Geeks logo

The Truth is Out There

An Ode to Aliens and Government Conspiracy

By Nikki McKeenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The Truth is Out There
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

I WANT TO BELIEVE

…in the undying loyalty and friendship of my most cherished television duo – FBI Agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully. The dynamic of this classic skeptic-versus-believer twosome makes for grade A, totally bingeworthy television entertainment. Beyond being a sci-fi lover’s mainstream dream, The X-Files solidified itself in both the horror and drama genres. The X-Files has it all: aliens, conspiracy theories, romance, complicated family relationships, monsters from international folklore, religious overtones, humor, time travel…you get the picture. This show has a little something for everyone, adults and youngsters alike. And that is where my devotion to Mulder, the patron saint of conspiracy theorists, and Dana Scully, our lady of everlasting incredulity, begins.

I have been blessed with what I would like to call “a really freaking good memory.” Seriously, I can recall with ease the things people have said and done two decades ago, almost like it happened yesterday. As a child, I attempted to watch The X-Files when it originally aired on television in the nineties. The key word there is, “attempted.” I would sneak out of my room where I should have been sleeping, hide behind the couch while my mother tried to enjoy her show without the pesky questions of a curious seven-year-old, and try to observe what I knew was probably something awesome. My love for all things dark and spooky started young, and a mere bedtime was not going to stop me from living out my dreams. Fortunately for my seven-year-old self, I was not as sneaky as I had thought. Each time my mom would catch me spying, I was marched right back to bed. Though, I can remember once standing quietly enough so that I was not discovered in my behind-the-couch hiding space until after I viewed the dreaded monster of the week. And I was horrified. This monster lived in a suburban neighborhood and traveled around underground, only to pop up and murder those who did not follow the rules of the Homeowners Association (the episode is called “Arcadia,” for those interested). As an adult, that is hilarious. As a child, I was terrified of being eaten alive for not following the rules. I ended my career as a late-night television spy after that. It was not until years later, when I was in my twenties that my true appreciation for the program came into full bloom.

After a particularly rough breakup, and losing hours at a job I desperately needed, I tuned in to television to tune out. I gave The X-Files another shot, and it quickly became my companion during the lonely post-break up nights. Mulder and Scully became more than entertainment, their story and friendship was something I admired deeply. I laughed, I cried, I learned more about aliens, folklore, and government conspiracy than I had ever planned. I adored Fox Mulder’s unwavering faith and curiosity, his constant need to find the truth. I became enamored with the strength and intelligence of Dana Scully. Don’t get me wrong, I was aware they were fictional characters. I knew Scully was designed to steal the hearts of American viewers living in the time when Spice Girls and “girl power!” reigned supreme. But something about them struck a chord. I wanted to hold my head high and stand strong in my beliefs, no matter what. Instead of wallowing in sadness, I wanted to become the clever, badass woman I knew was buried under the heartbreak. And so, I did.

The X-Files ran for a total of two hundred and nine episodes, each fantastic in their own way. It sparked a spinoff TV show, has been written into song lyrics, and I have even seen a tattoo or two inspired by the cult favorite program. David Duchovny and Gillian Andersen voiced their respective characters in an episode of The Simpsons, and references to the show have been in everything from Bones, to Breaking Bad, to Family Guy. I will even admit, I eventually adopted a dog and named her Scully. And you know what? She is really living up to her name. So, thank you The X-Files. Thank you for the memories, the hours of supernatural entertainment, countless pop culture references, and the best dog of all time.

entertainment
2

About the Creator

Nikki McKeen

Stories are welled from the dark of my mind.

Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.