealth.com

Jimmy Woo was first introduced in Ant-man and The Wasp and came back for Disney+'s WandaVision. I really enjoy his character and the magic trick callback in WandaVision from when he first saw Scott do the magic card trick in Ant-man and The Wasp. The trio of Jimmy, Monica, and Darcy was iconic. He said the following quotes:

Ant-man and The Wasp

"Oh Cassie, this must all seem like a bunch of confusing grown-up stuff to you. Well, think of it this way, your school has rules right? Like you can’t draw on the walls. Well your daddy went to Germany and drew on the walls with Captain America. And that was a violation of article 16 paragraph 3 of the Sokovia Accords. Now as a part of his joint plea deal with Homeland Security and the German government, he was allowed to return to the U.S. provided he serve 2 years under house arrest followed by 3 years of probation and avoid any unauthorised activities, technology or contact with any former associates who were or are currently are in violation of said accords or any elated statutes. Okay, sweetie?"

"Okay. Did you want to grab dinner or something? Because, I mean...Because I'm free..."

WandaVision

"This isn't a missing person's case, Captain Rambeau, it's a missing town. Population three thousand eight hundred and ninety-two."

8. Ned Leeds

Image from thenewsfetcher.com

Spider-man's guy in the chair is played by Jacob Batalon and debuted in Spider-man: Homecoming. His friendship with Peter doesn't feel forced at all, making the friendship between Ned and Peter feel more genuine. It's great that they both have someone like the other to count on. Here are some of his quotes:

Spider-man: Homecoming

"Join me and together, we'll build my new LEGO Death Star!"

"Do Avengers have to pay taxes?"

Spider-man: Far From Home

"So, you know too. It's cool. I mean, I've known first and I've known longer but, it's not a competition."

"I wasted my whole life playing video games and we're gonna die!"

7. Yondu

Image from cbr.com

Played by Michael Rooker and introduced in Guardians of the Galaxy, Yondu Udonta acted as a father figure to Peter Quill. With an interesting story and an interesting ability, his character was easily likable delivering iconic lines like these:

Guardians of the Galaxy

"I may be as pretty as an angel, but I sure as hell ain't one. Hand it over, son."

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

"He may have been your father, boy, but he wasn't your daddy."

"I don't use my head to fly the arrow boy, I use my heart..."

6. Maria Hill

Image from syfy.com

Maria Hill, played by Cobie Smulders and debuted in the MCU during The Avengers, was extremely underrated. She is one of the most consistently recurring side characters in the franchise, yet remains underused. She is a very skillful agent who has a much bigger role in the comic books. In the films, she says such lines as these:

The Avengers:

"Sir, how does it work now? They've gone their separate ways some, pretty extremely far. If we get into a situation like this again what happens then?"

Captain America: The Winter Soldier:

"One or two won't cut it. We need to link all three carriers for this to work, because if even one of those ships remains operational a whole lot of people are gonna die."

Avengers: Age of Ultron:

"Hey, What about Jane? Where are the ladies, gentlemen?"

5. Heimdall

Image from blog.vkngjewelry.com

Played by Idris Elba and introduced in Thor, Heimdall is an extremely powerful character with is, like Maria Hill, underused. He is the guardian of Asgard and watches the Bifrost bridge on a constant basis. During his appearances in the MCU, he has said the following quotes.

Thor

"Be warned, I will honor my sworn oath to protect this realm as its gatekeeper. If your return threatens the safety of Asgard, Bifrost will remain closed and you will be left to die on the cold waste of Jotunheim."

Thor: The Dark World

"The universe hasn’t seen this marvel since before my watch began. Few can sense, even fewer can see it. A world that’s infected can be dangerous. It is truly beautiful."

Avengers: Infinity War

"Allfathers. Let the dark magic flow through me one last time."

4. Okoye

Image from youtube.com

Okoye is played by Danai Gurira and introduced in Black Panther. As the general of The Dora Milaje and head of Wakanda's division for armed forces, she plays an important role for the country. When both T'challa and Shuri get dusted away during Avengers: Infinity War, Okoye was there to help run Wakanda without it's king. At this time, the state of Wakanda during the blip is unknown and might be addressed in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever. Here are some of her best lines.

