Geeks logo

The story of yester-time

Why do we like period peices?

By Jonathan CostaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Same, Lizzy.... Same.

So this is a manuscript for an episode of my podcast: found here.

Hey, Jonathan here. , published hack and fraud, half the host and full the editor here without my dearly beloved co-host. Why? Was there a falling out? Were there bitter words exchanged? Could this be the end of Freak the Geek?

Well no. The schedule I’ve arranged in secret because my cohost doesn’t like structure as much as I do has been more or less tied to current or current adjacent. I’ve been a deeper geek in secret in a way that only matters to me; like how we released our first episode, or instead first few episodes, on the first of January. Our promoting my sort of fan fiction of Sherlock Holmes adjacent project released on the eighth anniversary to the second season finale of BBC Sherlock. Our last episode was about character representation. Which tied into me seeing Tenet and how not only did it have a character was named Protagonist but also was a great Nolan instalment for having a Black lead, yay representation. However, both my brother and I agreed to make this podcast about timeless topics. Discussion on deeper themes and not whatever’s popping in the culture. On my schedule, I wanted to talk about Period Pieces as a genre, but he didn’t have much to say about it, so I’m going a bit rogue this week. This episode will be relatively brief since as much as you, our one and only listener, may or may not love the sound of my voice, without my far more insightful co-host, there’s not much I have to say.

Being the only editor and having a full-time job not to mention the community service I do, yes yes much excuse, such humble brag, I still had a few things to say about period pieces because of this week of release. Wandavision has been popping off on Disney+, while the King’s Man, a period spy film set during world war 1, was scheduled to be released next week, but because of some virus going around has been delayed August of 2021. All this inspired in me the desire to discuss the period piece.

My personal experience with period pieces “go-ith thusly”. As a young lad who liked punchy action times and thought romance and cuties hmm nope and cooties were the real plagues of the world. However, whenever anyone in the family got sick, usually around wintertime, my mom would pop on Pride and Prejudice 1995 TV series from BBC 1 hit different for me. I hated every rom-com put in front of me, but this movie engaged my attention very thoroughly.

I genuinely connected with Lizzy Bennet being also someone from low means comparatively and felt her justified prejudice toward the proud but broody and masterfully executed Darcy portrayal by Colin Firth. While the 2005 film was awe-inspiring with updated cinematography and economical storytelling cramming so much story in 2 hours. Pride and Prejudice, whew that was certainly a feat and quite the accomplishment. The acting was also well done, but when it comes to Darcy. Colin Firth will always be the picture of Darcy in my mind.

I’m certainly not alone as many of my close friends also appreciate the compelling work of Jane Austen and other stories set in this period. But why do these stories engage us so; They took place so long ago in a time that should feel quite alien to us in our modern times, right? period

Well, the nature of period pieces and mostly historical fiction can also lend itself to revisionist history. Many values that are obvious today would be trivial in yester-year and vice versa.

As much as I love watching Indiana Jones swing from his whip and punch Nazi’s, certainly not enough Nazi punching in most movies. The work he does at least in that time is not something I would get behind. Taking artefacts from their home nation is a fraught topic for a later episode. But there is a fun fantasy going to the alien world of Earth so many years ago.

I always have a soft spot for westerns, but the best westerns in recent times were soon like Logan or in a long time ago in a galaxy far far away.

However, my favourite X Men movies was a 60’s and 70’s period pieces, respectively. Kong Skull Island is my preferred kaiju that was as 70’s as a soundtrack could ever permit. Yeah, it’s goofy and dumb, but man is it fun. And the highlight of the MCU before Avengers for me was Captain American punching Adolf Hitler over 200 times. And the beauty of most of the MCU is frequently, the movies set in years before are a window into the decade early.

Wonder Woman films despite my gripes that are as trivial as the highs are highs. I liked what I liked about them anyway. Typically the period means little as the set dressing usually doesn’t mean much for any story, but it does spice things up—Emma, Sense & Sensibility, Jane Eyre; all the greats. Name dropping lots of fun.

Hamilton counts yes it does, despite it being more akin to many different kinds of genre combo breaking.

Fiddler on the Roof, fave musical if we’re talking musicals

The Wind Rises and Jojo Rabbit are very different takes on a hopeful spin for the 40s

As much as we like to enjoy the fantasy of the past through eyes coloured in the Rosey tinge, nostalgia being one sell of a drug. There’s got to be more to it. I would propose that the reason why the period pieces that are good and that we enjoy isn’t just about looking longingly at yesteryear or even mocking how backwards we used to be. I think it’s also a reflection for humanity about how not much changes. Sure technology and certain social constructs might adjust or shift. Still, Lizzy Bennet’s problems as a woman in the early 19th century resonate because of societal expectations and pressure on women and other disenfranchised demographics continue to today. Bride and Prejudice is a very goofy and fun example of this. They took the story by Jane Austen and brought it to the modern-day and made it a Bollywood musical. It’s so funny and wild.

Jokes aside though, the things that don’t change and haven’t changed since the first folk times being present in stories that tap into a primal element that connects us. Regardless of cultural background or generation. We haven’t evolved out of a need to eat sleep, and so on.

At least that’s what the best versions do. Historical accuracy shouldn’t be a requirement since there’s only so much that can be known about a time, especially if there’s a shortage of information available to researchers. However, digging into history can open up to more stories like how most of the cowboy’s fiction was much different from what we’ve seen for the most part. Most of the west was conquered by female-run businesses and freed slaves, not to mention the First Nation tribes’ rich history.

Pirate history as disenfranchised navy officers sharing typical story beats with what Samurai were properly like, offers so many opportunities to not only flip the genre in a new way but also peer deeper into what drives so many modern-day tragic figures that follow their example.

Then again, going outside the era rules as long as they maintain the “rule of cool” can still elevate a story.

One extra note that my brother mentioned that I thought was worth mentioning was Mr Collins being on the autistic spectrum. I thought that was a pretty hot take and it made me wonder what other characters could there be that don’t have the understanding that we do in modern times? Before PTSD was locked down, there was shell shock, but before then most men and people were told to shrug it off. I wonder what madmen in history were made because they didn’t get the proper therapy. All questions to be considered in period pieces.

Well, what do you think?

movie
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Costa

Artist. Poet. Traveller. Witness. Brazilian-American. Story-teller.

@nomadicartsstudio on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.