Geeks logo

The Weird and the Wonderful

Could they BE anymore different?

By Frankie MaePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Weird and the Wonderful
Photo by Alireza Esmaeeli on Unsplash

So we've all had a lot of time to spare recently and like many I've used that time to catch up on my 'list', but I've also chosen to re-visit some old favourites - something I recommend we all do once in a while.

I grew up watching a wide variety of shows on TV, in fact as a child I barely moved from the sofa and loved re-watching my favourites over and over. As a child I was very needy and ran my mother ragged so I certainly understand why she may or may not have encouraged this behaviour. In fact I remember more than one occasion where she actually crawled under the window passed the living room where I was engrossed in my latest favourite to escape the inevitable call of 'muuuum...' I digress but trust me there's a point. I always did have a soft spot for crime dramas, Morse and A Touch of Frost in particular not to mention Jonathan Creek when it came about (still a firm favourite now) and then there were the comedies. Too many to name them all but some I've revisited this quarantine include Dinner Ladies (such fantastic writing), The Vicar of Dibley (I just love Dawn French!) and of course Fawlty Towers (need I say more??). So needless to say I have continued to enjoy a wonderfully weird mix of TV shows throughout my 30+ years so it only seems right that the three shows I have chosen to discuss today are very different.

1 - Flashforward. I watched this series for the first time a few years back and it was recommended to me by a friend. Sadly what said friend neglected to tell me was that the show was cancelled a the second series was never filmed even though they had left series one open so dramatically. I can hear you saying that the show can't have been great if it was cancelled, but isn't that exactly what we're looking for today? Shows that are unknown gems?? The show, which was released back in 2009, features a mysterious event which causes everyone to simultaneously blackout and have visions of their lives 6 months into the future. We then follow several key characters as they try to unravel the mystery and at the same time battle their own fates... I mean come on that's amazing!! Now the show was based on a novel of the same name written by Robert J. Sawyer which is also on my quarantine reading list so by all means check that out as well. Oh and by the way it starred Joseph Fiennes, Jack Davenport and Dominic Monaghan plus John Cho (Everyone's favourite MILF guy from American Pie) so you've got a great cast in the mix too... Just saying!

2 - Drop Dead Diva. I told you they were completely different! I honestly loved this series so so much: Deb Dobkins a young beautiful aspiring model tragically dies in a car accident (hit by a truck full of oranges!!) and is brought back to life in the body of a plus size brainy ass lawyer. I mean come on... gold dust! Honestly I know it sounds a bit cringe worthy but I swear this series has some of the most moving moments and has a some great character development for Deb who learns to love her new body and style. Also as she's a lawyer you get some great story lines with new clients and characters popping up all the time to keep things interesting. It's definitely a feel good series!

3 - Archer. Again I was introduced to this series by a friend and honestly I'm not normally a fan of adult animations (South Park, Family Guy not for me!) but I am so glad I gave this one a shot. It takes a couple of episodes to reel you in but then you're hooked and you feel so involved with the stories and the characters you're like part of the gang. I've introduced several of my friends to Archer and now they're hooked more than me to the point when they're messaging me to let me know the new series is on its way. I don't know about you but I'm a big quoter (sorry!) and it's always a great moment when you find a fellow Archer fan because they recognised the joke you made or phrase you dropped. Oh also another great thing about this series, their only short episodes so you can watch them on a lunch break or whilst cooking anytime!

So there you have it my weird but wonderful choices. There's so much more to say but really you should find out for yourself and I need to get back to watching Outlander season 4 for the second time so I can attack season 5 with a run up!

If you haven't watched these shows I hope you give them a try and if you have and loved them let me know you're a fellow fan!

tv
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.