Geeks logo

Thrifting a Collection of Classics

How I acquired my small collection of classic books, from Treasure Island to the Picture of Dorian Gray. All under $5 each.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
10

I have always loved reading.

Surprisingly, for a twenty-six-year-old woman, some of my favorite books to read are old, old classics. I've heard Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, a lot of Jane Austen, Wuthering Heights, many Sherlock Holmes books, the Picture of Dorian Gray (and everything else listed below), and this year will be working my way through the Illiad and the Oddesy.

These all came from the book section of multiple thrift stores. Surprisingly, thrift stores can have a lot of good finds, and especially when it comes to classic books.

New and Old

I have a BIG collection of books, and with mine and my husband's collections together we probably have over 300 books in our home. This small batch of books is classic editions I have gotten second-hand throughout the years. All under $5 each.

Some of these, as you can see, are very old while others are newer editions of old classics. The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of those newer edition classics, while Star Wars is one of the first printed books of the Star Wars universe by George Lucas.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.”

-Oscar Wilde, the Picture of Dorian Gray

Barnes & Noble edition of the Picture of Dorian Gray

The Picture of Dorian Gray took me two days to read.

It's a thick book, and by no means an easy read.

This book has always gotten a lot of flack, and I understand why. There are homosexual overtones, lust, magic/a overarching spell, and it reads in a sort of Alice in Wonderland type haziness. Nonetheless, I had a lot of fun reading it.

I loved the way Oscar Wilde wrote this book and found it very easy to read. The suspense, the drama, the picture, and the very just conclusion. I found this Barnes & Noble edition for $4 at a local thrift mall, and I was so excited to add it to my collection.

Star Wars

They were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Naturally they became heroes." Leia Organa of Alderan

-George Lucas, Star Wars

Star Wars has been a big part of my life ever since I was a child. I dressed up as Princess Leia for my eighth birthday party, and still have a small collection of books and action figures. While this one is not in top condition, it is still a cool one to have.

I got this one as a gift, but it was thrifted beforehand.

Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker

The Works of Washington Irving

“If ever I should wish for a retreat whither I might steal from the world and its distractions, and dream quietly away the remnant of a troubled life, I know of none more promising than this little valley.”

-the Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Washington Irving

Washington Irving's tale of Sleepy Hollow is a story I've known my entire life. It has always been a Halloween tradition in my family to watch the Disney adaption with cookies and fruit-flavored tootsie rolls.

The Works of Washington Irving, inside front cover

I found this copy at a Goodwill store for $3. Reading the actual story of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving himself was very nostalgic for me, and I know it'll be fun to keep the tradition and read this to our son someday.

Treasure Island

“Sir, with no intention to take offence, I deny your right to put words into my mouth.” - Robert Louis Stevenson, Treasure Island

I love this edition of Treasure Island. The pages are yellowing, it has weathered leather binding, and was steal at only $4 at a Red Racks thrift store. I really like having some children's classics as well for our son as he gets older.

Older edition of Treasure Island

Sherlock Holmes

"Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth."

-Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Sherlock Holmes

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock has always been one of my favorite characters in fiction. In total, I have 3 books of Sherlock Holmes; the Complete Collection of Sherlock Holmes (Barnes & Noble edition), Select Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, and this one, the Complete Sherlock Holmes Treasury published in 1976.

What I love about this book are the drawings and the layout. The black and white pictures of Holmes and Watson are so fun, and no other Sherlock book that I've owned has had as much illustration. This one was also a Red Racks purchase.

The Magicians Nephew

“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing. It also depends on what sort of person you are.”

-C.S.Lewis, the Magician's Nephew

The Magician's Nephew is actually the only Chronicles of Narnia book I've read so far, but it is a good one. I adore the world C.S.Lewis created in the Narnia series, and as a Christian myself, I like the allegory. Though you don't have to be religious to enjoy this series, or to get a good moral component from them.

This book was from either the Goodwill or Salvation Army and was only a few dollars. Such a cute classic children's book!

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

“The course of true love never did run smooth”

-William Shakespeare, a Midsummer Night's Dream

Vol. 1 and 2 of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare

I am probably most proud of these two. I picked these up at a thrift mall for under $5 each. While I haven't yet read all of Shakespeare's works yet, I have read Romeo and Juliet, Julius Caesar, and a Midsummer night's dream.

Having classics like Shakespeare's works is something I think everyone should have and should read. They are not by any means easy, but I believe will make a person more educated and well-read. Betrayal, family feuds, drama, murder, unrequited love... A lot of Shakespeare's stories are tragedies, but we learn from them and become better in tune with our world and the people in it by reading them.

A Midsummer Night's Dream from the Complete Works of William Shakespeare

______________________

If you liked this article, read this next:

Thank you so much for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. If you really liked this article, tips are greatly appreciated! You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

collectibles
10

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.