Geeks logo

Things I'm Passionate About Part 10

A Brent Salmon Memoir

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Things I'm Passionate About Part 10
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

This is part 10 of my series of things I’m passionate about and ideas for future stories and series, I hope you enjoy

1. Comics

Like many of my fellow nerds, I spent countless hours of my life buried in the medium of comic books. I didn’t have a preference, partly because my town was small and my money was tight, so I’d read whatever I could get my hands on. Marvel, DC, independent stuff like Valiant it didn’t matter to me, I consumed it all. There was a liquidation store in our town that would occasionally get in huge case lots of comic books and sell them for 25-50 cents apiece so my cousin and I would scrounge whatever we could for money and go buy as many as we could and then trade and read each other’s collections, small though they were. After the advent of the internet, specifically broadband around 2001-02, this all changed. File transfer software and content sharing platforms started taking shape along with better and better web sharing archives and comics went digital. You could find those old issues you missed or rare ones you never had a chance to read yourself. Eventually Marvel came out with an online comic reading platform which was free and then went pay and I was in comic heaven. Then came comiXology and the rest is history. In this subject I’ll be writing reviews of famous arcs or series/mini-series that I loved, artists and writers, and characters I’m a fan of.

2. Archer

Stirling Archer, codename: Duchess, oh how I love thee. Haha kidding, but I’m quite fond of the show. I love Archer the show because the writing is mostly pretty clever, the characters are horribly toxic but engaging and fun, and the humor is dark and raunchy and right up the alley of my horrible black soul. It got me through my failed attempted at marriage with its humor and insane situations and was the perfect escapist binge for my damaged heart. Archer was one of the first shows I got the idea to write essays about, especially since each episode is FILLED with potential content ideas to write about, even tangentially. That’s what I plan to write about in this aspect; a proper series review to this point, season reviews, individual episode reviews, character, actor, and showrunner profiles, and essays that are inspired by things in the show itself.

3. Rick and Morty

Ah Rick and Morty, the best show on TV and my favorite show. I think it was Screen Rant that pointed out the best way to make a slavering fanatical base of followers for a show is to make the audience feel like they’re smarter than everyone else for watching and enjoying it. It was a great strategy. I identify a lot with Rick, the brilliant scientist who constantly outsmarts everyone and is a huge egomaniacal super-villain. But I’m less nihilistic. That said it’s a great show and I’d like to give it the similar treatment to my plans for Archer; profiles of characters, actors, and show runners, reviews of episodes and seasons, and ideas that spring up from within the content within the show itself. I, by default, support everything that gets people more interested in science, even if they are shows with dark, morally questionable humour. I have some wackier ideas for my Rick and Morty articles, so I hope they’re entertaining also. There’s a lot of things to cover that are hopefully timeless subjects for articles, but I don’t have a lot of faith in that because, unlike with most of Archer’s related topics, science marches ever onward and takes sci-fi with it.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.