Geeks logo

The Wrong Heart Book Review

Written by Jennifer Hartmann

By Devon ReneePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Rate; 5/5

The Wrong Heart is an emotional rollercoaster about healing, accepting, and overcoming your demons. It’s about not letting the darkness v take hold of you, and to find your own source of light in your darkness.

This story follows two characters. Melody, who is grieving her late husband, and Parker who is essentially lacking emotional connection to the world and people around him. Both finding everything they need within each other and embarking on an amazing emotional journey together.

There are a lot of characters that I liked throughout, but my favorite would have to be Katherine. She’s the founder of a group Melody joins called Loving Lifelines, and she has this thing with starting points. The starting points are there to make you think about the little things that make you happy and Katherine let’s each member voice theirs. All in all Katherine is the one to bring the first bit of light into the darkness. She also had her own starting points and they were the starting points of everyone else, showcasing how important the people around her are.

Both Parker and Melody have amazing character arcs, but I felt that Parker’s was more important. I say that because he overcame so much pain and heartache, and the fears he started with were barely there by the end. The love that he didn’t think he deserved consumed him and brought light to his darkness. He is a character that Katherine paid close attention to, and even though Parker never voiced his starting point she was able to come up with her own for him.

The relationship I loved the most, aside from the obvious relationship between Parker and Melody, is Parker and his foster sister Bree. Bree is a woman Parker was able to let in because she saw him in a way no one else did. She loves her brother so much that she forced him to attend Loving Lifelines, and he loves her so much that he went to meetings even though he didn’t want to. Bree is there for him in a way no one else is throughout the story, not even in the way Melody is. This relationship is one that I wish I had with my own siblings.

Amelia is a character in The Wrong Heart who, even though she had her own darkness, brought lightness to everyone in the Lifelines group. I feel like her character received an ending that could’ve been helped though, and it made me sad about the outcome. I think she wanted to find the right person to be there for her only source of happiness, and she did.

If there is anything to take out of this story I feel like it would be Shane's character. He didn’t play as much of a role as I would’ve liked him to. His character seemed to get easily agitated making a good possible external antagonist, along with the fact that he is Melody’s brothers best friend and was barely around. He’s really the only character I didn’t understand being in the book.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who has their own darkness to get through. I think starting points could be something amazing for anyone struggling. It’s also for mature audiences and readers with a love for grumpy sunshine romances. Although The Wrong Heart is full of emotions, it is also full of spice and will not disappoint in either department.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review, I hope it serves you well and you can add another book to your TBR! Please don’t hesitate to read my other reviews and give me your feedback and/or recommendations.

review
Like

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.