Geeks logo

The Trade

A Miraculous Ladybug Fanfiction

By Cherie ZielkePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Trade
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

Marinette Dupain-Cheng curiously opened the bakery front door to see the soaked through, frostbitten Adrien Agreste dressed in a black hoodie and jeans...shivering badly on her doorstep.

Adrien stuttered softly, his green eyes looked both scared and sad. “Hey...M-Marinette…”

Marinette stared at her crush breathing out clouds of icy vapor in surprise. Visiting her personally...was rather unlike him, in the frigid autumn rain no less! Poor Adrien must have been walking in the rain for hours to get to her place, Marinette didn’t see the signature sleek silver car at all behind him. Marinette blinked in confusion. "A-Adrien?"

Adrien fought to keep his eyes open, resisting succumbing to the cold and pure exhaustion. Adrien forced his green eyes open, and Marinette watched as they brimmed with tears. The famous youth model whimpered like a lost child as his teeth chattered together. "I c-c-can't go h-home…"

Marinette pulled the door open wider and Adrien Agreste quickly staggered inside. “This way, I’ve got just the thing.” Marinette gently guided the weak rich boy by the shoulders into the kitchen so he could sit next to the warm oven that was baking cookies at the moment.

Adrien immediately sighed in relief and a contented smile spread across his face as he cuddled up as close as he dared beside the humming appliance. He murmured contentedly. “This feels amazing…”

Marinette stood back up with a small smile. "Here you go, just try and rest. I’ll be back with some supplies in a bit." She crept off into the shadows of her house, trying very hard not to disturb anything that might wake her parents.

Adrien’s eyes were gently closed as he drank in the warmth of the oven, and relaxed as he noticed the gentle scent of chocolate chip cookies. Then nightmarish recent memories of Hawkmoth attacking him spliced through Adrien’s mind. When the boy sadly opened his eyes, he saw a shadowy figure and spoked. Adrien jumped back into a corner of shin level cupboards, and half whispered. “Don’t hurt me!”

Marinette stepped into the kitchen light, arms full of blankets that she had raided from the linen closet, and a canister of hot cocoa that she had snagged from the pantry. The girl’s shoulder length midnight blue hair shimmered in the dim light as she paused where she was, noting Adrien’s alarm. “It’s just me.”

Adrien exhaled in relief clapping a hand over his heart as he slowly relaxed again. “Oh. S-Sorry about that, I’ve just had a rather hard night.”

Marinette set the blankets down and kindly handed one to her drenched guest. Her voice was gentle. “I’m really sorry Adrien. ...Do you want to talk about it?”

Adrien accepted the blanket and gravitated back to his source of warmth to lean against it again. His spring green eyes caught the dim light and softly gleamed. “That’s ok..and yes I do...it’s actually why I am here.”

Marinette felt like those gleaming green eyes reminded her of Chat Noir, Adrien was even wearing a black hoodie...but the girl brushed the observation aside. Marinette put the canister of hot cocoa on the counter and quietly pulled out a pot with a carton of cream. “Well then, I would like to hear all about it, once I finish making your hot cocoa to warm you up.”

Adrien smiled and genteelly nodded in agreement, before wrapping himself in the violet blanket that Marinette had given him. “Alright.”

Marinette busied herself in the kitchen as quietly as she could, and in little time at all, the both of them were wrapped up in blankets and leaning against the oven as they sipped their hot cocoa. Adrien licked his lips happily. “This is the best hot cocoa I’ve ever tasted!”

Pink splashed across Marinette’s cheeks at the compliment. “Thank you, it’s my papa’s recipe. Now...why can’t you go home?”

Adrien opened his mouth to speak when Tom and Sabine Dupain-Cheng came downstairs. Sabine softly greeted, in a pleased tone. “Is that Adrien? Welcome to our bakery!”

Adrien lowered his dripping hood, messing up his blonde hair in the process...inevitably making him look even more Chat-like. “Thank you Mrs. Dupain-Cheng.”

Marinette bit her lip in worry. “Oh my gosh, did I wake you two up? I tried really hard to be quiet and-”

Tom chuckled and shook his head. The muscled baker tapped his nose playfully. “I’m awake until the kitchen falls asleep, and no food can escape the nose of the super baker!” Marinette and Adrien softly shared a soft giggle at Tom’s humor.

Tom ladled himself a serving of Marinette’s hot cocoa, and raised a bushy eyebrow at the young model. “What brings you here son? Won’t your father be looking for you in a storm like this?”

Adrien’s expression became sad, and his shoulders slumped. Adrien couldn’t bear to hold the baker’s gaze and his green eyes gently flitted to the floor. “I ran out into the rain, and here was the only safe place I could think of… and...the answer to your second question is...no.” There was a stretch of silence before Adrien managed to get out. “Me and my dad...got into an argument recently…”

Sabine gasped. “Oh I am so sorry to hear that. Well, until your father cools off, you can spend the night here! Marinette will make sure to get everything you need to make things comfortable.”

Adrien looked up in amazement as her kindness. Marinette smiled and nodded in agreement. “Of course I will!”