Black Panther

"Guns. So primitive."

"If he touches you again, I am going to impale him on that desk."

"I am loyal to that throne. No matter who sits on it."

Avengers: Infinity War

"Why was she up there all this time?"

3. Helmut Zemo

Image from polygon.com

Helmut (aka Baron) Zemo is played by Daniel Brühl. His character is the main antagonist of Captain America: Civil War and comes back for Disney+'s The Falcon and The Winter Soldier. As a man motivated by the loss of his loved ones, he blames The Avengers and sets a goal to set them part. To do so, he makes a brilliant move to use a secret to his advantage: the fact that the winter soldier killed Tony Stark's parents. Although Zemo is, quite frankly, not a good person, he is arguably one of the best characters in the MCU. His return in The Falcon and The Winter Soldier made his character more enjoyable. here are some of his best quotes.

Captain America: Civil War

"HYDRA deserves its place on the ash heap, so your death would not bother me. But I have to use this book and other bloodier methods to get what I need. I'm not looking forward to that. You'd only be dying for your pride."

"I knew I could not kill them. More powerful men than me have tried. But, if I could get them to kill each other..."

"An empire toppled by its enemies can rise again. But one that crumbles from within, that's dead. Forever."

The Falcon and the Winter Soldier

"You must have really looked up to Steve, huh? But I realized something, when I met him. The danger with people like him, America's Super-Soldiers, is that we put them on pedestals. They become symbols, icons, and then we start to forget about their flaws. From there, cities fly, innocent people die, movements are formed, wars are fought. You remember that, right? As a young soldier sent to Germany to stop a mad icon. Do we want to live in a world full of people like the Red Skull?"

"I took the liberty of crossing off my name in your book. I hold no grudges for what you thought you had to do. Goodbye, James."

2. Luis

Image from syfy.com

Michael Peña plays this hilarious character who debuted in Antman. From his funny one-liners to the way that his stories are told, his presence makes the movies he's a part of even better. He says these funny lines:

Ant-man

"Thank you for the coffee ma'am. It's not too often that you rob a place, and then get welcomed back. Because we just robbed you!"

Here is a video of him delivering one of his funny stories. It works better in video form than written in quotes.

Ant-man and The Wasp

"You know what, you’re right. This isn’t truth serum. ‘Cause I don’t feel anything. That was a lie. I did feel something. This is truth serum!"

"Oh, my Abuelita had a jukebox in a restaurant. Yeah, only played Morrissey. And if anybody ever complained, she’d be like, “Oh, porque? Gusta mas?” And El Chicanos, we call them mas, “then, adios!” What can I say? We relate to these melancholy bandits, you know?"

1. Korg

Image from businessinsider.com

Played by Taika Waititi and introduced in Thor: Ragnarok, Korg is the comic relief. He delivers such lines as:

"My name is Korg. I'm kind of like the leader in here. I'm made of rocks, as you can see. But don't let that intimidate you. You don't need to be afraid unless you're made of scissors. Just a little rock-paper-scissor joke for you."

"I tried to start a revolution... but I didn't print enough pamphlets so hardly anyone turned up. Except for my mum and her boyfriend, who I hate."

And, of course, comes back in Avengers: Endgame seen playing Fortnite against the infamous noobmaster69.

"Thor, he's back. That kid on the TV just called me a dickhead again."

-

The best side characters are the ones that have something new to offer, whether that's humor, skill, intelligence or power. These are a list of my 7 favorite MCU side characters, but there are still many more that deserve credit as well.

Some that I didn't put on the list that I considered are:

MJ - debuted in Spider-man: Homecoming

Wong - debuted in Doctor Strange

Cassie Lang - debuted in Ant-man

Shuri - debuted in Black Panther

Hank Pym - debuted in Ant-man

...and more!

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

Annie

she/her

I have a small sticker shop on Etsy called DynamiteArtStickers, so if you can, please check that out. The IG for it is @dynamiteart368.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.