Geeks logo

Timeless movie review: Casablanca (1942)

If you don’t see it, you’ll regret it, maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.

By JorgePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Timeless movie review: Casablanca (1942)
Photo by Tomas Martinez on Unsplash

Director: Michael Curtiz

Screenplay: Julius J. EpsteinPhilip G. Epstein, Howard Koch.

Starring: Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Paul Henreid

Man, where do I even start with this absolute gem of a movie? Casablanca has got to be one of the greatest films ever made. Yeah yeah, I know that sounds hyperbolic, but I seriously think this movie is a masterpiece. There's a reason it's still so wildly popular even today, over 80 years later.

I gotta be real with you - I put off watching Casablanca for years because I just thought it would be some stuffy old black-and-white flick that doesn't really hold up. Boy was I wrong! From the opening scene I was completely hooked. There's something about the way it draws you into Rick's Café Américain in Vichy-controlled Morocco during World War II. That atmosphere and intrigue just grabs you right away.

And let's talk about the star studded cast! Obviously there's the dreamy legend himself, Humphrey Bogart starring as the cynical but ultimately good-hearted Rick Blaine. Then you've got the breathtakingly gorgeous Ingrid Bergman playing the complex Ilsa Lund. But even many of the supporting actors like Claude Rains as Captain Louis Renault and Peter Lorre as the cunning Ugarte end up stealing scenes or leaving an impression.

The script and quotable dialog is just chef's kiss perfection. Seriously, Casablanca features some of the most memorable and beloved quotes in the history of film. From "Here’s looking at you kid” to “We’ll always have Paris" to "Play it once, Sam. For old time’s sake,” this movie is basically just an epic quote factory. Even minor quotes like “Round up the usual suspects” have become part of the cultural lexicon.

And the chemistry between Bogart and Bergman is completely off the charts! You can just feel the romantic tension and unresolved feelings pulsing in every scene they share together. A lot of classic melodramas feel cheesy nowadays, but somehow the performances and dialog just make it work beautifully in Casablanca.

I don't want to get too deep into spoilers, but the love triangle plot between Rick, Ilsa, and Ilsa's freedom-fighter husband Victor Laszlo played perfectly by Paul Henreid is just *chef's kiss.* I was fully invested in the emotional drama and conflict every step of the way. And let me tell you, the ending gets me right in the feels no matter how many times I watch it. Absolute waterworks every time.

Not to mention Max Steiner’s iconic, moody score pulling you further into the romantic longing and high stakes. The music was so unbelievably good for a film made in the 1940s. And when the “Marseillaise” song battle breaks out at Rick's Café? I get chills just thinking about that powerfully moving scene.

I also can't gloss over the fact that Casablanca won Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Screenplay at the Academy Awards in 1943. And it absolutely deserved every one of those Oscars because it just fires on every cylinder. Even from a technical standpoint it was incredibly well-made for the era with its black-and-white cinematography and masterful editing.

If it’s not abundantly clear already, I friggin’ LOVE Casablanca and I cannot recommend it enough. It has everything you could want in a movie - romance, drama, wit, a great soundtrack, superb acting, memorable dialog, a compelling story, and so much heart. I think most people, regardless of when the film was made, will find themselves falling for this classic if they just give it a chance. It holds up beautifully and will undoubtedly stand the test of time as one of Hollywood’s shining achievements.

So do yourself a favor and watch Casablanca ASAP if you haven’t yet! And then join me as one of the hopelessly devoted fans who now count it among their favorite films of all time. I could honestly gush about this gem for hours and hours. But instead, I think I’ll sign off by quoting one of the most famous lines that still gives me goosebumps...“Here’s looking at you, kid." Perfection.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Jorge

Hi! I am Jorge.

I am a physicist specializing in cosmology and superstrings. I am also a writer (out of passion) who likes making science available to everybody, but I write about all kinds of things. Digital privacy is my day job now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.