Tom came forward, scratching the back of his neck. “Speaking of comfortable, wet clothes never were in that category. I think Marinette might have an outfit your size, in her secret stash of masterpieces. Wait here.” Tom went back up the stairs and Marinette blushed again...this time in embarrassment.

Adrien’s eyes lit up in interest. “You are a fashion designer?! Why didn’t you ever tell me?”

Marinette was nervously sweating a bit now. “Um...designer?! Who ever said I was a designer? My dad’s just joking, most of my pieces are still works in progress-” Marinette quickly took a scalding gulp of hot cocoa to keep herself from saying anything stupid, which she regretted.

Tom returned with a change of clothes that Adrien graciously accepted. “Thank you.”

Tom bowed then came close with oven mitts. Marinette and Adrien quickly made room, and Tom pulled out the tray of steaming cookies...to set them on the countertop. He switched off the oven and winked. “Now, the kitchen is officially asleep.”

Sabine cleared her throat and took Tom by the arm. “Well, we’ll leave you two to it. Good night!”

The teens chorused in harmony. “Goodnight.”

Once they were alone again, Marinette turned to Adrien. “So, you and your dad got into a fight? That’s why you can’t go home?”

Adrien closed his eyes with a sigh and thudded his head gently against the oven… His voice seemed caught between a pout and frustration. “It’s more complicated than that.”

Marinette lowered her voice. “What do you m-mean?”

Adrien saw his nightmarish recent memories flash across his mind...he was Chat Noir and Hawk Moth discovered his real identity and changed into Gabriel Agreste… Adrien sat up with wide eyes and he grasped Marinette by the shoulders. “My dad discovered Chat Noir’s identity...and demanded I tell him where he was!”

Marinette’s blue eyes widened in disbelief. “That’s impossible!”

Adrien looked scared out of his wits. “It should have been...but he found out. My dad wants his miraculous...and Ladybug’s...and he told me why-”

Marinette squeaked. “Hawkmoth is your father?!! Oh Adrien…”

Adrien was on a roll. “I ran. I ran as fast as I could, and I don’t think my father would think to look for me here, he’d probably think I would be at Nino’s house or something. I’m so sorry to drag you into this Marinette, but this was the only safe place I knew…”

Marinette tenatively asked."Why?"

Adrien furrowed his brown in thought. "Because I don’t think I ever told Natalie about us being close friends."

Marinette blinked. Close friends? Did Adrien really feel that way about her?Marinette shook her head, trying to refocus. Now wasn't the time to give into her crush. Marinette put her hands on Adrien's shoulders. ”It’s alright. My parents are trying to sleep, so let’s keep it down ok?” Adrien nodded. Marinette’s voice became very soft. “Why does your father want the black cat and ladybug miraculouses?”

Adrien began to quietly sob, and he bowed his head in defeat. “He...he wants to bring my mom back from the dead!”

Marinette’s voice was tentative. “Well...don’t you want you mother back-”

“-more than anything.” Adrien admitted. “But since she has already passed on...it feels wrong. It would be tampering with life beyond ours...and could ruin the balance!” Adrien looked up to lock eyes with Marinette, his tone soft but firm. “I can’t let that happen.”

Marinette sat up straighter. “Why don’t I have my dad take you home? He’s a big guy, lovable, but still intimidating-”

Adrien’s voice rose a pitch as he fearfully racked his hands through his wet blonde hair. “No don’t take me home! My father will divulge Chat Noir’s whereabouts from me...and then hurt him if I go back-”

Marinette clapped a hand over Adrien’s mouth. “Ok, I was just shuffling around with ideas. We need to whisper from now on. What can we do to help you?”

Marinette released him and Adrien started fiddling with his pant leg. “Chat Noir told me to give this to you, and to hide it in a place where he would never think to look if he got akumatized.”

Marinette was catching onto what Adiren was saying. “Chat Noir...Hide what-”

Adrien reached into the inner lining of his sock, to stick his fingers into a hidden pocket. “Please believe me, this is the only way.” He withdrew the cat miraculous, and held it out to her.

Marinette gasped. “No, you keep it. I’m terrible at keeping track of things, what if I lose it and Chat Noir falls into great danger?!”

Adrien was about to respond when Plagg, the cat kwami burst out of the ring. “Adrien no! You can’t do this, even if ‘Chat Noir’ told you to!"

Adrien ignored Plagg and his eyes pleaded with Marinette. “You're not making this any easier! Please Marinette...this could be life or death for Chat Noir...”

Marinette’s blue eyes became determined. Chat Noir was her best friend, and she would do anything to keep him safe. Marinette took the miraculous and stowed it in her pant pocket. “I’ll hide it the best I can, maybe even lose it if possible.” Marinette liked the idea of having the miraculous being hidden by someone else, and wished she could have done the same for Adrien...with her miraculous. Marinette pulled off her earnings, and handed them. "Here. Ladybug had asked me to hold onto her miraculous, but I think it would be safer if you hide hers in a place where she wouldn't think to look. We can help both heroes."

Tikki spiraled out of the earrings and circled Adrien. Adrien clenched his hand securely around them. "I'll guard it with my life."

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.